We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK..”
Review of Tango Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tango Beach Resort
Ranked #59 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The design of the hotel is lovely with nice decked areas going down towards the sea with nice seating areas to chill out and look out.
Lovely bar area with good music. All the staff are really friendly and helpful.
Our room was OK but not anything special;it had a connecting door to next door so we could hear and neighbours moving around ,flushing the toilet at night etc. The outside area had table and chairs behind a bush so we could not see the sea but are seen by everyone walking past. The shower was good and the bed was big and comfortable.
The pool looked nice,but if you tried to sunbath near it people would be walking around you as there was not enough room. The beach is in the shade by the afternoon and you are constantly asked by hawkers to buy something
The free breakfast for the first few days was a buffet with eggs beans bacon potatoes toast, Thai breakfast, which was good. But after a few days they changed it to a ordered breakfast. From then on we got things we did not really want because each plate was the same.
The food in the hotel was very over priced for Thailand, we only made the mistake of eating there once and after that we found eating in town very much cheaper and just as good. There is no free transfer to the airport as we thought.
My partner and I have travelled to Thailand many times over the years and and maybe we have always been very lucky as found this the worst hotel we have stayed in. We hired a scooter and went to ..Chaweng Noi and Bang Rak beaches which are so much nicer, and luckily near by.. (don't go on Lamai beach it is dirty).
We visited Koh Samui 6 years ago and found now it has changed a lot as now there is to many people and hotels plus everything very expensive unlike the other places we have visited in Thailand. It was a good place if you want to get into town and all the action as you can easily walk there and dining on the beach can be fun.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangobeach, Aung, Guest Relations at Tango Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Nigelsuzi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us on TripAdvisor.
Our valued guest's feedback is always taken positively as it helps us to improve further and we thank you for bringing some matters to our attention. The room that you had was originally a family room with a connecting door but however to show that we take our guests comments seriously we have taken immediate corrective steps by closing a wall between the two rooms. With a very limited number of guests (20%) staying with us during that time we were forced to reduced the buffet menu during breakfast but replaced it with an order menu however allowing you the choice of different sets. This certainly does not justify that the items available are the same and have not met our usual high standards of taste. We discussed the price issues with our F&B team and based on our observations, comparisons with the same star rated hotels around us and in Koh Samui we do not feel that our prices are high. It is true that our swimming pool is frequented by hotel guests and we regret that we do not have the facilities for a private sunbathing area on the deck and even though we are on the beachfront we further regret that we do not have rooms with sea view. As far as the transfer is concerned we do not offer free services and are charged at a normal rate for trips to the airport or other spots.Despit the inconveniences we are glad the you like our property and the services of our staffs. Never the less we look forward to welcoming you back to witness for yourself, the improvements and progress we have made. We wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our holiday and were disappointed immensly about this "resort". We are travellers who dont need high standard - a nice bed, own bathroom with a working toilet, aircon and a bit of space. We stayed in hotels/bungalows for 1200baht throughout Thailand and were always satisfied and happy. but this room, for 2800 baht a night was NOT worth the price. our first room was so tiny and small that we changed to the next bigger one (whch was quite a hassle with the receptionist but it worked out in the end). the second room was ok from the size, but it was also smelling of mould like in the first one and the aircon was so loud that you could barely sleep. the pool was ok and the restaurant right at the beach very nice (although way overprized!!!).
i would say it would be ok as a backpackers for 1200baht per night for a doubleroom, but almost 3000baht is way overprized for the standard you (dont) get.
we would not recommend to stay here and would chose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangobeach, Aung, Guest Relations at Tango Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

We were distraught from the first time when we heard of you being overcharged. Please allow me the opportunity to explain in detail regarding the room rate. It is true that our rates were quite high in the past years and that unfortunately coincided with the time you made a booking via a travel agency. However, this year we have lowered our tariff and when we found out we offered you a complimentary upgrade. However, please accept my deepest apologies. I find that the experience your were put through in your accommodation was unacceptable. As a three star establishment we are proud to be able to consider ourselves as setting the bar for standards. It is regretful that you were a victim of a rare lapse in those standards. To prove to you that we take every complaint seriously, we have taken steps to update our air conditioning systems by installing updated models. Please rest assured that we will be addressing your comments with the utmost seriousness and concern and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We can assure you that this standard is not the norm and that your next visit with us will be perfect should you allow us the opportunity to re-correct what went wrong and witness for yourself our real standards and services. At such time if you could be so kind as to contact me directly I will extend you your preferred room rate and our other services and assure you that your stay is vip. With warmest wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

It's a 3 star that's for sure. If you just need a place to stay in Koh Samui, then it's pretty good, if you are looking for a resort type place I would keep looking around. The tide comes up during the day and doesn't leave any beach, but when there is beach, Tango puts out tables and chairs for the restaurant so there is no beach lounging or chairs to lie out on. Also, the water is filled with garbage; it was gross, plastic bags were getting stuck on my legs in the water bottles everywhere. We went for a walk down the beach in the morning and the shore was just covered in trash - not the resorts fault of course, but something to consider when deciding to go to Koh Samui and i think most their beaches are trashed. The girl at the front desk wasn't very helpful, and I seemed to be annoying her with my questions - compared to the 6 other hotels we stayed on our trip , the service was the worst here. The rooms were dark, and not very inviting so we didn't really want to spend much time in there. Also, the beds were 2 twins pushed together which wasn't ideal for my boyfriend and I.

Restaurant is was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian_Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangobeach, Aung, Guest Relations at Tango Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Gillan_Leigh, Thank you for taking the time to comment on us. Your feedback is invaluable and will completely help us in serving our guests better. Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. This is especially saddening because Tango Beach Resort was founded on the promise of making the experience of holiday in Koh Samui happier and comfortable for everyone who chooses to stay with us. We know we failed to deliver on this promise during your stay as mother nature wasn't at our side and in the history of our beach the tides were unusually high on those days. It covered the whole beach which was left with dirt and trash in the evening. It is true that we placed tables and chairs but we make sure there is always enough space with two rows of sun chairs for our guests. However, we have begun putting a comprehensive plan in place to provide better service and facilities for our in house guests and improved procedures for handling such difficulties in the future. We have also undergone in house staff training and as an example the receptionist on duty was issued a strong warning to assure that this does not happen again. Your satisfaction and happiness is our main goal at Tango Beach Resort and are confident, as a result of these actions, that we will emerge as a more reliable and even more customer responsive resort than ever before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We booked our first 3 nights there online, and not knowing what is was like, was pleasantly surprised.

Breakfast and dinner was lovely, and the staff very helpful.

Room was very Mediterranean coloured... The biggest bed I have ever seen... Fr a change I had some ...lol
Only let down was the lack of lighting in the room... But lowly lit made for plenty of romance...hehehe!

We hired a motorbike from across the road, although the guy seemed a bit shady, we did anyway. He wanted our passport as security... But all was good in the end.

Highly recommend the massage place next door on the high side. Staff wonderful, and funny.

If ur Aussie, and go there, u must say "G'DAY" .... I taught the girls that!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Psycoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangobeach, Aung, Guest Relations at Tango Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Psycoss,
Thank you for sharing your positive comments here on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though you had tiny annoyances with the motor bike rental and on behalf we apologize as it is a custom to collect passports as insurance during rentals. We are currently in the due process of reconsidering our lightning systems so as to please each and every guest as a whole. We thank you for choosing Tango Beach for your vacation and are looking forward welcoming you back to our resort in the future.With warmest regards from the staffs at Tango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights at the beginning of January, our booking had been made for months, and they were aware we were staying as a couple, yet we had 2 single beds joined together, which would always slip apart, the room was humid and poorly fitted with curtains/blinds, a light directly outside our bedroom shin through the door all night, completely lighting the room up. Air con was very noisy and hard to sleep with on. Breakfast buffet was disgusting- over cooked bacon and fried eggs were about the extent of choice. The staff however were great, the room was made up very nicely every day, and the reception staff always willing to help out with inquiries/questions. Wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaD089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangobeach, Aung, Guest Relations at Tango Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear RebeccaD089,
Thank you for your review and your time.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to beds, breakfast and air conditioning systems.
At Tango Beach, we ensure that our guest is satisfied with the accommodation and service we offer. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry for your experience and are making the changes at our end to serve you and our future patrons better.
We have taken steps to ensure that there will only be a very low percentage of twin bed rooms and will not accommodate the guests that require a king sized bed. Never at all. We take your comments seriously and are currently in the process of re checking the curtains and reinstalling all lightnings, replacing the air conditioners with noise reduced models. We assure you that such issues will never happen again. We are sorry that our breakfast buffet did not meet the requirements of your taste and are in discussion with our cooks on the options to please each and every guests to the level beyond their expectations.You are a valuable customer to us and your comments have not gone unnoticed. We are positive you will see the changes in your next visit should you allow us the opportunity to elocme you again to Tango Beach. We wish you the best in your endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We were expecting a bit more comfort when checking in at Tango in December 2012.
It looks like it was once a place to go. It's now a bit out dated. Rooms are a bit small and humid, and smelled like humidity.
The service is very good and the staff is great. It's also right on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangobeach, Aung, at Tango Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear 1zzy,
Thank you for choosing Tango Beach Resort for your stay and for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad that you found our services and staffs to your liking even though our room status did not meed your requirements. Tango has been serving and accommodating thousands of our valued guests from all over the globe and from all walks of life and we must admit it's a bit old. However, we have done everything in our capacity to keep it on the go and this includes our future plans for complete refurbishments in all areas and beacuse of that I am positive in your next visit you will find Tango refreshed and ever welcoming as always. We look forward to the honor of being you as a vip and witness should your next visit bring you to our resort once again. With best wishes in your business and personal endeavors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Small resort but good features. Beach front property, room were big and great for me, but sometimes it could be disturbing when you were on your shower time then suddenly some weirdo insect pop up in the middle of nowhere. Love the pool, it changed colours during night.Not much complain but the only thing I don't really like the receptionist during morning shift, not a friendly face compared to the one in the afternoon, forgot her name, i like to see that lady served you better compare to the morning one. Working in customer service industry should take note on serving people precisely especially tourist with warm welcoming to the country. Its very bad to leave such imprint to the tourist travelled over. This place is walking distance from the main Chaweng street, nightlife and good restaurants about 10-15 mins, if will be good if you rent a scooter and ride over. The beach was great, cocktails and beers were very cheap during happy hour. I had my late afternoon chilling and relaxing at their private beach, it was great. Overall worth the money you spent.

Room Tip: Stroll over the neighbouring restaurant, it is much cheaper than the hotel's restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dygmaisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangobeach, Aung, Guest Relations at Tango Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Ms. Maisarah, Thank you for sparing some of your precious moments to share your experience. First and foremost, we thank you for choosing Tango Beach for your stay. We know that you had a variety of hotels to choose from and we are honored that you have selected our Resort.
Most of our staffs have been working with us for a long time. We keep regular and happy co-workers who are professional and willing to always do their best. We have however hired several trainees and new co-workers due to the level of occupancy. Even though all information might take time to be gathered to everyone, we acknowledge these weaknesses, and for that we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will make a thorough investigation and assure you that these shortcomings will be improved so that this does not happen again at all.
We are glad that you found our resort lovely despite the annoyances and hope that you will give us a second chance to re demonstrate our typical services and skills distinctive and special to Tango Resorts .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.5 mi away
Nora Chaweng Hotel
Nora Chaweng Hotel
#54 of 104 in Chaweng
247 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#67 of 104 in Chaweng
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#68 of 104 in Chaweng
552 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Beach Resort

Address: 119 M2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £31 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tango Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Beach Resort is located on the north end of Chaweng beach, the quieter end, on the north eastern side of the Island. Only a matter of 5 minutes from the center of Chaweng and only 10 minutes drive to the airport. Chaweng beach is considered the most beautiful beach front on the Island and boasts the most lively day/night life on the Island. Koh Samui is easily accessible by air, train, land and sea, Bangkok airways has 20 plus direct flight a day to and from Bangkok with shortly starting two daily flights. It also have daily flights to Singapore and Phuket Island too and Suratthani airport. With connection to Samui by bus and ferry. Alternatively the train offers 8 daily departures from Bangkok to Suratthani with bus ferry connections. Whichever mode of transport you choose. Tango Beach Resort, Samui is opened almost 10 years. It’s absolute that we have so many friendships from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tango Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Tango Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing