We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Nora Chaweng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Chaweng Hotel
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is attractive and centrally located (although it's across the street from the beach, not on it). It's centrally located in walking distance to restaurants, night life, beach, kayaking, massage, etc.

The staff was really friendly and the breakfast spread was nice with a good selection of fruit, breads, pancakes, cheese and cold cuts and cook to order omelets.

The pool was shaded, cool and refreshing. The spa was way too expensive considering you can get a massage for a fraction of the price just a block away or on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

The service culture in Thailand has been impressive to say the least, and the Nora Chaweng was no different. From the porter to the front desk staff to the servers to the housekeepers, it was evident that this hotel's mantra is "service with a smile"!!!

This hotel is clean, modern and has frosty cold AC. It is only a two minute walk to the sand of Chaweng Beach and is surrounded by restaurants, pharmacies, bars, and shops.

Te indoor/outdoor pool is completely blocked from the sun, which proved to be a nice break from a long day lounging on the beach.

I would recommend you stay at the Nora Chaweng if you're planning a trip to the area!!! I'll def. be back when I return!!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

so we stayed here just over night to catch a plane back to Bangkok... paying about AUS $90 a night we are expecting a nice clean room for a 5star place. instead we found the room to be very smelly... after tossing all night long and checking the bed linen in the morning to our disgusting surprise the bed cover was stained with urine all over it!!! i have never seen anything like this before and i find this a bad hygine problem! how can these people get away with this?
I complained to the lady at reception and she only offered to let the maager know of the problem... i insisted that i wanted my money back, i was told that she'd pass on my email to the hotel manager and he would then get back to me as we had to leave to catch a flight... i have still not been contacted! i will be reporting this to the thailand health minister! such poor service after failinf to provide us with what we paid for and t least have a clean bed!! i urge you all never to stay here as obviously theyonly care about getting the money and dont care about their clients! for yhe amount i paid to stay here thishotel should be closed down!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smof08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai S, Manager at Nora Chaweng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

It is disheartening to hear such an off-putting feedback from the people we care about the most; our beloved guests.

Nora Chaweng Hotel is a 3-Star hotel committed to deliver 5-star service. The rate of 90 AUD (approx. 2,500 THB) per night for 3 persons including breakfast in a well appointed room equipped with essential amenities for a clean and comfortable stay is a great deal. Aside from being modern and elegant, our location is also one of our main selling points. The beach, the restaurants, the shopping strip, and most of all the clusters of clubs and nightlife venues are all within walking distance. Most of our guests come here to enjoy the famous Chaweng Beach during the day and non-stop party in the evening. We understand that we have different ways in having fun. And in the course of having fun, we would like to remind our beloved guests that Nora Chaweng is your home away from home. You wouldn’t mess up your own bedroom. You wouldn’t trash your friend’s guestroom. As a guest, you would expect a warm welcome and a tidy room for you to stay in. And as your host, we would expect you to respect us in return by treating our facility as your own home. Getting drunk and sleeping and your own urine is truly unhygienic. It is evidently understandable that too much alcohol can make a person careless. But that’s fine, should you have advised any of our staff when it happened then the issue should have been resolved. Our hotel staff wouldn’t mind cleaning up. But it is extremely disappointing that despite our efforts to provide excellent service such fictitious comment will be made to cause damage to us.

We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for such review. It has clearly set up an example of a situation where we need our beloved guests’ honesty and cooperation in order for us to provide an excellent and remarkable service. This comment does not hinder us in rendering quality service, warm Thai hospitality, comfortable and clean facilities, and an unforgettable tropical island holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Nora Chaweng Hotel was our last stop of 6 on our honeymoon in Thailand, and was most definately the best! After arriving there the day of Songkran festival, we were soaked to the bone from the festivities and rain, and they welcomed us, wet bags and all, to a beautiful room, wonderful service, great food, and really great staff who made us feel like royalty. We spent 5 nights there and loved it!!! A really well run hotel, which really impressed us in all areas! THANK YOU SO MUCH NORA!!! it was like a home away from home...we will never forget!xxx

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Everything was good, they have friendly and attentive staffs. Located in the busy street of Chaweng. Walking distance to many eateries and massage parlors. The room has good wifi. Breakfast was just okay. We were greeted in the lobby with a glass of juice. Once check in was completed, we were escorted to our room and given a quick tour of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YokeYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We only stayed a night here but encountered a few issues. We have previously stayed before with Nora (at the beach resort) so trusted the Nora brand. The room had lots of ants, we are not too picky but they were everywhere (think toothbrushes...) and the rooms had plenty of mould in the bathrooms, I'll mirror others comments as the sheets and pillows were dirty and ripped. This didn't bother us too much as it was only for a night but disappointing nonetheless.
The real issue occurred at the swimming pool, if you decide to venture there, please don't. It's covered and therefor freezing for a start, but there's more parts of trees in the pool than out! Also while we were sat on the sunbeds I guess a maid must have been cleaning out toilets upstairs and just chucked it off the balcony causing us to get rained on by dirty, smelly water. This drenched our clothes which we decided to throw out to be safe as I'm sure it was effluent...
On the positive side the staff were all fantastic and attentive, even printing out flight details for us too. Would probably return once it's had a deep clean and the pool is redesigned.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mathew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Main Street of Chaweng, but has no beach. To walk to the beach is around 3-5 minutes, and we found our way through other hotels entrances, which felt weird.

Rooms are quite big and have space for things.
We had ants in the teapot and sink. The sheets and towels have spots in them, even after they switch them, meaning everything is the same.

The hotel has very good wifi in rooms and computer in the lobby for free use.
Nice selection of food in menu (we didn't have breakfast here though, so referring to room service only).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdaniel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 mi away
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
#49 of 103 in Chaweng
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#55 of 103 in Chaweng
426 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#25 of 103 in Chaweng
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#69 of 103 in Chaweng
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Chaweng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Chaweng Hotel

Address: 162/49-50 Moo2 Chaweng Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £19 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nora Chaweng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Nora Chaweng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nora Chaweng
Nora Chaweng Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing