We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hoa H
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand

I would stay here again..

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2012
BHUNDHARI

What should I say what first staffs? They are terrific, polite and friendly
Room: bed is very comfy and I meant it.
Food: quite expensive but don’t forget Samui is an island nothing cheap.
Service: 5 stars
Bar : I always there so happy hour is your best choice.
Location: not far from Samui’s airport but not close to convenient stores

I would say you would have a perfect experience @ BHUNDHARI that's all try it yourself.

.
Date of stay: October 2012
Room Tip: Hop on Song-Taw is much cheaper than a bike but if you want fully experience then rent a...
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this review
Responded 12 Nov 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Bhundhari Spa Resort & Villa's.

Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£85
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    £107
  • Agoda.com
    £79
  • Expedia.com
    £105
0.1 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£204
  • Priceline
    £188
  • Agoda.com
    £182
  • Trip.com
    £199
0.8 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£42
  • Priceline
    £58
  • Hotels.com
    £39
  • Expedia.com
    £45
0.6 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£96
  • Priceline
    £108
  • Agoda.com
    £89
  • Expedia.com
    £100
1.2 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free parking
Beachfront
£152
  • Expedia.com
    £139
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Priceline
    £130
2.0 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£239
  • Official Site
    £271
  • Agoda.com
    £215
  • Priceline
    £247
2.3 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free parking
Pool
£159
  • Priceline
    £146
  • Agoda.com
    £135
  • Vio.com
    £186
2.1 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£94
  • Priceline
    £94
  • travelup.com
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £94
0.9 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£98
  • Priceline
    £92
  • Vio.com
    £81
  • Expedia.com
    £97
1.4 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
£79
  • Priceline
    £82
  • Agoda.com
    £70
  • Expedia.com
    £76
2.0 miles from Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chaweng
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
332
236
118
83
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
236
118
83
83
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We thought we booked a 5 star resort for our 8 night stay in September, but it lost half a star by the time we arrived!I would rate it an average 4 star.Firstly we paid full price & requested a room with a view but instead we had a view of roof tops of the other rooms.Andrew Jones the manager makes a point to avoid his guest,he never greets his guest when he struts through the lobby in the morning & never makes eye contact which is disappointing as I would have loved to have a chat with him.The resort is far from town & the "resort" tries to rip you off at every turn.Over $10 for a 5 minute drive to the airport.,exorbitant internet prices although they do provide free internet in the lobby where the heat will get you (no fans or aircon) if not the heat you will be eaten by the plague portions of mosquitoes at all times of the day.When we arrived there was no one to even carry the luggage up the stairs to the lobby!But once in the lobby and after checking in there is a golf cart to take you up the steep hill to your room.The rooms are nice with a very comfy bed & nice bathroom but old box TV with limited english programs was a disappointment.You can't sit on the balcony overlooking the roofs because of the mosquito problem.The safe deposit box in the room was out of battery & never worked throughout our stay although we complained it was never fixed. The main pool although very pretty was quite small for the size of resort & the second pool looks like a fountain tiny. The beach is not for swimming as there are sharp objects in the water I cut my feet trying to swim there.It is also very muddy.
The restaurant staff were the only stand out, lovely friendly & nice.The breakfast was expensive but good choice of food.
It was a disappointment for us we expected more for the price paid,we saw many better options when we traveled round the island & would stay elsewhere when we next visit.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank windyhabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for this candid feedback,

I have shared all of this with my team, those areas where I had fallen short and not met your expectations. I am sorry, however insistently asking for a free room upgrade is not within the reception staff's authority. When I greeted you at reception you were very pleasant, you went on to say how you would normally stay in an Anantara Resort, but you loved our resort and would share your experience with your very large number of work colleges once you returned home. Following that you said to me how nice it would be if we were to offer you a free Dinner and Spa therapy!!

I am sorry we were unable to give you everything for free.

We provide a very different experience, small animals, trees, and vegetation all around you, yes some do wonder into your shower, this is part of the experience, we are in nature, our villas are not built from bricks and modern materials, like most other modern classy Anantara hotels they also do not have outdoor showers etc. It’s a shame that travelers unacquainted with a certain product and it's values, then try to insist that all is not good, real time comments on experiences not based on emotion are of a greater value to help us Improve our guest experiences.

Thank you for your comments towards our F&B team they do work exceptionally hard, alternatively I do not understand your comment about our breakfast being expensive as you had booked a deluxe room with breakfast.

Very Kind Regards

Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed for seven nights at the Bhundari and had a really good stay.

The Bhundari is a beautiful hotel set over two sides of a road. We stayed at the higher end near reception. A number of previous reviews have complained about the steepness of the hotel roads but as long as you're not infirm or elderly I thought it was fine.

The location is terrific - about a 10 minute taxi ride to the main resort of Chaweng - always barter with the taxi driver (although you're likely to get it cheaper on the way back than on the way out). The hotel also runs a four times a day bus (80 baht) to and from Chaweng. On one occasion we didn't get picked up and when we mentioned this at the front desk they were very quick to apologise and offered us a free meal at the restaurant which was delicious (more of that later).

The room was nice, the bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great night's sleep there. There's lots of space to hang clothes, and included in the room are plentiful tea and coffee, a kettle, fruit on arrival (but this wasn't cleared away) water is replenished on a daily basis, there's a fridge (but not a mini bar), a safe, a hair dryer and plenty of toiletries. There's also a TV and DVD player. The room also had a balcony with a comfortable long seat so you can relax out of the sun. There's a nice sunken bath and an indoor rainforest style shower.

The hotel itself is very beautiful. There's two really good sized pools at the top of the hotel, they offer great views of the sea but I personally preferred the slightly smaller pool at the bottom of the hotel near the beach which had its own in pool bar which is perfect for having a cocktail and looking out over the beach. The pool bar at the top pool also has a pool table and they show a selection of films in the evening as well.

Cocktails are great value at the hotel with 2 4 1 deals from 1 - 6pm and then again from 9pm in the evening.

I was really impressed by the food. The breakfast buffet (included in the price) was brilliant - there was everything from traditional English, to continental, eggs cooked as you like them, dim sum, Thai style breakfast, french toast etc etc. There's plenty of juices and tea and coffee are served when you sit. You do need to ask the staff to repour if you want more than one.

In the day the pool bars serve either a snack menu (pizza / sandwiches etc) or you can order off the main menu which is used in the evening - we had a variety of different things when there - the seafood sandwich is delicious as was the spaghetti bolognese. When we got our free dinner (because they hadn't picked us up from Chaweng) it was a Thai set meal - it was gorgeous!! We were asked by the head chef whether we wanted spicy or not - we went for spicy and it definitely was - really tasty and probably one of the best meals we had the whole week.

On the Tuesday night we went to their Thai buffet, it cost 690 baht and was all that you could eat - I would definitely recommend doing this - there was a huge amount of choice and with the entertainment they put on it's a nice way to spend the early evening before heading into town.

On other days the Bay restaurant has a nice band singing cover songs - it was a shame there weren't many people to listen to them, (probably wrong time of year) but sometimes felt a little awkward if there was only two or three tables and the singer trying to engage - not her fault.

There is a gym on site - has one running machine, a cycle, a cross trainer and an all in one weights machine - there is a spa but we couldn't get into it as it was fully booked. There is a place to sort out excursions, we did one which was ok, we probably could have organised a better one ourselves but to be fair it wasn't a hotel specific tour.

Free Wi-fi is available in reception and at the bar / restaurant areas but you have to pay for it in your room so be careful of that - I'm not sure why it's like that. The standard of English with the staff can be quite poor and you're forever having to point things out on the menus, but in fairness they do try.

We also had a 20% discount on all food and drink included in our deal but rather than just delete 20% off the final bill you had to tell the staff every single time that you had that discount which invariably meant them having to change the receipt every time (you sign every time you have something rather than running up a tab) or if you forgot then you had to pay full price, so that could be quite annoying so if they could change that that would be great.

There is free airport transfers.

However, overall it's a beautiful hotel, with fantastic views, it was very cheap, both the booking and whilst we were there, the staff are very friendly and want to help and I would definitely recommend staying here - just a couple of tweaks and this really could be a high standard hotel.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Terri,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experiences of our resort, It is so nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay here at Bhundhari Spa Resort & Villa's.

Regarding our staff's level of English it does vary in level in different departments, to resolve this we have just employed a full time English teacher as to improve all staff ability throughout the Resort.

We look forward in welcoming you back on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The staff here were very friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate you. It's about half an hour's walk to Lamai but there are taxi's available (although be prepared to barter!). A lovely, relaxing place with great food and a fantastic pool - I'd definetly come back.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank queenie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words, our staff are always very happy to here that they have exceeded guest expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have recently stayed here for 10 nights. We stayed in a pool villa, which after a day out was much appreciated. Our room was spacious, the bed really comfortable and air con worked well. We loved the outdoor shower.

We spent time at the restaurant and enjoyed the entertainment. The staff are all very nice and went out of their way to accommodate all requests.

We were pleased to be just out of Chewang Beach as was busy with the full moon party.

We had a couple of massages at the Spa and was very impressed with the level of service.

We would recommend this Resort to anyone thinking of going.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs H,

Your kind words warm our hearts. Thank you for noting of every impressive detail you experience during your stay with us. We are overjoyed that we could enhance your stay and we look forward to providing you with an equally pleasant experience like this previous one.

It was an absolute pleasure making your acquaintance.
We will stay in touch via Bhundhari facebook.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here on the second part of our honeymoon, we compared this place with the first place we stayed at A LOT and we were disappointed. We arrived, everyone else received a refreshment drink.... We didn't. The English was poor amongst a majority of the staff. We had a number of problems in our room and trying to communicate this was difficult. The kettle was broken on arrival and they were trying to charge us for it but eventually they came around. We ordered room service on a number of occasions and asked to have NO CHILLI.. Chilli was added. The crossing man was very lovely and told us where to go and what to do, and also the manager Andrew was great and gave us advice regarding hiring scooters. I liked that this place had scooters to hire, made it hassle free.

The rooms themselves were nice, although could have been cleaner, there was mould in the villa pool in the grout, and mould on the outside chairs and umbrella . They supplied two bottles of water, most other places supply 4. The villas are placed on a hill, and in the heat the heat is a killer, However they do provide caddys but you have to call and sometimes you have to wait for them for a while.

We had an incident where housekeeping took the card out of the socket so we had no elecTricity, when we called front reception we spoke with a man by the name of "arsen" or something like that, and he was very rude and impatient, this also put a bitter taste in our mouth.

The buffet breakfast was really nice, and good service. Most other resorts have free wifi, there is free wifi here only in the lobby which is a hell of a climb up the hill. you had to pay extra to have wifi in your room. This is a nice place, but nothing compared to where we stayed in Chiangmai, the English was poor compared also and the service needs to be improved. Overall, our experience was average, and I don't believe this is a 5 star.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank Emilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMBRS, Manager at Bhundhari Resort & Villas Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Feedback of this nature is very important to us at the hotel as without it we cannot improve the service levels that we offer. I was disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed elements of your stay with us.

Regarding our staff's ability to speak and understand English, we have just employed a full time English teacher. In order to improve every departments English ability, however due to the wide range of different English dialects, it can be difficult for our staff to understand sometimes.

At the reception we do have staff that are multilingual.

I do hope you will concider staying with us again so we are able to show you our continuous improvements throughout the entire hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews