We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Sukreep - Zen Garden Cottages
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I would like to start with the good things about this hotel: The staff. The lady that checked me in was vey helpful and she even cooked me some eggs and toast because I didn't have anything to eat at night or any way to get out of the hotel. So that's where the bad things start. The hotel is at the end of a dirt road and not very accessible by walk, now if you rent a bike or car, yeah, no problem.
The rooms were not very clean and specially the bathroom!
Will not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brunoisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baansukreepresort, Propriétaire at Baan Sukreep - Zen Garden Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014
Google Translation

merci pour vos cmmentaires et votre venu dans notre etablissement et cela etait pour nous un grand plaisir de vous recevoir.je voulais juste repondre sur le petit bemol que vous avez indiquer ,pour preciser que nos chambres sont faites chaques jour de 8h a 12h du matin uniquement comme dans la majorite des hotel mais il est vrai que certains clients ,et je le comprends tres bien, profitent de leurs vacances en s'offrant de belle nuit et liberant quelque fois la chambre que l'apres midi et de ce fait notre staffs ne peut effectuer ces chambres car ils sont affecter a d'autre poste (restauration,laudry,bar,reception etc ...) .j espere vous revoir tres bientot dans notre petit paradis ....Amicalement.....jean marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We tried to book a room here on Agoda at around $45 (AUD) per night. We went as far as putting our bank details in but the payment system was down. So when we arrived in Chaweng we asked our taxi to take us here (not so easy to find, you may want to pre-download a map on your smart phone to help with the taxi). Upon arrival I asked the lady at reception if they had room and she said they had none. This was strange because on Agoda that morning we saw they had 4 bungalows in that price range plus some others. When I told her what I had seen on Agoda we started waving some papers in my face and then suddenly she told me they had one room but she quoted me around $50 for it.

Then I explained the price is different from the internet, and that perhaps I can book it online quickly using their wifi, she just shrugged her shoulders. I told at that price we would only stay one night and she made a bit of fuss about us staying only one night. She kept saying 'no problem no problem' but then being weird about the one night at the same time. I felt like she really didn't want me to stay. Still she showed me a bungalow which was small for $50 and nothing special, I have stayed at better for less.

Anyway we left because as nice as that place looked (garden looked lovely!), it was quite far from main Chaweng (would need taxi/ car/ bike hire to get any where). It would also mean our only eating option would be their restaurant. Overall, the receptionist had bad form so I give this a 2 without even trying it but seeing enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wordtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Baan Sukreep Resort was the first place I stayed on my 4 1/2 month travels around South East Asia and it was a fantastic start. Alain provided some great tips for Koh Samui and the lovely Thai staff made the visit even more pleasant. Definitely recommend staying here if you want to be sightly off the beaten track and stay in a place of tranquility.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinapettenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our family (two adults and two boys – 11 and 5 years old) stayed at Baan Sukreep Resort in the beginning of June, 2013.
For 13 nights we enjoyed the hospitality of Baan Sukreep and hope to have a chance to travel there again.
It is a quiet, peaceful and overwhelmingly warm place. We felt at home there.
The staff is helpful and friendly.
The place is very close to the beach – appr. 5 minutes walk at a slow pace. However, we rent a scooter at Alain’s advice and it took us within a minute to get to the beach.
My wife and I would eagerly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a calm place to escape from a noisy megacity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guennadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed at Baan Sukreep for 5 nights in March 2013 and had a great time, the 4 of us. The bungalows were small, but clean and with a very good bed, the pool is a great addition, we spent some lovely evenings by the pool and Alain and the staff were very wellcoming giving us the tips and tricks for Samui. The breakfast was basic, similar to other budget places we stayed at in Thailand, one day we also got lunch and the food was very good. We chose the place based on photos and reviews and we were not dissapointed. It is at a 5 minutes walk to the beach, the lovely quiet beach at Chaweng Noi. It is a bit far from the action in Chaweng (but you can get there by taxi or mini bus) but we preferred the romantic dinners on the beach and hanging out by the pool to the noise and mixed crowd in Chaweng.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmecherutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Baan Sukreep resort is a quiet and peaceful accommodation around 5 minutes from the beach and a 10 minute drive into the main part of Chaweng. In this way, you get the best of the quiet part of the beach at Chaweng-noi (which is nicer than the main part of the beach) whilst being close enough to the main part of town to go out in the evening (10 minutes, 100-200 baht).

The resort itself is in a quite location, a short walk from the main road. This means that it's convenient for resting and sleeping, and the pool area is good for relaxing. The bungalows are small but comfortable, with air conditioning that actually cools the space (not always the case in other hotels). The bathroom is fine and every bungalow has a fridge. Nearby in Chaweng-noi there are several nice restaurants which seem more 'local' and authentic than in the main part of Chaweng; they're also better value.

The staff are charming and the owner is friendly and extremely helpful with lots of advice and guidance on where to visit/eat etc.

I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSanderson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have been at Baan Sukreep for four nights at the end of february 2013.
Of course my excellent judgement is related to the price, not very expensive as other places in Samui. Most of all, I rember the good athmosphere of this place.
The resort is located in a very quiet position, on the first hill behind Chaweng, but just 30 seconds by motorbike from the main road. So, the right compromise between relax and silence from one hand, and all the facilities of the town on the other hand.
The sea is only 2 minutes far, in the south part of Chaweng, with blue sea and a pleasant beach.
The resort is very small, but charming. Just five bungalows and a couple of apartments, with a small but nice swimmingpool with Jacuzzi, and a common area for breakfast and restaurant.
I stayed in a apartment, so I can't judge how's the quality of bungalows (anyway I think they are cheaper).
The garden is magnificient and well conserved.
Mr. Alain, the owner it's a nice person and he knows suggest you the best things in rapport to your...idea of Samui.
In Baan Sukreep you don't feel as in a resort, but in a sort of private area.
Very suggested.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.4 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Sukreep - Zen Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Sukreep - Zen Garden Cottages

Address: 91/11 Moo 3 | Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Baan Sukreep Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £33 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Sukreep - Zen Garden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will welcome you in our zen tropical garden where you will enjoy our lovely pool and jacuzzi. Our restaurant proposes delicious Thai, Burmese and European specialties. A cocktails bar and our fusion finger food plates are appreciated by our guests after a busy day around the island. We will be pleased to share with you our detailed knowledge of Samui and the surrounding islands and to recommand secret places. We propose a significant panel of enjoyable tours and vehicles rental services (motorbikes / cars). See you soon in our little paradise ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Baan Sukreep - Zen Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Sukreep - Zen Garden Cottages Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing