We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We arrived home yesterday(22/3/13) after 11 nights at the Sareeraya so this report is being written with everything still fresh in the memory.


Location

Situated at the north end of Chewang which is more quieter and only a ten minute walk into the main strip which was more busier.

Check-in

We arrived in the late afternoon so are room ready for us so we only had the normal check-in formalities to follow, our bags were taken directly to our room. Check-in was smooth with no issues.

Room

We stayed in suite 309 on the 3rd floor, room was a good size, lots of space, clean. I read a few reports of the rooms being too small but I personally cannot agree with that. The outside deck/balcony had another bed to lay on and chill and take in the view of the sea. Another plus side of being on the north block was that the balconies could not been seen from the beach or pool area unlike the other block.

Food/Restaurant (chef's Table)

On the days that we did make it to breakfast we had no complaints, firstly you're sitting overlooking the sea/pool to start with! The restaurant caters for almost everyone, from Asian breakfast to a western one. The Chef will cook you anything that has an egg in it and anyway you want it! Waffles to Eggs benedict it was there to be cooked, you ougl also choose from - sausages, bacon, fried tomatoes, Cold meats, croissants, pastries, Cheeses, freshly cut fruit, smoothies (Banana was a favorite), fresh juices, cereals. I defy someone not to find something here!

As for Dinner we never actually ate in the restaurant but did have lunch around the pool and Room service and the food was fine, green curries, dried Red King Prawn Curry, Pad Thai, Satay Chicken and vegetable spring rolls being our favorites.


Pool/Beach area

Plenty of beds and towels for everyone, did make me laugh how some people still felt the need to get down early a reserve a spot, this was not necessary. In the first week there was just enough people there not to feel overcrowded in the small pool but in the second week the introduction of a few families meant the pool was often crowded and noisy. Beach area was ok, cleaned every day, sea was safe to swim in and warm although if you take a few minutes’ walk either side of the hotel had clearer waters.


Staff/Service

Cannot fault the staff in any shape, everyone was friendly and there to service you. Pool boys certainly deserved their tips!

Transit Room

Clean, air condition, lockers for your valuables. Well worth it if you have a late flight!

Negatives - The only real negative we had was the clientele, there were individuals/families who had no respect was the staff or anyone else having a holiday. Personally I think this hotel would be more suited to a couple’s only resort.

Room Tip: Get the hotel to pick you up at the airport, same price as taxi and much quicker. If you're in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav8672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Gav8672,

Many thanks for your excellent review. We are delighted to note that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us and that we succeeded to meet your expectations in so many aspects. Our rooms are very spacious and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the perfect location our hotel offers.

Our hotel mostly caters to honeymooners and couples, as we do not have kids club on site or any other activities available for children. However, holiday seasons always tend to attract more families than usual.

Nevertheless, thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    197
    61
    25
    22
See reviews for
131
518
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Our fourth visit to Thailand we decided to have a break at a smaller boutique hotel.
Sareeraya was perfect.
We stayed on the third floor which enjoyed a beautiful view. On arrival which was early we were offered a downstairs pool access room as a complimentary upgrade.
We preferred the view so waited. Not disappointed.
Our room was beautiful, very well appointed with a great double day bed on the balcony which was very private.
The breakfast next to the beach was lovely ( need to get a better orange juice as I didn't like the one you have)
Pool great...the whole hotel was visually magnificent.
Not too far to walk to al the action.
One problem which is not the hotels fault was the dirty water just outside the hotel. The sand is cleaned every morning but the water is uncap pealing and with some nasty unseen sharp rocks...ouch !
All in all we loved it and the staff....nothing was a problem
Nearly forgot the nice little touch's of thongs sunhat and beach bag....very well done.
Highly recommended

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trouter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Trouter1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sareeraya Villas & Suites and for taking the time to post your wonderful review of your recent stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed all the various aspects of your visit, especially the accommodation and the breakfast.

During the summer months, the water sea level is usually lower than average and limits swimming possibilities around Koh Samui. The water is not dirty however; it simply reflects the color of the light brown sand underneath the water.

All in all, thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Mostly good, and has potential. The quirks were
1) Breakfast was very good for the price, with an excellent view
2) rooms were very very large
3) bathroom was extremely large
4) Beautiful rooftops and gardens - when it rains, it's very breathtaking, like a scene from a movie. Not many places has this romantic rain-gazing effect on me.
5) for chaweng standards, a very nice overall communal feel with a beautiful view of the beach

There were a few minor things that did make me say that value was not fantastic, but rather fair is that 1) most places that charge $200USD in low season would have sheets that feel crisp. Here, they were definitely damp, and a little soft.
2) The gym was very tiny, and you have to cross the busy road for it. As well as their Spa centre
3) Rooms felt damp, a little old, dark, and barren. Quality of decor was not entirely there for the price.
4) The waiting room downstairs wasnt not very pleasant at all... no windows, very claustrophobic, and we were left to wait in there for almost an hour, after being made to wait upstairs for almost half an hour. yet we did not arrive earlier than our estimated time of arrival. BUt it may be because it was very busy that day

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iLiveToLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear iLiveToLive,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sareeraya Villas & Suites whilst in Koh Samui and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to learn that your stay with us was mostly good and that you in particular enjoyed our views, breakfast and the small boutique feel of our resort.

We regret that you did not find our rooms and room décor to be up to your standards. The rooms does get dark when the sun starts to set, however, the lights create a cozy, warm atmosphere in the rooms. We would also like to let you know that our bed sheets are 300 thread count cotton.

Our gym is equipped with a variety of modern facilities and different workout options, including cardiovascular and strength training equipment and exercise mats and balls, and it fulfills the needs of most of our guests. You are right the spa and the gym are located on the other side of the road, however, our security guards are on standby to assist our guests to cross the road.

We guarantee check-in time at 2pm and while we are happy to accommodate early check-in when we can, it is normally out of our control, as we rely on the check-out time (latest at 12 noon) of our departing guests to determine when rooms are able to be prepared for the new guest. Informing us of your arrival time beforehand helps us to allocate guest rooms upon arrival more efficiently, however, it does not guarantee an early check-in.

Whilst our transit lounge is located on the ground floor of our main building, it is equipped with bathrooms with showers and bathroom amenities, TV, daily newspaper, computers with Internet and comfy sofa chairs for our guests to relax in. It is a good option for those, who prefer staying inside with an air-conditioner to waiting at our open air lobby, pool or restaurant.

All in all, many thanks again for staying with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at Sareeraya for 6 nights on our honeymoon and it was a great location to be on in Koh Samui. We wanted to be close enough to restaurants, bars and shops but far enough away to get some peace and quiet. Sareeraya was the best location for that. A ten min walk to the main part of Chaweng, or 50 Baht per person in a shared taxi. It’s on a lovely part of the beach and while the beach isn’t private or owned by the hotel, it’s quiet. There is good security at the beach/pool area too to ensure that only guests use the facilities. This meant that our belongings were safe left by our sun lounger when we went for a stroll along the beach. The pool area is nice, no shortage of loungers and plenty of beach tennis sets to borrow too. The swim up bar is good, always staffed and the cocktails are excellent!
Breakfast is good, nice selection. We never ate in the restaurant in the evening, but we did have the beach buffet one night which was great, the staff were good and the food was excellent. Very good value for money, especially if you’re hungry!
Our room was very nice, huge, with a nice bathroom and we had a pool access room. We did request this room, but I wish we had chosen a room with a Jacuzzi bath on the balcony instead. The pool access rooms are on the ground floor and are quite dark as there is no view, just a concrete wall. It’s also not private, as we lay on our deck there were both staff walking by and people from adjacent rooms swimming up to our room. There is also a lot of traffic noise from the road.
Check in was good, and quick, we were given garlands, cold towels and drinks and the overview of our room and facilities was very good. The beach bag and hats were a nice touch and proved useful.
We were disappointed that we had no wifi in our room and mentioned this to staff on a number of occasions but nothing was done. We asked for a free airport transfer to make up for this and after a bit of back and forth the hotel finally agreed.
This is a nice hotel, maybe a little rough around the edges making it fall short of 5*

Room Tip: Not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Flossykins,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for the good review. We are glad to know that you were happy with our accommodations, services and convenient location. We are really fortunate to be located on the quieter Northern part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance of a vast range of shops, restaurants and nightlife.

Our Pool Access rooms are ideal for guests wanting direct access to the pool from their room, however, they do not have views as you mention as they are located on the ground floor of our three story building. As the pool is shared, it probably has a little less privacy than other room types, nevertheless, it is still very much liked by our guests due to the convenience of the pool, Jacuzzi and the outdoor shower. Perhaps on your next visit, you could try one of the suites on the second or third floor, or one of our pool villas with a private Jacuzzi plunge pool.

We offer complimentary WIFI in the rooms and in all public areas of our resort for the convenience of our guests and apologize for the weak signal and internet connection failure in your room. The problem occurred nearby your room and unfortunately took us a little longer than expected to fix it. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please note that we have already rectified the issue and are also currently on process of upgrading our system. We are confident that you will experience the difference on your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at the Sareeraya last May/June 2012 and our trip could not have been any more perfect! We were in Thailand for 3 weeks, 2 of which were spent here as we were getting married at a private villa on the other side of the island- subsequently we had family and guests staying with us, all who have been nothing but complimentary towards the staff and facilities.

We opted for the pool villa (overlooking the pool/beach) as we were there for such a special occasion and upon arrival found that our suite had been beautifully decorated with rose petals and complimentary bottle of sparkling wine left on ice for us!

Pool was beautiful, breakfast yummy (especially the eggs benedict!) cocktails superb and the staff were wonderful to both us and all of our guests.... Three days before checkout, the hotel Manager greeted us in the lobby to offer us the Presidential suite for the remainder of our stay, a thoughtful touch to end our already wonderful time with Sareeraya!

We have recommended this hotel to any friends who have/are visiting Koh Samui and we hope to return one day- just the two of this time though!!!

Thank you to all the team at the Sareeraya for making our wedding stay a once in a lifetime experience <3

Room Tip: Pool villa with sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear LivingVentures,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Sareeraya Villas & Suites last May/June and providing such a wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the service, the facilities and the restaurant. Glad you also liked the surprise room upgrade. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 9nights for our 30th wedding anniversary and to relax after our daughters wedding 2 days prior. On arrival we had rose petals in our bath, a rose petal heart on our bed and a bottle of champagne. It rained for our first 2 days so we spent a lot of time in our room, swimming in our private courtyard pool, watching free DVDs supplied at the hotel and even a visit at the free gym. The breakfast was excellent each morning and the view across the white sandy beaches welcoming. It's location was perfect being within walking distance to shops but far enough away to be private and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Susan H,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your special anniversary break with us and that you found our hotel services and facilities excellent. The location of our hotel is ideal, we are set on the quieter northern part of Chaweng beach within walking distance of a vast range of shops, restaurants and nightlife. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband and I were married last month at the Sareeraya. We wanted the intimate setting of a boutique resort that had the flavor of Thailand. We could not have been more pleased with our experience. Our wedding coordinator, Parichat, was an absolute dream to work with. She was extremely professional and followed up on every detail. The staff was friendly and attentive. Our guests flew in from Paris, Shanghai, and New York. This was a group that were accustomed to luxury resorts and they were delighted with their experience at the Sareeraya. Everyone said it was the best wedding they had ever attended. The boutique atmosphere is relaxed and because of the small size, the staff is able to cater to your individual needs. We stayed in one if the pool villas which was spacious and luxurious. The outdoor shower was a delight. We look forward to staying there again on our next trip to Koh Samui! Many thanks to the GM, Pius Luechinger, our Sales and Event Manager, Parichat Choosuwan, and the rest of the hotel team for making this unforgettable memory for us. Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Monique B,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review. All of us here at Sareeraya Villas & Suites enjoyed planning and executing your wedding and we are beyond thrilled it was everything you wanted and more. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special day. We wish you a lifetime of happiness and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.2 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Property: Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing