We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit and then a re-visit!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“Worth a visit and then a re-visit!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Having never been to Thailand before, we have been telling people we now meet if they haven't been to go as a value for money holiday destination you can't beat it.
The hotel was very nice & far enough away from the main centre of town, clean and well presented in all of the public areas, the staff were extremley friendly & helpfull even to the point of going out to get a birthday cake for my sister as a surprise, they got candles for us and even sang to her which we thought was very sweet. The buffet breakfast was varied & plentifull, there was also a good selection of hot items cooked to order. The Head Chef was very visible & seen at least once or twice a day during food service times & was happy to make conversation with the guests.
The pool & sunlounge area was extremely clean & tidy with plenty of towels available to spend time relaxing or wandering into the sea which was just a few steps away. There were plenty of restaurants along the beach serving a good variety of food & drinks, many a happy hour spent in the "Bob Marley" themed bar just a few yards along the beach.
On the whole couldn't have been more welcoming & relaxing!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofHodgie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    197
    61
    25
    22
See reviews for
131
520
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
French Riviera
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

My wife and I spent 5 nights in a 3rd floor Sareeraya suite early February. Not sure why it is called a suite since it is composed of 1 large room plus a bathroom. In addition as mentioned by others the access to this room is from on outdoor corridor which leaves all the traffic noise come in. This did not bother us at night as the hotel is a 5 minute walk from downtown and the neighboring sidewalks are rolled up around 11-midnight. It seems strange that they would not put glass windows in the corridor for isolation or even a double door in the room like for executive conference rooms. Finally as I have started out with the negatives the last one a need to mention is the sea or more specifically the lagoon in front of the hotel. Indeed there is a barrier some 700-800 feet out which leaves no more than 8 or 9 feet to swim in. As there are also rocks under the surface (that is why you can see some darker colors) if you swim over them you are bound like me to scrape your knee. That is why no-one swims in front of the hotel.
Enough with the negatives. The hotel is recent and modern, the room spacious with a window and curtain separating the shower from the room and ... the fantastic sea view. This prompted our choice of this hotel and we weren't disappointed. I have attached some pics to share this. Second great feature is the restaurant. The German chef can always be seen either in the kitchen or talking to some of the guests. This is how I found out that during his international career he worked at a Michelin 2* restaurant on the french riviera. So yes we did have a number of meals in the hotel rather than systematically go into town. We could not fault the breakfast either.
The hotel service was irregular but generally at high Thai standards with some "weakness" at the reception.
Finally I would like to state that one of our main reasons for staying next to Chaweng was to avoid the mosquitoes.We had noticed on a previous trip that Chaweng is always windy which was not the case further north at Choeng Mun Beach. Last year at Six Senses the mosquitoes feasted on us whereas this year we were left in peace.
Well enough said to help other travelers make their choice. Based on the pros & cons listed above I would rate this hotel as a 4* without hesitation and will return unless we come across a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Went here for my 50th had a fantastic time, Stayed in a pool suite no complaints bathroom great, breakfast excellent, Restaurant great fews. Chef excellent one of the best places to be in Koh Sumai. Staff were magical very freindly and new you well by second day on what you liked. Coffee fresh and always plenty. Plenty of room to sunbake on beach not crowded like so many on the beach front.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Just finished a 4 night stay in a third floor jacuzzi suite. The room was nice enough but had no "wow factor". The resort is clean and the service as in most parts of Thailand is very good, they always try and go that little bit further for you. The pool area is nice and a bit small but the ocean is at your doorstep if you prefer.

The property has no SPA but there are many around the hotel so this was not too much of a concern. The pool bar is quite nice with the ability to sit back having a drink whilst watching the ocean but this comes at a cost. Even by Samui standards the drinks were expensive. The happy hour in the afternoon at least gives some reprieve as it is 2 for 1. The hotel has a great location, still on Chaweng but far enough from the hustle and bustle to relax and get away..

The breakfast was average and just doesn't match up with similar priced resorts in Thailand. We only had breakfast two of the four days.

One good touch is that they have a transit lounge for departing guests where there is 2 computers with "free" internet, a tv, his/hers shower facilities and a lounge area to relax in whilst waiting for an afternoon or evening flight..

When you walk down the beach you get to see some other resorts and by my comparisons with costs, features etc I believe the LIBRARY would be the better choice. Nice but could be so much better, especially for the price.

Worth considering but don't book just yet.

The bed was very hard, actually one of the hardest I have had on my travels and it was not conducive to a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I didn't stay in this hotel but I paid a visit to the villa's restaurant. Ended up they provided a over-priced set dinner consisted mainly of tofu and vegetables. And the tofu in the soup was actually cold. In the middle of dinner we found the restaurant staffs settled for dinner two tables away from us, happily chatting. There is no other customer on the spot except us. I suppose the very poor quality of food and service explained everything.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aliroma80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We feel uncomfortable, that your dining experience in Chef's Table didn't live up to your expectations. However, we would like to correct, that we have a variety of meats and seafood to choose from in our menu. Furthermore, our menu and brochures state clearly how much each set dinner costs. Our prices are not higher than in other same level restaurants or resorts.

We are surprised to hear, that tofu in your soup had been cold, because we pay a great attention to the quality of the food we serve. However, if you had mentioned this to one of our staff members, which I assume you didn't, we could have given you the service you needed and prepared you another portion. Our staff is well trained and they do their most to keep the guests happy. In addition, our waiting staff is not allowed to eat at the restaurant. Maybe you saw our managers having dinner, but that couldn't have affected the service, because there are waiters in the restaurant at all times.

Overall, thank you for taking time to write your comments about our restaurant. We are happy to welcome you back!

Elisa Korpivuoma
Customer Relationship Assistant
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at the Sareeraya for 6 days and loved every minute! The hotel was beautiful and perfect in every way. We stayed in the pool villa - although it was a bit on the expensive side, we had decided to splurge, and it was well worth it. Very private, beautifully appointed, and very luxurious. Service was great, staff very warm and helpful at all times. Hotel is located at northern, quieter end of Chaweng which we really liked. Close enough to the action but very quiet and peaceful. We loved our private dip pool, deck, and outdoor shower. Also loved the semi-private pool which could only be accessed by our villa and a few suites with pool access. Beautiful clean beach with a security guard posted at all times so didn't have to worry about leaving things behind if go into water or take a walk along the beach. All in all, a wonderful hotel which we recommend highly. We hope we get the opportunity to go back there again some day!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarita711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We moved here after being disappointed with a 5 star hotel. We checked out many hotel and this seemed to be a good choice of what was available. The staff were nice - even if service was hit and miss. The rooms and the view were nice. A good location but certainly not a 5 star hotel. If you can't get into a good hotel in St Chewang stay here. the beach is not great, breakfast was nice

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.2 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Property: Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing