We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean, no internet access in room”
Review of The Room Chaweng

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Room Chaweng
Ranked #55 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I booked "The Room" Chaweng Beach Koh Samui as the nightly rate was so cheap, the Hotel whilst looking dated provided me with a clean room, the bathroom was very dated although clean, towels and shapoo, shower gel supplied, fridge and TV in room.

The only "BIG" issue was despite being advertised on Agoda & there own website as having "internet in rooms" there is none! There is a computer in the room by reception but this was always locked and reception staff where never available after 10am. On reception they have some colour brochures that also say "WIFI" in all rooms! what happened there then?

Why advertise WIFI if you do not have it?

The big issue for me was that not having in room internet resulted in having to lug my big 20" laptop out to check e-mailm etc in the mornings, I also enjoy being able to download some movies etc to watch in the evenings or if it is raining. I think that having wireless internet is a must have for any Hotel.

Anyway for €15 a night it is worth the money.

5/10 in my opinion.

Room Tip: No internet at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No7Agency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed there whilst my friend was in hospital. The rooms were cleaned every day and well ventilated. Yes, there is no restaurant, bar or swimming pool but you are right by the sea, so its not a big deal. This is a good standard, no luxuries hotel and worth the mony you pay. You have about a 15 minute walk to all of the bars further up but who cares

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mumrah37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed just one night at The Room, which is a simple hotel, however the room was very nice, clean with air-conditioning, fridge, kettle and TV. The location is little bit further from the centre, but Chaweng is so over-crowded that it is at least quiet. Personally, I did not like Chaweng at all, too many tourists, too much noise, too many touristic attractions, over rated restaurants and no atmosphere. If you want to enjoy quite holiday, go to the north or west of Koh Samui. Lamai beach is also nice, touristic, but definitely better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlenaSimonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Great value for money. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.Excellent security and very clean. The Room is close to the beach, supermarket and shopping area. Also easy access to airport and all types of transport. Bed was very good! And they chanched every day. Location I think is good. Not really in the center but also is not too far.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Got a great deal on a room here for 6 nights - all the basics were okay. The room was clean, had a massive bed, tv, fridge and most importantly air conditioning included!

However there was construction work going on just beside the hotel - we slept through it okay but I imagine it might have bothered others!! The rooms are serviced every other day, and our shower was blocked so flooded every time we had a shower!

Overall for what we paid (18euro a night) it was very good value - good location -close to beach and pubs/restaurants, air conditioning, and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Based on the previous comments about difficulty in locating the hotel, we told the driver both the names, The Room and MyQExpress Hotel hence we did not have any trouble finding it. The hotel is slightly off the main road thus i guess it's easily missed if one do not look out for the signboard. Most of the drivers / tour operators called it 'The Room' rather than it's full name 'The Room Chaweng'. Anyway, it's just opposite "Chaweng Beach Resort', which is also the short cut to get to the beach.

Chaweng is so over develop (with no proper planning) that one can't see the beach even when standing opposite it. The Room Chaweng is located about 2 minutes walk across from the beach, separated by a narrow main road only. It has a cute pink van selling cocktail for 89Baht. Shopping is along the main road which is just few steps from The Room entrance.

The room is basic, there's towels and toilet roll but soap and shampoo are not provided. TV channels are mostly news and some local channels. Air Con is cooling so no complain after a hot day out. There's a security guard taking care of the hotel at night, but after reading some of the other comments, we chose not to leave our keys with the reception whenever we are out. Not sure whether that's the reason why our rooms were not clean by housekeeping. Room has a safe box but doesn't look that secure as it's easy to unscrew it from the cupboard. However, we do still leave our stuff in the safe and did not face any problem with that. Reception closed as 11pm. The music outside may go on for a little later than that hence we can still hear them in our room, though not overly loud. The price to pay to be near all the action pack area.

For the price we paid, we are fully satisfied with the accommodations. All we asked were just need a clean bed, a hot shower and a cooling air con. We wanted to be right on the beach but those hotels room rate triple the price we paid for The Room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellerstrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LindyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,932 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#17 of 104 in Chaweng
1,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Room Chaweng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Room Chaweng

Address: 99/99 Moo.3, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: £13 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Room Chaweng 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Room Chaweng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Room Chaweng Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing