We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
288
265
119
47
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
265
119
47
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean pool villapool accesssea viewocean frontquiet end of chawenghotel is locatedmain poolpool barsouth endspa bathhappy hourstayed daysmain partfour nightsmin walklarge bathroomtravel agent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I traveled alone was there for 7 nights. food was excellent, service great - was close to everything. Staff very helpful. Room was very clean - will go back there, Nothing was a bother to the staff - no one was rude.. they made me feel very welcome and not alone and spoke to me when they were not busy. They were interested in me as a person not just as a tourist. Happy to answer any of my questions. Advised me where to go and what to see. I had the best time just relaxing as I had been touring in Vietnam from top to bottom and was exhausted and just wanted to relax and not to do too much. Just to lie by pool or go to beach and work on my tan and enjoy their beautiful cocktails.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tigerlady1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madame


Warmest greeting from Samui Resotel Beach resort

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel, I am certainly very happy to learn that your holiday with us are memorandum and nicely.

During stay with us should we have any inconvenience please do apologized we will continuously maintain our policies as same as.


Once again please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience and I do hope that the reminder of your trip back home was most enjoyable.

Should you have any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards;

Siriporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I travelled with 3 friends to Samui Resotel for 3 nights. After reading some previous reviews I was a bit concerned however it was perfect!
It was clean, quiet and in a good location - south of the busy chaweng strip but still in waking distance.
The pool was beautiful, the breakfast was great and the service was amazing.
The little 'Thai Food' place opposite had the best food - traditional thai and super cheap & tasty! It might look a bit dodgy but when you try the food you will want to head back again like we did!
Also if you are after a beauty salon / massage palour then Thai Thai are great too! Literally about 1 min walk away :)
All in all a great holiday destination!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madame


Warmest greeting from Samui Resotel Beach resort

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel, I am certainly very happy to learn that your holiday with us are memorandum and nicely.

During stay with us should we have any inconvenience please do apologized we will continuously maintain our policies as same as.


Once again please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience and I do hope that the reminder of your trip back home was most enjoyable.

Should you have any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.


Best Reagrds;

Siriporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. IT was a last minute booking because we added 2 more nights to our trip. We booked the cheapest room available and considering that i think the room had a good view from the 3rd floor. The amenities were decent and clean probably because our expectations were low. But we had a comfortable stay. The door kept whining every time we got out - seems there seems to be something wrong with the lock system. That was kinda annoying. The breakfast spread was average quality. The beach here is really good though it was quite windy and high tide when we visited. Pool wasn't really great. I don't think it was clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear sir/madame


Warmest greeting from Samui Resotel Beach resort

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel, I am certainly very happy to learn that your holiday with us are memorandum and nicely.

During stay with us should we have any inconvenience please do apologized we will continuously maintain our policies as same as.


Once again please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience and I do hope that the reminder of your trip back home was most enjoyable.

Should you have any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.


Best reagrds;

Siriporn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have noticed that after all the negative feedback this hotel recieves, that the management sends the same reply out to all patrons. The management of this hotel is rude, especially Jack who was rude and insisted on taking money. Your rude service, your lack of caring and attitude was disgusting. I want everyone to be aware of this hotel, as it is run down, and do not believe the pictures on the internet that the hotel themselves have put up. Everything is old, run down, rusted and mould. They will charge you for anything they can and do not care. Be aware when booking this resort, there is plenty more better and cheaper resorts on koh samui. The management made my wife cry on our honeymoon, and ruined our koh samui holiday. They took money from our accounts, and were rude when talking to them, spoke Thai and acted like they did not know what we were talking about. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Domros14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From the moment we stepped in the foyer of this place I knew it would be an unforgettable experience and NOT in a good way!! Firstly we were told our accommodation had not been paid in full due to an error on their end and they expected us to fork out extra money for their mistake! What the?? All water features surrounding the "resort" were not functioning with dirty tiles visible and hoses sticking out at every turn! Once we finally were showed to our room, I was absolutely disgusted at the state of our private pool which had sand and leaves at the bottom and a light hanging off the wall as well as noisy jets which didn't turn off! And it just got worse! As honeymooners we were not impressed to see 2 single beds in our room! So safe to say the images on their website must have been taken at least 10 years early! All outdoor furniture had really obvious water and weather damage! It was TRAGIC!!! we asked to be upgraded due to unsatisfactory conditions and were told we would need to pay! After being told no, no and no we asked to cancel our booking as we did not want to stay in such an ugly, dirty and rundown place with terrible service! We were again told you need to still pay for 2 nights as this is the "law" what a joke! We then asked to speak with the resort manager only to be told by a bald headed man who claimed to be the front desk manager that he was the only person we could deal with! The staff were so rude and unhelpful and kept talking another language when we asked for anything! Our first night in Koh Samui ended with my wife in tears!!!! This place is a disgrace, dirty and totally disrespectful to their paying customers! I will never return to this place if someone paid me!!!!!! Absolutely terrible! ! Liars who haveono customer services skills whateso ever!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RosDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Value Customer

Warmest greeting from Samui Resotel Beach resort.


Thank you very much for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel, I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been .Due to after we were talk together and find solution that by checking with the bank and connot find any double charge as we were tell you since today i did not get any statment from your side.I very sorry for miss understanding due to our deposite policies is only 50% before arrive will be change is not 100% charge as should not be happend in case if we remind one more time before arrive.

However, i would like to apologized on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay are not memorandam in case if i knew that you are not happy for the room during you stay we can move to other room types as we already show you upon arrive.

Once again please do accept my apologies and hope that the remainder of your trip back home was most enjoyable.

Should you have any further assistance please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews