We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean compact bungalows”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nid's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nid's Bungalows
Beauty Point, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“clean compact bungalows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

bungalows are clean and good value for money, only downside being that it is a bit far from the action but nid hires motorbikes at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashell609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    33
    14
    8
    15
See reviews for
6
25
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Will write the negative about this place first as I would like to leave on a positive note. When we arrived Nid (the owner) was very friendly towards us and we had a few beers. For some reason after the first night her attitude changed. We stayed there for 11 days. We asked repeatedly for Nid to arrange Full Moon tickets and were told no problem but after constant asking we got our own. We didn't use internet much as it involved finding someone with a key. When reading the website it sounded perfection but when we got there the bar, restaurant, pool table etc were closed due to the fact that it was low season. Something which should have been told to us as this was one of the reasons we booked here. Its about a 10 minute walk to the shops for food and to the beach (which is not really a problem) but might be for some. There is no catamaran as stated on the website and organising tours etc is not an option here. Nid also said she would cook for us and bring us to the market but this didn't happen and we didn't push it as trying to organise tickets was a big enough ordeal. After reading reviews on the website am wondering why Nid didn't help us out with any organising. When we asked about tours etc, it was like we were bothering her. Having said all that, this place is a nice place to stay. There is a great restaurant around the corner, St. Tropez and any tours we sorted out we got picked up from there. The grounds of the guesthouse are GORGEOUS. Full of flowers, trees and butterflies, very peaceful. The staff here are just great and we had clean towels and bedsheets every day. Every morning we were brought fresh fruit, water and sweetcorn and it was a lovely setting to have your breakfast. We were the only ones staying there for most of the time and if your looking for peace and relaxation away from the maddness then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Specialk-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Nid's Bungalows, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
We wish to thank you for your generous comments about our gardens, clean bungalows and daily water and fresh fruit from the market. As you mentioned from reviews you have read, Nid's Bungalows takes pride in giving our guests personal service for use of the facilities, meals and drinks, and arrangements for travel tickets and tours.
On this occasion, although you were the only guests at the time during the low season, unfortunately we had a staff shortage due to illness, and perhaps there was also some misunderstanding as a result of language difficulties. For this we apologise and we will take steps to avoid this problem in future.
With respect to the catamaran, we are not aware of advertising such on any website, and would appeciate advice as to which website makes mention of this.
Thank you again for your recommendation and we do hope you come and visit us again.
Nid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Greeted with friendly staff and fruit platters, staying Nid's Bungalows made staying in Samui a treat. Easy walking distance from the Chaeweng Beach and main street, markets and nightlife. The room was impeccable for 500 Baht each, three of us got air conditioning, clean towells ever day and room cleaning, hot water, a veranda. Cheap internet and laundry available on site as well as traditional home cooking thai-styles. For planning trips to the neighboring islands or any activities on samui we only had to ask and Nid would get onto the phones and organise everything for the absolute best prices. The staff genuinly cared, and personally went out of their way to ensure everything was ok. When we return to thailand we will definately be returning to nid's and reccomending it to all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soppia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

The bungalows are comfortable and clean. The price is good for Samui. Nid is really friendly and helpful.

The downside is the location. The bungalows are quite a long walk from Chaweng's main street. You have to go down a long deserted street, then along a path between the lake and the back fences of other houses. It's quite isolated and quite a long walk.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_Ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#24 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeky Monkey's
Cheeky Monkey's
#7 of 72 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nid's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nid's Bungalows

Property: Nid's Bungalows
Address: 3/173 Moo 2 T. Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nid's Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nid's Bungalows is family-owned and managed, offering cool, private and tasteful accommodation in the Thai-style, located centrally on the shore of Chaweng Lake in the Chaweng Beach tourist area, only 10 minutes from Samui airport and 5 minutes from Chaweng Beach. To serve the international traveller, Nid's Bungalows offers a range of accommodation options, from new and superior levels of accommodation to a new and spacious 8-bunk Dorm for the solo traveller or value-conscious group. Nid has made the lush gardens around the bungalows and swimming pool a feature of the Resort. The Resort offers a large lap pool and sun deck, bar and games area, free WiFi and laundry facilities. Guests who stay with us are able to share Nid's love of animals, gardening and cooking. We make every effort to consider the environment by careful use of electricity and resources, and we grow some of our own vegetables and herbs where possible. Nid loves and takes care of many animals and, if you wish, you can make friends with them during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nid's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nid`s Bungalows Hotel Chaweng
Nid's Bungalows Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing