We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice resort - but there is better on Samui.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A nice resort - but there is better on Samui.”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Just finished a 4 night stay in a third floor jacuzzi suite. The room was nice enough but had no "wow factor". The resort is clean and the service as in most parts of Thailand is very good, they always try and go that little bit further for you. The pool area is nice and a bit small but the ocean is at your doorstep if you prefer.

The property has no SPA but there are many around the hotel so this was not too much of a concern. The pool bar is quite nice with the ability to sit back having a drink whilst watching the ocean but this comes at a cost. Even by Samui standards the drinks were expensive. The happy hour in the afternoon at least gives some reprieve as it is 2 for 1. The hotel has a great location, still on Chaweng but far enough from the hustle and bustle to relax and get away..

The breakfast was average and just doesn't match up with similar priced resorts in Thailand. We only had breakfast two of the four days.

One good touch is that they have a transit lounge for departing guests where there is 2 computers with "free" internet, a tv, his/hers shower facilities and a lounge area to relax in whilst waiting for an afternoon or evening flight..

When you walk down the beach you get to see some other resorts and by my comparisons with costs, features etc I believe the LIBRARY would be the better choice. Nice but could be so much better, especially for the price.

Worth considering but don't book just yet.

The bed was very hard, actually one of the hardest I have had on my travels and it was not conducive to a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    204
    62
    26
    23
See reviews for
141
544
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I didn't stay in this hotel but I paid a visit to the villa's restaurant. Ended up they provided a over-priced set dinner consisted mainly of tofu and vegetables. And the tofu in the soup was actually cold. In the middle of dinner we found the restaurant staffs settled for dinner two tables away from us, happily chatting. There is no other customer on the spot except us. I suppose the very poor quality of food and service explained everything.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aliroma80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We feel uncomfortable, that your dining experience in Chef's Table didn't live up to your expectations. However, we would like to correct, that we have a variety of meats and seafood to choose from in our menu. Furthermore, our menu and brochures state clearly how much each set dinner costs. Our prices are not higher than in other same level restaurants or resorts.

We are surprised to hear, that tofu in your soup had been cold, because we pay a great attention to the quality of the food we serve. However, if you had mentioned this to one of our staff members, which I assume you didn't, we could have given you the service you needed and prepared you another portion. Our staff is well trained and they do their most to keep the guests happy. In addition, our waiting staff is not allowed to eat at the restaurant. Maybe you saw our managers having dinner, but that couldn't have affected the service, because there are waiters in the restaurant at all times.

Overall, thank you for taking time to write your comments about our restaurant. We are happy to welcome you back!

Elisa Korpivuoma
Customer Relationship Assistant
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at the Sareeraya for 6 days and loved every minute! The hotel was beautiful and perfect in every way. We stayed in the pool villa - although it was a bit on the expensive side, we had decided to splurge, and it was well worth it. Very private, beautifully appointed, and very luxurious. Service was great, staff very warm and helpful at all times. Hotel is located at northern, quieter end of Chaweng which we really liked. Close enough to the action but very quiet and peaceful. We loved our private dip pool, deck, and outdoor shower. Also loved the semi-private pool which could only be accessed by our villa and a few suites with pool access. Beautiful clean beach with a security guard posted at all times so didn't have to worry about leaving things behind if go into water or take a walk along the beach. All in all, a wonderful hotel which we recommend highly. We hope we get the opportunity to go back there again some day!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarita711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We moved here after being disappointed with a 5 star hotel. We checked out many hotel and this seemed to be a good choice of what was available. The staff were nice - even if service was hit and miss. The rooms and the view were nice. A good location but certainly not a 5 star hotel. If you can't get into a good hotel in St Chewang stay here. the beach is not great, breakfast was nice

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I stayed at the Sareeraya in December / January for 10 nights with my boyfriend. From the minute we were met at the airport the service was fantastic, the driver had cold towels and water. Upon arrival at the hotel the greeting was amazing, fresh flower garlands, more drinks and a free room upgrade to a villa with plunge pool (we had booked jacuzzi suite). The room was fabulous, with the biggest bed I have ever seen! indoor jacuzzi bath, indoor and outdoor showers and an outdoor plunge pool, over 100 sq ft of space!
The food was also exceptional, at breakfast there was everything you could want to eat including traditional Thai and English food, mostly buffet style but also chefs waiting to cook fresh eggs, crepes etc. The lunch and dinner was equally as lovely, and also very reasonably priced, especially for Thai with a curry costing around £5, western menu also available.
The hotel hosted a gala dinner for new year which was again amazing and included entertainment and fireworks! Lots of fireworks!!
The location of the hotel was perfect for us, right on the beach and at the notehern side of Chaweng in a very peaceful location, yet only a 5 minute walk to the main resort and busy streets of Chaweng.
Whist on Koh Samui we ate at some awesome restaurants, including Full Moon at the Anantara hotel Bo Phut, Coco rock in Chaweng and the highlight, Dining on the Rocks at Six Senses Hideaway hotel, which was a culinary and visual delight and a must for those who don't mind paying a little extra for a first class dining experience.
We also went to see Muay Thai boxing, trekked on elephants, visited a waterfall, had Thai cooking lessons (in the hotel)...and we thoroughly loved all of these experiences. The only activity we did and did not enjoy was a private speed boat trip to Ang Thong national park (the islands that inspired the book The Beach). The islands themselves were fantastic, however the journey there and back was horrendous as the sea was so rough. On the return journey we actually stopped at the first opportunity and got a taxi back to the hotel! This trip is our only regret...and cost £400!! We regretted it even more when we got to Krabi where the sea was really calm and private boat hire cost a tenth of the price!!
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would happily go back time and time again! We used trip advisor to help us chose this hotel and we were not disappointed in any area at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkSmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We are just back from our honeymoon in Koh Samui and our stay at the Sareeraya. We stayed in the Front-Beach Pool Villa. The hotel is ideally located on Chaweng, close to all the bars/nightlife North Chaweng can offer and far enough so that you are not bothered by the noise. The beach is white sand and the water is warm and rahter clear - though I would not recommend it for snorkeling. The hotel food is great even though the breakfast can be further improved. The furniture at the Sareeraya is very new but the quality of the material used is not top notch, like other 5 stars so it was a bit disappointing on that front. The front-beach pool villas are great (jacuzzi, outdoor showers...) but lack a bit of privacy in the sense that if you want to hang out on your private deck, other guests can still see you...The service at the Sareeraya is fine but then again, not 5 stars. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Sareeraya and can recommend it but we would say it is a solid 4 1/2 stars that need to improve its service and furniture a bit to be a true 5 stars...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtrip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Property: Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing