We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hugh B
Canberra, Australia

A GOOD PLACE TO RELAX

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2012
We stayed at the Bhundare for 5 nights in Sept and found the staff very friendly and helpful, and responded well if you could say a thankyou, hello and goodnight in Thai. The rooms were comfortable with nice views. The many pools were a definate plus as was the beach area. The umbrellas were somewhat small and there is a need to provide larger ones. Although there were 'golf carts' to transport you on the steep hills, we found the many steps quite difficult to cope with for the elderly or anyone with problem knees. The location of the Resort is a little out of the way from the main Chaweng Beach shopping/restuarant area, but there are regularly 'tuk tuk's' to and from the Resport. The breakfast area was very pleasant and the food provided was of good quality and variety.
Date of stay: September 2012
Room Tip: Rooms on the high side of the road are preferable and if you have a problem with steps avoid the...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this review
Responded 20 Sept 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your concise and kind review towards our hotel. We are glad to note that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£215
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£45
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£170
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£93
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£96
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£82
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
2.0 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • travelup.com
0.1 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £89
  • Algotels
1.2 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    £271
  • Hotels.com
2.3 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Chaweng
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
332
236
118
83
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
236
118
83
83
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We recently stayed at the resort for 10 nights, staff were very friendly and attentative upon arrival, nothing was a problem (carting us to and from our rooms) but standards did slip during our stay. The buffet breakfast was ok for the first few days but did not change or add variety. Also the first few mornings at breakfast we were asked when we arrived if we would like tea or coffee and it was served at our table, but later during our stay we had to ask the staff for coffee with breakfast. We also found the house keeping a little miss, some days we didn't recieve a bathmat in our room our days it was the towels. Would not recommend dining at the resort as the food was over priced and food tasted below average - not to mention the 17% tax. The rooms were nice, with a view.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I was very concerned to learn of the unacceptable level of service which you and your partner experienced while staying with us. Certainly your first experience's reflects our normal level of service which we try to deliver in a personalized and attentive manner.

Naturally I called for a full investigation on all the points you raised and a series of actions and retraining has been put in place to ensure that such inconsistencies do not reoccur.

May I add that I appreciate your feedback, as it has alerted certain failures upon which we can build a more consistent service delivery.

With Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My experience with Bhundari was that if you could speak Thai you would be ok.
Right after arriving i was told i would have to either pay in full or a 10% deposit, despite paying uofront when i booked almost a month before traveling.
The staff at the bars and restaurant were absolutely amazing and friendly, however if you expect house keeping to do their jobs don't bet on it.

As I was checking out my taxi driver got a call saying that the minibar in my fridge needed to be payed, I assumed that staff would do their job and restock the bar and keep a tab, nope.
House keeping don't take out a fruit platter that's been in tropical heat for 10 days.
I see the same rubbish outside for a week, soap scum in the bath, clogged shower, and to top it off the receptionist had the balls to tell me the bathroom was dirty.
House keeping have not cleaned my room for days at a time.

If I wanted to clean my own shower and toilet I would have stayed home, good experience but not great.
Don't expect anything in a hurry they take their time to do anything.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest,

It is with regret to note that you faced unpleasant situations during your stay with us. Your feedback has raised my concern in many areas. I will personally investigate these matters for you and take necessary action to rectify and improve accordingly. Thank you for bringing these issues regarding HK to my attention. I hope you will allow us to provide you better hospitality service next time.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

My family and I are currently staying at the Bhundhari, read the reviews prior to booking. The reviews were generally good with a few bad ones. In our experience this resort is really good, yea it's on a steep hill but the staff are more than happy to drive you to your room. The staff themselves are more than happy to help with any requests you may have, the room is brilliant ( staying in an ocean view suite ) and finally to "A" who runs the restaurants and mix bar, you could not find a more friendly, helpfull staff member anywhere. Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank evelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Your kind words warm our hearts. Thank you for noting of every impressive detail you experience during your stay with us. We are overjoyed that we could enhance your stay and we look forward to providing you a pleasant experience like the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

For us this is a perfect location for living & relaxing. Close to Chaweng Beach of Samui Island and only 10 minutes from Samui Airport. This hotel constructed a villa style over the segment slove of the hill. From the balcony facing to the seaview; it's natural and beautiful. Hotel have mini-shuttle car service from lobby to each villa. The Big Swimming Pool is the high-light of this hotel ; pool constructed two levels and seaview panorama.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tarv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Mr. Trav

Thank you for your review. I noticed that you enjoy our hotel’s facilities and surrounding. We were pleased to accommodate you and hope to welcome you again on your future visit to Koh Samui.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My partner and I visited Koh Samui for a friends wedding in mid-August. We booked Bhundhari on wot if the week before we flew out. We stayed here for 4 nights and thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

We had a deluxe room that was on the top left hand side of the resort, with ocean views from the balcony. We checked in early and staff managed to have a room ready for us after a 5-10min wait. Our room was clean and open. We only had one hiccup with housekeeping during our stay, where we came back to our room at 4pm and it hadn't been cleaned. We called them & they sent someone up immediately which was great!

Because the hotel is on a steep hill there are buggys available for staff to drive guests to their rooms. We are in our mid-twenties, so we enjoyed the walking to our room; but on lazy days the buggy would drop us at the bottom of the stairs, this only saved our legs from the hill not the stairs to our room. I think those with villas were dropped at their doors? If your not keen on stairs, request a room with easier access.

The swimming pool view and the dining area for breakfast had breathtaking views. It was such a relaxing place to be. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide selection to choose from & the dining staff were very friendly. Pool bar staff were quiet slow at times and all drinks and food was as expensive as home (Australia).

The location was about 5mins drive from the busyness of Chaweng, you can get a taxi from the hotel (200baht) or catch a local bus that run frequently (50baht in the day, 100baht in the evening) into town. We hired a scooter for 180baht a day and found it was a much cheaper option.

Free wi-fi was available in the lobby which was helpful for us to keep in contact with our friends who were staying at a hotel down the road and with family back home.

If we ever came back we wouldn't hesitate in booking at the Bhundhari again.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissJessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We are overjoyed to learn that you had a wonderful experience with us, both due to our unique location and our array of hospitality services. We graciously look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews