We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Nora Chaweng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Chaweng Hotel
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 25 October 2013

After reading the reviews i was put of kind of, but after spending three days their it was amazing

1. The staff where amazing helping me find places and calling up places for me to find where they are.

2. Bedroom is amazing quality and excellent shower.

3. Location is amazing everything in walking distance

advise always find out from hotel how much to pay taxi or tuk tuk so you dont get conned

Room Tip: spend abit more to get a deulxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infamousranj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is quite decent with always smiling staff. The location is a plus point, as its the starting point of the main Chaweng Beach area. Its just five mins walk from the beach, as you have to take the thoroughfare from other hotel's pvt road. Treating yourself a cocktail for just 89/- Baht was awesome. The swimming pool was a disappointment though, dirty, small, indoor. The rooms were very comfortable & the breakfast didn't have much options for a vegetarian person. They even give you a beach towel (1 per person / Day) so you don't have to get bothered about carrying your own. Would conclude by saying, a safe & pleasant stay with my spouse. Thailand can be rough & rowdy.

Room Tip: Mid floor rooms are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somya139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I would like to say that after staying here recently I honk that a lot of you have been moaning just for moanings sake and not because there is anything incredibly wrong with this hotel.

Firstly the English of he staff is great no never had any problems at all with their English. Of course sometimes accents may affect understanding in both parts but guys how many of you can say anything apart from Sawadikaa? Their English is way better than your Thai I'm sure so appreciate that someone has taken the time to learn English which is an incredibly hard language.

My room was clean and I live the fact that we were told what times the rooms where serviced which I've never experienced in another hotel, very helpful. It's in a really good location in main Chaweng so close to Ark bar on the beach, Bar solo and Hush bar which are all in walking distance.

Again people complained that you had to walk through another hotel to get to the beach. Big deal! It's no more than 5 minutes away, be greatful for that.

The showers were good and the air con worked well which I thoroughly appreciated in the crazy heat.

Only complaint was that the TV didnt work properly but I only watched t for a few minutes each night whilst getting ready to go out so again no big deal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elohtee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Location is good.
Pretty close to everything. But its not on the beach.

But that's it.
Ants in the room. We asked to clean but they returned.
The air conditioning was leaking in our first night all over our bags.
The pool is terribly cold.
Nice wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Its our last night at Nora Chewing and our stay here has been pleasant. We booked the deluxe room as we like space (room 318) It was spacious. The rooms were clean and have a big bathroom with seperate bath/shower (at least 318 did) The bar fridge was miserably small. The biggest complaint we have of Nora Chaweng is the Swimming pool. Its undercover and the coldest pool in Asia that I have been in (solar heating would fix the problem.) And there are only 7 poolside lounges lined in a row. As such this whole area SHOULD BE NON SMOKING as we found just one smoker comes to the pool and it stinks of cigarette.
The staff have been helpful and courteous and our included breakfast was a buffet with plenty of tasty choices for all palets and they do eggs how you want.
As for location our Perth Travel agent told us it was over the road from the beach. Its actually 400 metres to beach and you have to walk through other hotels to get to it. Definitely no views. Chaweng beach is ordinary anyway . The sand is white but the water is knee deep for the first 400 meters. . The hotel is close to restaurants and shops galore.
I went scuba diving and while the dives were good. It was a 2. 1/2 hours(150 mins) each way to and from the dive site and many people were sea sick.. I doubt if we will go back to Samui after a stay at beach side Hoi An and Denang Vietnam which was far better and cheaper.

Room Tip: This is not a beach side hotel. Noisy until about midnight. Lots of young people partying maybe chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertMcNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked this hotel based on the location and its price. We had a wedding to attend to on the 3rd of August, at their sister hotel, Nora Buri Spa & Resort, and I knew that I wouldn't have any problems organising transportation between the two hotels as I've had to go there for the wedding rehearsal the night before the wedding.

We booked online for their stay 5 nights pay 4 deal, which included free wifi and breakfast daily. We arrived at 10am on the 31st of July after an overnight flight with a 2 hour layover in KL. Knowing that our room wouldn't be ready as check in is at 2pm, we asked if we could leave our luggage in storage, and the front desk staff was nice enough to let us check in 5 hours early and gave us 2 x 20min welcome massage vouchers! It was exactly what we needed after such a long flight. I couldn't sleep after checking in so I called Anodas Spa to ask if I could redeem the welcome massage and they told me to go there at my earliest convenience, which was within 5 mins of that phone call :P

The massage was so good, I ended up asking to extend to a full hour, and the masseuse advised to come back in half an hour (as it was lunchtime by the stage) and when I did, they told me about their summer special of THB550 for a la carte massage, so I took advantage of the deal and got the Back Bliss massage since my back hurt from the uncomfortable plane ride. It was HEAVEN. I'm not kidding; it was worth every baht. I've been to Thailand before and have gotten heaps of massages from those walk-in places that's about THB150 and those are crap in comparison to the Nora Chaweng Hotel's Spa services. I went back again 2 days later with my partner and got the Traditional Thai Massage and he got the Back Bliss, and even he said it was money well spent. I got the same masseuse the second, and third time this morning, on my last day in Thailand and I got the Balinese Massage,and again, it was heavenly.

I really don't know why people are complaining here about the lack of beachfront - DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFORE BOOKING. This hotel never claimed to have a beachfront property, and their pool is underground since it is in a small lot! And plus, it is a nice way to cool down after a long day at the beach.

If you're expecting 5-star amenities from a 3-star hotel, then you WILL be disappointed. This is a hell of a decent 3-star hotel, we had no problems with the room, or the services, as I knew exactly what I was getting before I booked. The only thing I would agree with on some of the existing reviews here is that they don't have much variety of food choices with their buffet breakfast. BUT then again, it is a 3-star hotel, so you can't expect much for that.

The location is excellent. Most of the wedding guests stayed at cheaper places in Bophut and surrounds, but they spent just as much money taking taxis down to our end of Chaweng Beach, so it is worth staying at Nora Chaweng because it is in a prime location - we just walked to the shops, restaurants and bars... I honestly thought the place wouldn't be promising since it is only a 3-star hotel, but their services and location stood out! They organised a shuttle for me to get to the wedding rehearsal and the actual wedding itself, along with other wedding guests who weren't staying at Nora Chaweng but didn't want to spend the extra money on taxis.

I am normally very picky when booking hotels for my overseas travels, especially in Asia, I always have a rule of booking at least a 4-star hotel, but Nora Chaweng is definitely an exception for me. Although their room service food is not excellent, it's not as pricey as other hotels, it's good enough for the price, so that's a plus too.

I suggest you (yes, whoever's reading this) do some research before booking hotels, and don't believe everything you read - some people are getting paid to do bad reviews for hotels - and some get paid to oversell hotels... But I'm not getting paid to do this - I just want to share my experience, and I had a great time at this hotel and would definitely book again next time I'm in Koh Samui!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pros - fantastic location its close to the beach and nightlife.

Cons - we were told we were going to get 2 single beds but ended up having to share 1 bed the entire time. Be careful when booking the full moon and countdown party through them as we had heaps of trouble with their organization of taxis and boats. Make sure to book the early boat as it always comes late and you end up with too many people fighting to get onto one boat..

Overall a decent stay, hotel rooms were ok but we only used them to sleep after a night out, the great location made up for the smaller issues.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bull90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 103 in Chaweng
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
COSI Samui Chaweng Beach
#49 of 103 in Chaweng
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#25 of 103 in Chaweng
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 103 in Chaweng
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Chaweng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Chaweng Hotel

Address: 162/49-50 Moo2 Chaweng Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £43 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nora Chaweng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Nora Chaweng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nora Chaweng
Nora Chaweng Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing