We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacuzzi suites are exactly the same as the jacuzzi villa's but chaper!”
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sarann
Ranked #37 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Jacuzzi suites are exactly the same as the jacuzzi villa's but chaper!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 8 nights in May and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We tried all 3 of the villas (the pool villa, the Jacuzzi villa & the Jacuzzi suite)

Rooms were clean and modernised but had character with great bathtubs in all of them as well as walk in showers and great kind size comfy beds (bedrooms and bathrooms are a deal breakers or deal makers for me and both were deal makers!!)

THE JACUZZI SUITE'S ARE EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE JACUZZI VILLA'S BUT about £50 CHEAPER, but closer to the road, but honestly it is not noisy!

Restaurant is okay (try their coconut milkshakes!!) and the spa is amazing, you must try the 90 minute aloe vera massage - ahhh!!

Staff have limited English but enough to understand your demands (coming from a self-proclaimed Diva) and are always smiling and greet you with a bow - you return the bow and the smile!

I loved the fact that it is a boutique hotel and not very known but it is close to the big sandy Chewang beach but the only bad side is that there is no sun lounge's on the beach which belong to the Saraan, if you want to have a sunbathe by the beach!

Find out more about our personal experience with some restaurant & other hotel recommendations on my blog www.worldwithinher.com

Room Tip: Go for Jacuzzi suite as it is the same as the Jacuzzi Villa if you don't mind a little extra noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mademois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    180
    59
    41
    20
See reviews for
54
264
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tezpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well.. Sure its the Hotel to stay if you are in Koh Samui as its located in Chaweng, which is one of the most happening location of the place . The hotel room is Large & spacious.. & very neat. I was with my niece to this place in the month of May.. so we got some excellent off season deal & chose to stay in the Jacuzzi Suit Room with Complimentary breakfast . We had the most Luxurious stay in cheapest of deal !! The hotel has its in house travel desk which arranged good site seeing for us & the restaurant is really good & has good choice of food , We are pure vegetarians , so, we got some good veg dishes & were happy to get it ibn hotel itself.
The best part of its hotel is its attractive location with sea facing swimming pool. The view of sea at night.. from the swimming pool area is simply mesmerizing !! I met the hotel Manager , who was very warm & friendly & said that his hotel is very popular among Honeymooners as it gives the type of privacy that the couple needs & they have some special sea facing room with private swimming pool for such guests !!

I will strongly recommend this hotel to all of you & as I am a travel agent , I am suggesting this property to all my customers too !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivani1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, New York
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had an excellent stay at The Sarann. An amazingly attentive and accommodating staff! A shout out to the GM and Mui for the wonderful care we received. The location and views are stunning. I had the pleasure of staying in a poolside villa, what a fabulous view to wake up to every morning. The food was delicious and wonderfully varied (this coming from a foodie :)). Shuttle bus to and from the airport and into town. Great value for the price. I highly recommend The Sarann!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely but the rooms with pool and sea view are not to be beat! Quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksmile2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed with a group of friends to celebrate. The staff were beyond friendly and very professional. The room we stayed was excellent large and very clean. The Hotel has a wonderful pool, bar service and restaurant with excellent dinner choice and breakfast options. There is a daily shuttle to Town and airport car service. Definitely a must stay location when visiting the wonderful Thailand location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trip12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from a 2 week holiday to Koh Samui. Whilst there we stayed at the Sarran for a total of 8 nights.

In this time we stayed in 3 of their different accommodation, sea view villa with pool, Villa with Spa, Suite with Spa.

Reason for so many will become clear!

First the resort, its located in Chaweng Noi which is at the Southern end of Chaweng Beach and about a 10 min drive to the main strip. It was very clean and well kept and the grounds were lovely and fully planted. In essence their are 3 towns of accommodation, sea front villas...on the sea front, then Villas with Spa one row back, and then Suite with Spa a further row back, that backed onto the road. The resort has a small gym and a lovely Spa which we used twice whilst we were there, and my girlfriend swears it was the best she has whilst on holiday. There is a small but very clean infinity pool with great views along the beach. It's worth noting that the resort isn't right on the beach, but its literally a 2 min walk to get to the sandy beach (contrary to some reviews saying 5 - 10 mins). You just walk by the restaurant and down onto the beach. And its a lovely little stretch where the sand continues into the sea, there is also a small coral section to one side which offers some not bad snorkelling. The restaurant is also quite good with a decent food selection and very well done for the price.

We first only booked for 2 nights in the sea view villa with pool as our intention was to try different hotels on the opposite side of the island. We were welcomed to the Sarann by the team who were all very friendly and greeted us with a smile and fresh cocktail. The sea view villa with pool was lovely, the pool was very clean as was the room and very private also. The views looked out along the length of Chaweng beach. the rooms were very spacious and clean and had a large circular bath.

We decided to book a third night but alas these villas were taken, so we went to the Villa with Spa. Again very nice accommodation, very large rooms with a large kingsize bed, large circular bath and a lovely spa bath outside again very private.

After the third night we checked out with the intention of getting accommodation on the west coast. After 3 - 4 hours and checking out 6 other resorts we decided to go back to the Sarann as it was so much nicer than the others at similar price. This time around and as we were on a budget we booked the Suite with Spa, it really worth mentioning that the ONLY difference between this and the Villa with Spa is that they are on the road side. The accommodation itself is exactly the same!

Now I have read some review that mention the noise of the road and yes you can hear the traffic, I guess it depends what your used to. Personally I didn't notice it after 5-10 mins and slept like a log. If you need silence to sleep well I probably wouldn't stay anywhere near Chaweng, or a road for that matter!

The service throughout was good, all the team were friendly, their level of English varied and of course as our Thai is non existent we were reliant on them understanding us to communicate and so of course its easier to talk to the staff that have better english. But even those that didn't always smiled and made an effort.

All in all we had a great stay here and would definitely go back. The Suite with Spa would be perfect for us as the noise didn't bother us and its less cost than the villa with spa for identical accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely boutique hotel with a 5* feel, excellent value for money from the room rate to mini bar items, the food is first class quality and the staff are very friendly, efficient and have been trained well in accommodating the needs of demanding international guests young and old. The location is very good with a fantastic view of the beach (which is easily accessible) and transport is easy, yet just far enough away from the hustle and bustle and a short transfer to the airport. The rooms are very large, beds huge and comfortable, you could not ask more for a break in this lovely Thailand gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I have just spent 4 nights at The Sarann, chaweng noi and will definetly be returning, I have been to koh samui 7 times and wanting to try something different we booked the sarann, chaweng noi is in my opinion the best place to stay the beach and area is a little quieter and having Buco and Bistro Samui (two bars/restaurants) just a few steps away up the beach is an added bonus for a meal or an afternoon drink sitting right on the beach. The resort offers a free shuttle into chaweng (a 5 minute drive) a few times a day but we always hire a scooter and go it ourselves. Room service and food is very reasonably priced and very good quality, we stayed in a deluxe room and were more than impressed it had a HUGE king size bed and a big big bathroom complete with bath and separate shower, the staff very extremely friendly and will do anything to keep you happy. I would definetly recommend this resort to couples, families and honeymooners I will definetly be returning upon my next Thailand trip :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kazedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#27 of 104 in Chaweng
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Star Beach Resort
New Star Beach Resort
#19 of 104 in Chaweng
623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
599 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#15 of 104 in Chaweng
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Property: The Sarann
Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sarann, Koh Samui is a sublime blend of luxury and nature where is located on the tip of the beautiful and serene Chaweng Noi Beach, just 20 minutes from Samui Int'l Airport. The short drive from the airport is a dazzling introduction to the eclectic spirit of Koh Samui, winding through small villages and passing through a lively emergent quarter, before arriving at the resort's scenic surroundings of a lush tropical forest backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing