We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique-Hotel?! Far from deluxe - feels like it's about to close soon!”
Review of Le Murraya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Murraya
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights as a couple and at the first we arrived we wanted to upgrade or leave. We couldn't do either so we made the best of it. Compared to all hotels we have been before at our journey this hotel was the worst one.

The room - poolside deluxe! Well they were far from deluxe and yes we faced the pool but there was so much vegetation and trees in the way it blocked the view. The rooms were dark, old, musty smelling and the shower was in a fixed position. This meant it was placed so high I had to ask my husband to take it off the wall so I could use it. During our whole stay we couldn’t get out the musty smell of the room. Our room definitely needs a complete refurbishment. When the curtains were closed you couldn't tell if it was day or night, quite depressing really. The walls were dreary and dirty and the whole room needs to be gutted and start again. The one positive thing was that the rooms were large!!!

Also the amount of gardens that surrounded each room only meant one thing - Mosquitos!!! When we arrived both our rooms were full of Mosquitos, not a great start and the screen door between living room and bedroom was totally defect and had so many holes that it doesn’t protect for any mosquitos the next days.

Breakfast - poor quality food! Really shocking. No fresh coffee, you had to make your own instant coffee or tea from the kettle. The white bread was cheap (I know as I saw the packet and it's from a supermarket), no bread options! The croissants also were the cheapest you could buy. As for the 'hot' food, bacon, sausages etc, was not hot or heated in the trays. The kitchen and bar was not equipped to cater for anything other than breakfast. The way the breakfast was laid out and the filthy table cloths it was laid on is something to behold. It was never changed or cleaned during ourt stay, it got dirtier. We had the feeling we got served free breakfast in a Hostel but not in a hotel.

Hence why I said in my title that I felt the hotel was winding down. It had nothing to offer apart from the lovely staff and their smiles.
For us “Le Murraya Boutique Serviced Residence & Resort” was the money not worth.

Room Tip: Of you do stay here, choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkpanter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Located in a short walk to the action and nightlife. Polite staff and nice size rooms. Didn't use the pool but it looked pretty good. Had a small gym we had a few good bits of equipment Defiantly worth the money we paid for a room and would stay again. The breakfast was good buffet style. Decent wifi in the rooms to.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at Le Murraya. Its close to the main shopping area of Chaweng Beach and lots of places to eat and only 5 min walk to the lovely beach. Great breakfast, very big rooms, the staff were very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Would recommend the poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FLT1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for 7 days in early February and love this place. The 3 ladies (On, Ron, An) the front desk were so efficient and friendly and always ready to help. This hotel although is not in the main drag but is close to everything. So it is very quiet even it is next to the Muy Thai Boxing Statdium. The hotel provide free shuttle service to their sister Synergy hotel, which is right on the best section of the Chaweng beach. We were allow to use their facilities, the beach chair and umbrella, the swimming pool, shower and etc. We had lunch there most of the time while on the beach.
There are two rooms inside and each with AC and the WiFi was excellent and strong. The whole complex was very well maintained and cleaned and so as the pool.
Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, but it is not really a problem. Chaweng Beach Road is just less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel and there are lots of restaurants and shopping to explore. There is also a night market for cheap eateries after the boxing stadium and before the Chaweng Beach Rd on the right side.
We used the hotel to arrange a day trip transportation to Ko Phangan. The ferry company will pick us up in the hotel early in the morning and deliver us back in the afternoon. Once we arrived in Ko Phangan, we just took a taxi to Head yao Beach till 2:30 PM and arranged the same taxi take us back to the terminal for the 4PM departure back to Ko Samui.
Another day we also took a taxi to checkout Lamai beach but we decided to head back to Chaweng, since the beach and is so much nicer.
We definitely to stay here again when come back next time.

Room Tip: Every section is good but higher floor is even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlKo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The rooms are huge, all I used the living area for was walking through to get to the bedroom, but certainly plenty of space. A couple of blocks off the beach, but a 5 minute walk to their sister hotel where you can chill by the pool or use their sunbeds on the beach. As mentioned before, don't forget your room key! Fantastic setting by the pool closest to the beach.

Le Murraya is near the boxing arena, never heard a thing but did stay out late, and a short walk to the main street housing a wide variety of shops and restaurants. Breakfast was average, you can have eggs to order - we missed this first morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hooperman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of March 2014 and were very happy with facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the entire complex is spotlessly clean. The rooms are large,modern and well equipped.
Pool area and gardens are nice with the only issue i found was the large pool table could do with replacing, only a minor issue. The hotel is located 10 minutes from beach with the use of the sister hotel facilities on the beach being an excellent bonus. We used this each time we visited the beach and found sunbeds on the beach always available.
Hotel is next door to boxing arena of which was never a problem as the boxing nights were always finished before we returned on an evening. The hotel will give you a courtesy minibus ride further into main district but only until 7-30pm. Walking to this area was never a problem along the main street with bars and restaurants. Use pick up style taxis as these are even cheaper than normal taxis of which are still very reasonable. Always ask for meter usage.
Very safe area with lots happening and plenty to explore with excellent beaches.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Positive :
- amazing location
The location is tough to beat , very
Central close to the beach and the main area of Chaweng. Very close to the walking market
- the sister hotel is right on the beach
You can use their sun beds and amenities for free - make sure you have your room key
- very spacious rooms , it was one the biggest rooms we stayed in our travels through Asia for this price point
- very friendly staff , they are always willing to help
- fairly good wifi

Negative :
- the hotel is fairly old and it looks like very little renovation has been done
- the shower curtain was extremely dirty ! It's a simple update
- the breakfast was very average at best and the food wasn't kept warm properly.
- very close to the Muay Thai stadium, during the big tournaments you can hear music till 12:30 am

I recommend this hotel if you are staying in chewang only for few days , as you can get around fairly quickly !

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Yalli-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#30 of 104 in Chaweng
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Murraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Murraya

Address: 89 / 9 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £37 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Murraya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Murraya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Murraya Hotel Chaweng
Le Murraya Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing