We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sarann
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this resort. The location is not that good as you cannot swim in the beach its full of rocks. The pool is not that big compared to other resorts. The restaurant is not that good. An average stay to sum up our holiday stay in samui.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jents22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Sarann seems to be a once great place which has sort of lost it's luster. We arrived and were shown our jacuzzi suite room which matched the pictures and descriptions. The rooms are the open bungalow type, with a big jacuzzi tub and small terrace, large bed in the middle of the room and the open concept bathroom behind it. There is nothing disappointing about the room until we went for a walk then later in the evening we were sitting in the room and it started to stink of raw sewage. The smell just got worse and worse. I went down to reception to see about moving rooms. It's not really possible to leave doors/windows open without screens or mosquito nets (neither of which are in the room). After explaining the problem, they did agree to find another room. The staff was polite but not friendly, and it would almost seem like they knew that room had problems and just hope people don't complain. We moved rooms but were moved to the last row which backs on to the main street. There are cars, trucks and motorbikes travelling on it at all hours. On top of that it was raining and wet and would make the traffic even louder. The hotel is sandwiched between the ocean and the main road, so the 14 or so ocean view bungalows have a great view and no noise, the second row behind (which we were first located) has no view and no noise, the 3rd row of course has no view and road noise. If you are booking in a lower fee class, they you would have 50% chance or greater of getting a room that backs on to the road. The hotel did seem empty but yet they put us in a room which was much noisier then our original room. The 2nd night there was again a bit of the sewage smell starting to come into the room so this time we closed all the drains (sink and tubs), and covered the open ones with wet towels and it seemed to stop it. The rest of the time was uneventful but the first days really soured the mood. The staff was accommodating but seemed very cold, especially for Thailand. It seems the Sarann has lost a lot of what former glory and prestige it once had. The quiet location at the end of the beach is a big plus but there isn't much beach chairs or pool chairs if the hotel is busy. I don't usually write bad reviews after all a hotel is a hotel but the price point for this hotel leaves a lot to be improved upon. For starters if they know they have a sewage gas problem, have it properly fixed rather than passing off the rooms in hopes the guests don't say anything.

Room Tip: Room 214 has a problem with sewage smell entering the room. Rooms in the 300 block back on to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We came here for a 3 nights stay. The rooms are well cleaned and maintained. The resto is not that big but stylish. The view from the swimming pool is good though. The location is not that bad, its not too far from amenities in the island which is helpful in any ways.

Stayed: October 2013
5  Thank Dadcool55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were there in Aug 2013 for 2 nights. We stayed in Jacuzzi Villa. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with friendly smiles. The staff brought us to the room (you actually need that as you might be lost) and explained each details of the facilities in the room. very good effort on that. We were very satisfied of the room size, very spacious, and the ambiance was very very cosy and romantic for 2. we had fun time in the Jacuzzi. Room was cleaned and polished too.

The only thing we were not happy was the breakfast. It was quite limited selection and same options repeated for 3 days in a row. I'm hopeful if the breakfast selection is improved, else this hotel will be the perfect place for romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Villas on the ground floor is super nice, felt like you're entering your own house as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hazzyjapzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our ten night stay in October has lived up to expectations in every way. The Sarann delivers in a typically quiet, efficient and unassuming Thai manner, discreet, charming and smiley, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are a delight. Our sea front private pool Villa is perfect. Amazing view, lovely bedroom with comfortable king size bed, ensuite with shower and huge bath, additional sitting room, covered terrace and our own infinity pool. Very private and everything we had hoped for, excellent, thank you The Sarann. The location is ideal for Chaweng Noi beach with direct access and getting into town could not be easier, either by hotel minibuses or the abundant taxis passing by the main entrance. It is not until you start nit picking the very few minor faults such as no proper mirror in the room, or a lack of bedside table for morning coffee that you realise just how good The Sarann is and how unimportant such things are in the context of a superb Koh Samui experience that comes highly recommended. Thank you The Sarann, see you again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DesertOryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the pool villa. All we can say it was an excellent stay with good food and unforgettable hospitality from the staff. We really enjoy the private pool in our room. It is cozy and great to spend sweet time with your love one.
If you are looking for peaceful beautiful and private beach, this place is certainly commendable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 26Eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at The Sarann during September. We had originally booked the Jacuzzi Villa but decided to upgrade to a Oceanfront Pool Villa after asking to have a look at one when checking in. We were wowed from the moment we walked in the door. The view from the villas is just breathtaking, from the minute you wake up and open the blinds in the morning. Villa was very clean, spacious (although the separated living room seems pointless!)

The hotel staff were also magnificent throughout, everyone stops to say hello etc. breakfast was good with an ample selection (other than poor coffee, but that seems to be the case everywhere in Thailand)

The hotel is relatively small so never felt busy or crowded. The only downside as most other people have mentioned is the fact that the pool is tiny and is basically in the lobby, and the hotel is not directly on a beachfront, but it is only literally about a two minute walk to the Chaweng Noi beach

Room Tip: If you budget allows, definitely upgrade to the Oceanfront Pool Villa. Also don't be afraid to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmeyers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
735 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#12 of 104 in Chaweng
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £57 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sarann, Koh Samui is a sublime blend of luxury and nature where is located on the tip of the beautiful and serene Chaweng Noi Beach, just 20 minutes from Samui Int'l Airport. The short drive from the airport is a dazzling introduction to the eclectic spirit of Koh Samui, winding through small villages and passing through a lively emergent quarter, before arriving at the resort's scenic surroundings of a lush tropical forest backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing