We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sarann
Ranked #39 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in the Sarann Resort just for 1 night, but it was a Great experience with Incredible staff and Good services.
Check-in took barely 10 minutes for the 9 of us, we were served welcome drinks as well.

There was One Large Indian family of about 6 or 8 Men trying to "solve a problem of Rates" at the reception, they all spoke LOUDLY and all at ONCE, thus the poor receptionist could not be able to help them FAST. - Very Annoying behaviour by this family in a foreign land.

The rooms are spacious, though the Air Conditioning does need some working on as the rooms do not Cool off even after 30 minutes of being swiched on.
The Breakfast was good and service again impeccable.
Overall a great stay - We will chose Sarann again without a second doubt :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    169
    58
    41
    18
See reviews for
47
251
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Sarann for 4 nights on a family trip with a group of 22 adults. We had a variety of accommodation such as Pool Villas, Jacuzzi Villas and Suites. First the positives: the property is nicely located a bit away from the hustle of the Chawang area, but easily accessible. We had rented bikes and cars (available at the hotel itself) which made it very convenient. The rooms are nicely furnished and pool villas have a good size lounge pool! The breakfast buffet is nice, however, there is only one omelettes/egg server which was mildly annoying.

However, we give this property only 2 stars because of many negatives of our experience here.

1. Confused Check-in
The check-in staff were particularly inefficient and it took more than an hour for check-in of 6 rooms, despite half of our group having arrived earlier in the day. We wished to pay by AMEX credit cards to which they claimed the AMEX card machine was broken and seemed non co-operative. When we suggested that we pay later in the day when they fix it, they immediately got a working card machine in a few minutes, which made their earlier fuss seem pointless.

2. Hidden Charges, especially for Freebies
At check-out, we were asked to pay for use of guest slippers, umbrellas, bath-robes, cutlery, etc. which are normally "freebies" at even a budget hotel. It was not mentioned in the rooms that use of these items as chargeable and we were not informed of the same at check-in. We were also billed for a bottle of alcohol that my wife requested the staff to remove from the room mini-fridge as we have a curious toddler. The billing staff were rude and unprofessional in their behaviour to handle this incident. They also accused us to losing one umbrella, which was found to be in the room only and overlooked by their check-out staff.

3. Poor Air Conditioning in Villas
The air conditioning in the villas was not good and it took several hours to create a comfortable environment in the room.

Overall, the rude check-out staff and miserly approach towards charging for normal freebies gave a very negative shock at check-out. Overall, we did not like their hospitality and suggest travellers with high expectations to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank saurabhmundhra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 8 nights in May and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We tried all 3 of the villas (the pool villa, the Jacuzzi villa & the Jacuzzi suite)

Rooms were clean and modernised but had character with great bathtubs in all of them as well as walk in showers and great kind size comfy beds (bedrooms and bathrooms are a deal breakers or deal makers for me and both were deal makers!!)

THE JACUZZI SUITE'S ARE EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE JACUZZI VILLA'S BUT about £50 CHEAPER, but closer to the road, but honestly it is not noisy!

Restaurant is okay (try their coconut milkshakes!!) and the spa is amazing, you must try the 90 minute aloe vera massage - ahhh!!

Staff have limited English but enough to understand your demands (coming from a self-proclaimed Diva) and are always smiling and greet you with a bow - you return the bow and the smile!

I loved the fact that it is a boutique hotel and not very known but it is close to the big sandy Chewang beach but the only bad side is that there is no sun lounge's on the beach which belong to the Saraan, if you want to have a sunbathe by the beach!

Find out more about our personal experience with some restaurant & other hotel recommendations on my blog www.worldwithinher.com

Room Tip: Go for Jacuzzi suite as it is the same as the Jacuzzi Villa if you don't mind a little extra noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mademois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tezpur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well.. Sure its the Hotel to stay if you are in Koh Samui as its located in Chaweng, which is one of the most happening location of the place . The hotel room is Large & spacious.. & very neat. I was with my niece to this place in the month of May.. so we got some excellent off season deal & chose to stay in the Jacuzzi Suit Room with Complimentary breakfast . We had the most Luxurious stay in cheapest of deal !! The hotel has its in house travel desk which arranged good site seeing for us & the restaurant is really good & has good choice of food , We are pure vegetarians , so, we got some good veg dishes & were happy to get it ibn hotel itself.
The best part of its hotel is its attractive location with sea facing swimming pool. The view of sea at night.. from the swimming pool area is simply mesmerizing !! I met the hotel Manager , who was very warm & friendly & said that his hotel is very popular among Honeymooners as it gives the type of privacy that the couple needs & they have some special sea facing room with private swimming pool for such guests !!

I will strongly recommend this hotel to all of you & as I am a travel agent , I am suggesting this property to all my customers too !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivani1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had an excellent stay at The Sarann. An amazingly attentive and accommodating staff! A shout out to the GM and Mui for the wonderful care we received. The location and views are stunning. I had the pleasure of staying in a poolside villa, what a fabulous view to wake up to every morning. The food was delicious and wonderfully varied (this coming from a foodie :)). Shuttle bus to and from the airport and into town. Great value for the price. I highly recommend The Sarann!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely but the rooms with pool and sea view are not to be beat! Quiet and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksmile2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed with a group of friends to celebrate. The staff were beyond friendly and very professional. The room we stayed was excellent large and very clean. The Hotel has a wonderful pool, bar service and restaurant with excellent dinner choice and breakfast options. There is a daily shuttle to Town and airport car service. Definitely a must stay location when visiting the wonderful Thailand location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trip12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from a 2 week holiday to Koh Samui. Whilst there we stayed at the Sarran for a total of 8 nights.

In this time we stayed in 3 of their different accommodation, sea view villa with pool, Villa with Spa, Suite with Spa.

Reason for so many will become clear!

First the resort, its located in Chaweng Noi which is at the Southern end of Chaweng Beach and about a 10 min drive to the main strip. It was very clean and well kept and the grounds were lovely and fully planted. In essence their are 3 towns of accommodation, sea front villas...on the sea front, then Villas with Spa one row back, and then Suite with Spa a further row back, that backed onto the road. The resort has a small gym and a lovely Spa which we used twice whilst we were there, and my girlfriend swears it was the best she has whilst on holiday. There is a small but very clean infinity pool with great views along the beach. It's worth noting that the resort isn't right on the beach, but its literally a 2 min walk to get to the sandy beach (contrary to some reviews saying 5 - 10 mins). You just walk by the restaurant and down onto the beach. And its a lovely little stretch where the sand continues into the sea, there is also a small coral section to one side which offers some not bad snorkelling. The restaurant is also quite good with a decent food selection and very well done for the price.

We first only booked for 2 nights in the sea view villa with pool as our intention was to try different hotels on the opposite side of the island. We were welcomed to the Sarann by the team who were all very friendly and greeted us with a smile and fresh cocktail. The sea view villa with pool was lovely, the pool was very clean as was the room and very private also. The views looked out along the length of Chaweng beach. the rooms were very spacious and clean and had a large circular bath.

We decided to book a third night but alas these villas were taken, so we went to the Villa with Spa. Again very nice accommodation, very large rooms with a large kingsize bed, large circular bath and a lovely spa bath outside again very private.

After the third night we checked out with the intention of getting accommodation on the west coast. After 3 - 4 hours and checking out 6 other resorts we decided to go back to the Sarann as it was so much nicer than the others at similar price. This time around and as we were on a budget we booked the Suite with Spa, it really worth mentioning that the ONLY difference between this and the Villa with Spa is that they are on the road side. The accommodation itself is exactly the same!

Now I have read some review that mention the noise of the road and yes you can hear the traffic, I guess it depends what your used to. Personally I didn't notice it after 5-10 mins and slept like a log. If you need silence to sleep well I probably wouldn't stay anywhere near Chaweng, or a road for that matter!

The service throughout was good, all the team were friendly, their level of English varied and of course as our Thai is non existent we were reliant on them understanding us to communicate and so of course its easier to talk to the staff that have better english. But even those that didn't always smiled and made an effort.

All in all we had a great stay here and would definitely go back. The Suite with Spa would be perfect for us as the noise didn't bother us and its less cost than the villa with spa for identical accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.8 mi away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
New Star Beach Resort
New Star Beach Resort
#19 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bhundhari Spa Resort & Villas Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Property: The Sarann
Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sarann, Koh Samui is a sublime blend of luxury and nature where is located on the tip of the beautiful and serene Chaweng Noi Beach, just 20 minutes from Samui Int'l Airport. The short drive from the airport is a dazzling introduction to the eclectic spirit of Koh Samui, winding through small villages and passing through a lively emergent quarter, before arriving at the resort's scenic surroundings of a lush tropical forest backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing