We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tango Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tango Beach Resort
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel was excellent! The staff were friendly and very helpful. Also, the rooms were very well done and kept very clean. The property is beautiful as well and right along the water. The hotel is also located in a nice spot that is very quiet, but a short (10 min.) walk to all of the action. I definitely recommend this place for people that want a balance between fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    102
    68
    28
    28
See reviews for
44
109
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I am about to check out after a wonderful 2 night stay, I will be back. The staff at both hotel and restaurant are friendly and efficient, smile and be pleasant and you will receive the same. Renovations seem to be finished, no disruptions at present. I am here on my own but there are a mixture of couples and families all enjoying the place. The beach restaurant is a killer, couples will adore it, there are a number of other restaurants next door for other dining options or just sipping a cocktail in a bean bag under the stars. On the road outside are 2 convenience stores, a french patisserie, 3 or so scooter rentals, 2 other bars with pool tables and free wifi. Immediately to the left and past the hotel next door [towards town] I got my washing done for 40 baht a kilo and bought a cooking course, the lady there is lovely. I'm giving it 10 out of 10 for value, location and ambience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waynejameswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We were not told when we booked that there would be renovations on the pool deck directly outside our window, or that the pool would be out of action.
We complained & had to be quite assertive in asking for a room change. Generally, the staff were not very friendly & the resort lacked warmth/character as a result. The bar/restaurant was quite ok (if overpriced), but we found the endless pop music tacky & tedious. There was also insufficient deck chair/lounge space to enjoy the beach - & the pool area is out of action for noisy & messy renovations.
The rooms are comfortable enough - king size bed & bar fridge on the plus side, but felt a little cramped & could do with a bit more attention to cleaning. Also, a few of the appliances were broken (busted coffee maker & no wifi in our room). There was no apology or offer to fix these problems, we just felt bad for complaining.
If I had known in advance what it would be like, I wouldn't have booked it. Most of the problems could've been resolved with better communication (at the time of booking or when we raised a problem), but the staff seem inflexible & unfriendly. Probably not their fault, they're probably not paid or supported enough to deal with the complaints arising from poor management. My message to managers: improve conditions for yor staff & improve customer satisfaction. My message to fellow travellers: don't bother going until things have improved.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennamcconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Upon arrival at Tango Beach Resort, we were upgraded to deluxe rooms when a booking error by Agoda was discovered. We found the rooms to be clean and while some were dated or Shabby Chic as one reviewer commented, others appeared to have been recently updated. The rooms are cleaned daily with complimentary water, fresh beach and bath towels provided. Upon further inspection, it appears there is currently ongoing reconstruction on the rooms until all have been updated.

The resort itself is laid out with rooms running down the either side of a treed courtyard which houses the pool and a boardwalk down to the restaurant which faces the beach. The boardwalk, which has some questionable boards, is being upgraded as well. The jungle like feel is neat and it’s cooler with the shade. The pool area does get some sun but one should not expect to get much of a tan while lazing in one of the many loungers.

We found the highlight of this resort to be the restaurant. Situated facing the beach and including tables set out on the beach as well, we found the service and food to be amazing and the Mojitos to be tasty and apparently endless.

The beach is quite shallow along this stretch of Chaweng but one of the highlights is the opportunity to walk out along the sandbars and lay in the shallow warm waters just to the north of the resort. There are beach chairs available but the trees will force you to move fairly fair out into the water to get a tan in the afternoon. There is a massage area right next to the restaurant for that afternoon beach massage.

Tango is located about a 20 minute walk from the action and there is a 7-11 and pharmacy located across the street along with Samui Délice (a French pâtisserie - Amazing chocolate/almond treats) and a shop to rent scooters.

Some things that could be changed to improve our stay would be, updated rooms, with better lighting. A king size mattress and not two beds pushed together. Free airport transfer considering the price paid for the rooms and the distance to the airport itself.

We found the resort an average place to stay, the hotel staff to be helpful and very nice, and would recommend this to anyone that is okay with a mid range hotel. Anyone looking for a 5 star hotel with and the service associated with that, continue on down the road and expect to pay for it somewhere else.

Room Tip: This is a mid range location. Upgrade to Villa if you want a nicer room and eat in the restaurant fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocolatemonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukunda, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Was going to book for 5 nights but booked for 2 and I am glad I did. Choose the villa option.
The web site said that renovation was taking place in 2012 so I thought it would be all nice and new. I think they must have got the year wrong as it was still going on when we got there.
The room was large but the arrangement was wrong and it felt small and the bedroom ceiling was low and it had not been refurbished and everything was very tired.
We asked to change so they gave us the honeymoon suite - no problem, which was much nicer but again old and tired and the cleaning was not the best with lots of cobwebs and dead insects. The bed was very hard and the ac was noisy.
The facilities were so so but the actual resort had a nice layout. The pool was clean, the staff were buisness like, not unfriendly they just didn't bow and curtsey like they do in most thai hotels :)
The bar staff on the beach were good, the breakfast was cooked to order and all in all was only average.
The rooms down one side had been refurbished and looked much nicer. Definitely wouldn't stay there again as I think there are much nicer places for the money.
The other thing that people don't mention is that there is only one tide a day there and if you go about full moon the tide is right out and there is about a 300 metre walk through knee deep water to get to a depth you can swim at. It much better down the south end of chawang.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hotel definitely has potential and would be a safe bet however, we decided after our two night stay to move elsewhere on the beach.

The service is good at reception and they speak good English too. When we arrived we were told that we were being then a complimentary upgrade which was obviously nice to hear but in all honesty the standard of the room left a lot to be desired. The decor wasn't awful but was dated and the bed was quite uncomfortable, though large. The biggest problem with the room was the bathroom which was really quite grimy and needed a spring clean. The shower in particular wasn't nice and left us feeling a little unclean even after washing.

Where this hotel really impresses though is outside. They have a fairly large pool which is nice and refreshing in the hot sun however, a little more effort should be given to cleaning it as there is quite a few leaves and dead insects in it. Also I'm pretty sure that it is salt water they use which didn't particularly bother me but would have prefer chlorine.

From the pool is a beautifully decorated wooden path which led down to a very nice bar/restaurant which was situated directly on the beach front. We only had a couple of meals here and they were nice but every night it was full of people eating and drinking. What is good about this hotel is that it is on the beach next to other resorts. I would recommend trying the Chaba Cabana pool just a few buildings up which is very nice and 'Your Place' does very nice food and drinks next door.

The hotel is very close to the main strip it is a 10 minute walk that can be done on pavement or via the beach (a nice option at night) alternatively a bus costs 50THB one way and is very easy to catch.this location is ideal as its very close to restaurants and bars but is secluded and quiet on a fantastic beach with amazing water. Also, just out the front is a 7/11 which is very cheap for basics such as water.

Whilst this was a mixed review for us I would say that the hotel is very busy and was fully booked the day after we left so our experience may not be the same as everyone else's.

At the price we payed it was a good start to an excellent stay in Koh Samui. Also it is worth considering that often hotels at slightly higher prices have breakfast included and offer other freebies like canoes and jet skiing which tango does not.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

After an idyllic week on Koh Tao we used this place as our last stop on the way to Bangkok. We were greeted by the two receptionists and two bell man all with a generally unfriendly attitude, not patient enough to answer our queries. They replied bluntly to our questions on the whereabouts with poor English and are more interested in their mobile gadgets than the guests, with their eyes fixed on the phones throughout the day. Amazing!

The hotel itself is old built of two rows of tiny rooms. No rooms facing the sea and those facing the pool are too close to the pool.They however, are quite clean but small, ceiling low with dim lights and worst of all was the smell of molds. The toilet made bubbles with the stench of raw sewage. There is a very small beachfront but the pool was nice. Wifi was quite good. The air conditioning was noisy and wavered between ice cold and off, creating an impossible sleeping environment and there was no effort to fix and apologize us during our two night stay even though we informed the reception a couple of times. Either they don't understand our accent or it's their tradition. Unprofessional at all. Shame on the management!
The food at the beach bar restaurant was good with a reasonable price and the restaurant staffs friendly and helpful than the lobby.

Overall not the kind of place you would choose to spend more than one night in. 1200 Baht per night and probably good for back packers but one can't imagine choosing this as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.9 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.3 mi away
Papillon Resort
Papillon Resort
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Bay View Resort
Chaweng Bay View Resort
#55 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Beach Resort

Property: Tango Beach Resort
Address: 119 M2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tango Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tango Beach Resort is located on the north end of Chaweng beach, the quieter end, on the north eastern side of the Island. Only a matter of 5 minutes from the center of Chaweng and only 10 minutes drive to the airport. Chaweng beach is considered the most beautiful beach front on the Island and boasts the most lively day/night life on the Island. Koh Samui is easily accessible by air, train, land and sea, Bangkok airways has 20 plus direct flight a day to and from Bangkok with shortly starting two daily flights. It also have daily flights to Singapore and Phuket Island too and Suratthani airport. With connection to Samui by bus and ferry. Alternatively the train offers 8 daily departures from Bangkok to Suratthani with bus ferry connections. Whichever mode of transport you choose. Tango Beach Resort, Samui is opened almost 10 years. It’s absolute that we have so many friendships from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tango Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Tango Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing