We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service Culture!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nora Chaweng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nora Chaweng Hotel
Ranked #60 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Service Culture!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

The service culture in Thailand has been impressive to say the least, and the Nora Chaweng was no different. From the porter to the front desk staff to the servers to the housekeepers, it was evident that this hotel's mantra is "service with a smile"!!!

This hotel is clean, modern and has frosty cold AC. It is only a two minute walk to the sand of Chaweng Beach and is surrounded by restaurants, pharmacies, bars, and shops.

Te indoor/outdoor pool is completely blocked from the sun, which proved to be a nice break from a long day lounging on the beach.

I would recommend you stay at the Nora Chaweng if you're planning a trip to the area!!! I'll def. be back when I return!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    91
    46
    14
    22
See reviews for
10
55
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

so we stayed here just over night to catch a plane back to Bangkok... paying about AUS $90 a night we are expecting a nice clean room for a 5star place. instead we found the room to be very smelly... after tossing all night long and checking the bed linen in the morning to our disgusting surprise the bed cover was stained with urine all over it!!! i have never seen anything like this before and i find this a bad hygine problem! how can these people get away with this?
I complained to the lady at reception and she only offered to let the maager know of the problem... i insisted that i wanted my money back, i was told that she'd pass on my email to the hotel manager and he would then get back to me as we had to leave to catch a flight... i have still not been contacted! i will be reporting this to the thailand health minister! such poor service after failinf to provide us with what we paid for and t least have a clean bed!! i urge you all never to stay here as obviously theyonly care about getting the money and dont care about their clients! for yhe amount i paid to stay here thishotel should be closed down!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilSof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai S, Manager at Nora Chaweng Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
It is disheartening to hear such an off-putting feedback from the people we care about the most; our beloved guests.

Nora Chaweng Hotel is a 3-Star hotel committed to deliver 5-star service. The rate of 90 AUD (approx. 2,500 THB) per night for 3 persons including breakfast in a well appointed room equipped with essential amenities for a clean and comfortable stay is a great deal. Aside from being modern and elegant, our location is also one of our main selling points. The beach, the restaurants, the shopping strip, and most of all the clusters of clubs and nightlife venues are all within walking distance. Most of our guests come here to enjoy the famous Chaweng Beach during the day and non-stop party in the evening. We understand that we have different ways in having fun. And in the course of having fun, we would like to remind our beloved guests that Nora Chaweng is your home away from home. You wouldn’t mess up your own bedroom. You wouldn’t trash your friend’s guestroom. As a guest, you would expect a warm welcome and a tidy room for you to stay in. And as your host, we would expect you to respect us in return by treating our facility as your own home. Getting drunk and sleeping and your own urine is truly unhygienic. It is evidently understandable that too much alcohol can make a person careless. But that’s fine, should you have advised any of our staff when it happened then the issue should have been resolved. Our hotel staff wouldn’t mind cleaning up. But it is extremely disappointing that despite our efforts to provide excellent service such fictitious comment will be made to cause damage to us.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for such review. It has clearly set up an example of a situation where we need our beloved guests’ honesty and cooperation in order for us to provide an excellent and remarkable service. This comment does not hinder us in rendering quality service, warm Thai hospitality, comfortable and clean facilities, and an unforgettable tropical island holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

CAPE TOWN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Nora Chaweng Hotel was our last stop of 6 on our honeymoon in Thailand, and was most definately the best! After arriving there the day of Songkran festival, we were soaked to the bone from the festivities and rain, and they welcomed us, wet bags and all, to a beautiful room, wonderful service, great food, and really great staff who made us feel like royalty. We spent 5 nights there and loved it!!! A really well run hotel, which really impressed us in all areas! THANK YOU SO MUCH NORA!!! it was like a home away from home...we will never forget!xxx

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Everything was good, they have friendly and attentive staffs. Located in the busy street of Chaweng. Walking distance to many eateries and massage parlors. The room has good wifi. Breakfast was just okay. We were greeted in the lobby with a glass of juice. Once check in was completed, we were escorted to our room and given a quick tour of the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YokeYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We only stayed a night here but encountered a few issues. We have previously stayed before with Nora (at the beach resort) so trusted the Nora brand. The room had lots of ants, we are not too picky but they were everywhere (think toothbrushes...) and the rooms had plenty of mould in the bathrooms, I'll mirror others comments as the sheets and pillows were dirty and ripped. This didn't bother us too much as it was only for a night but disappointing nonetheless.
The real issue occurred at the swimming pool, if you decide to venture there, please don't. It's covered and therefor freezing for a start, but there's more parts of trees in the pool than out! Also while we were sat on the sunbeds I guess a maid must have been cleaning out toilets upstairs and just chucked it off the balcony causing us to get rained on by dirty, smelly water. This drenched our clothes which we decided to throw out to be safe as I'm sure it was effluent...
On the positive side the staff were all fantastic and attentive, even printing out flight details for us too. Would probably return once it's had a deep clean and the pool is redesigned.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mathew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Main Street of Chaweng, but has no beach. To walk to the beach is around 3-5 minutes, and we found our way through other hotels entrances, which felt weird.

Rooms are quite big and have space for things.
We had ants in the teapot and sink. The sheets and towels have spots in them, even after they switch them, meaning everything is the same.

The hotel has very good wifi in rooms and computer in the lobby for free use.
Nice selection of food in menu (we didn't have breakfast here though, so referring to room service only).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdaniel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

The good points:
* The hotel is close to the airport and is also in a great location on the main road close to a wealth of shops, restaurants and the beach (contrary to statements, beach access is easy with a 4min walk and access via Marine Bungalow)
* We found the staff quite personable. We were greeted in the lobby with a glass of juice. Once check in was completed, we were escorted to our room and given a quick tour of the room's facilities.
* Free fast wifi

The bad points:
I had a similar experience to Exemail93.
* The room smelled of cigarette smoke anxious there were cigarette butts in the pot plants out on the balcony.
* The sheet on the bed had someone else's blood stains on it as well as other miscellaneous stains, so we had to have these changed.
* The tiles and blinds in the bathroom were moldy. The shower curtain was stained.
* Breakfast is ordinary.
* The hotel is generally run down. The lobby and pool are in good condition which is misleading. The carpet in the hallways are stained.

I would recommend looking elsewhere and spending the extra money to get a better hotel. We already booked and paid in advance, so we're just dealing with it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#73 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Chaweng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Chaweng Hotel

Property: Nora Chaweng Hotel
Address: 162/49-50 Moo2 Chaweng Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nora Chaweng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nora Chaweng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nora Chaweng
Nora Chaweng Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing