We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”
Review of Nora Chaweng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Chaweng Hotel
Ranked #58 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The staff at the hotel were very helpful from check-in right through to check-out. I always spoke to a lady named Dao, she was just very helpful! I wanted to find out about bikram yoga and dr fish spa timings and prices and she took care of this for me. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. Every room had a/c. Breakfast service was ample and good quality food served. Nice swimming pool in the shade. Free wifi available to all guests. Hotel is located at the top of Chaweng and only 5 minutes walk from the beach. This is a really buzzing part of the island, perfect for partying! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaoJao38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

From the time we checked in to the point of checkout. Everything was smooth. The room service of the service was prompt.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

There were a number of reasons as to why we did not like this hotel
1.No hand soap,hand towel or face washer in the rooms (we had 2 booked)
2 Air conditioner was directly aimed at the bed and turned itself on and off at intervals during the night giving us a disturbed and cold nights sleep. Air conditioner dripping water in my daughters room
3.the room was dark, we discovered a row of lights were out behind a facia (all fairness to hotel they did fix as soon as we noticed but we did have to see another room for lighting)
4.Breakfast was not appealing and the hot food was cold Great way to get food poisening. A number of complaints were made by different guest but didn't change and was not advertised that they cooked eggs on the BBQ outside
5 Pool was cold - Pool service was non existent even with advertised Happy Hour
6 Very noisy at night as this hotel is in the main street - loud thumping music till early hours
7 little assistance with luggage on entering and departing the hotel
8 500BHT charged for hotel taxi to take you to airport from hotel when the fare is only 200BHT from airport to hotel (go figure)
9 Only allowed one room key so we had to make sure we got back at same time(staff said it was for SECURITY)
10.Cigarrette bumpers on small balcony outside room (we don't smoke)
There were probably more but that's enough to turn me off ever staying there again or recommending to my friends

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gail068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This hotel was a huge disappointment. Our room was very small, even thougt we didnt take the cheapest option, and there was a very strong smell of mould -easy to understand when the bathroom was covered with it! It was disgusting! We got another room, where the smell was better, but still mould in the bathroom. We ended up showering somewhere else most of the time! The room was also pretty dirty.. and it stayed that way.. The wiew was very poor, the aircondition pointed directly in the bed (so we had to choose from laying in the wind or being to hot..). There was a roof over the pool, wich can be ok for some.. The overmanager, a woman, was so rude, that she alone, could be the reason that we would never come back here. This is a hotel for very young people, who only comes to Chaweng to party.
We left here one night earlier, even thougt we ofcourse had to pay at the start at our stay..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frost2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Firstly I have to say the staff is great. Friendly and always smiling. There isn't to much more to compliment the hotel on though. I arrived at the hotel at 7pm. No one was a the door to help with the luggage. I guess they finish early as during the day there is someone.
Going up the room you will find stained carpet on every level. It made the hotel look cheap.
My first impression of the room was beautiful but with closer inspection I was disappointed. The bed was like sleeping on the floor. There was no give what so ever. The windows have never been cleaned b the looks of it. The bathroom had a smell which was coming from behind the walls. Behind the toilet is a cabinet and when you have a look inside it you can see all the pipe works. The bath itself was clean but the grouting around it was not. It could do with a good clean.
The laundry service is great. Not to expensive and if you got it picked up before 10am then you will get it back later that afternoon. Reasonably priced to.
Housekeeping is done late. Normally about 2pm - 3pm. This is good if you had a big night.
The mini bar does not get restocked so yo need to advise the desk if this needs to be done.
The dooma had stains on it which look as though they won't come out. I was there for 4 nights and the sheets never got changed. (I just hope they were changed before I arrived)
The air-conditioning worked well. Occasionally to well and had to turn it off.
Apart from the hotel itself the location is at the very beginning of the shopping strip. If you don't mind the walk and the heat then you would be able to do bothsides of the streets without missing anything.
It is only a short walk to the beach on the other side of the road.
If you plan on staying here and thinking about bringing a girl back to your room you will be charged 1000 THB per night. (they made sure they told me this when I checked in) They do have free wi-fi
I wouldn't stay here again based on the rooms.
I can't comment on the restaurant or pool as i never used them. Undercover parking if you have a vehicle. Check out is 12pm like most hotels in Thailand.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shadow8575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Hotel was a great "3 Star" Hotel Clean and well run! Pool is in the Shade and can have a bad smell in the mornings. Breakfast was GREAT!, Air con in the room was good, Beds were HARD and sheet were very old but clean. TV works and has a few english stations but the picture was fuzzy. In a great location just a walk through the resort accross the street and your on the beach. Soi Green Mango and Ark Bar were just down the road and the best shopping was right out the door!
Watch out for the happy hour tax! drink prices are more than they look like they are!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N3RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

If you are staying in Chaweng I cannot reccomend Nora Chaweng Hotel enough! it is fantastic value for money, beautiful modern hotel, and rooms, an exceptional breakfast, and the staff are the best i've ever come across in any hotel! including that in Australia! They were so friendly and welcoming, we were greeted and acknowledged by the friendly staff at all times of the day including when we'd return to the hotel in the early morning hours! The pool is lovely and its very nice to have a shaded swimming area! The hotel is situated in the main street in Chaweng and is only 2 minutes walk from Chaweng beach, the hotel will even provide you with beach towels! this hotel is only rated a 3 star however is worthy of 4 1/2. stay at Nora Chaweng!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohsodanniella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#27 of 104 in Chaweng
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#55 of 104 in Chaweng
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
1.3 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Chaweng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Chaweng Hotel

Address: 162/49-50 Moo2 Chaweng Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £40 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nora Chaweng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nora Chaweng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nora Chaweng
Nora Chaweng Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing