We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love fijinz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I had to laugh at fiji nz saying it is bar girl friendly. i thought that this site was for normal people and not perverts. I have been to ark bar many times and have always enjoyed it. the staff are friendly and the service is good. As for fiji nz i wouldnt like to be taking any advice from him as he is a sex tourist and not after what most normal people that come to thailand are after. He shhould stick to places like pattaya where he will be right at home with cheap bars and cheap women

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

great location, good food, bar prices middle of the road, bar girl friendly, nice rooms (clean, well appointed). music becomes monotonous after a while but most enjoy it. didn't use fitness center or room service so can't comment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fijinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Recently stayed at the ark bar as a family of five. The hotel offers excellent value for money with the quality of accommodation and catering being first class. The location of the hotel is right in the middle of Chawengs party scene and that is another plus. Unfortunately for us travelling with three children under ten, I dare to say the place wasn't ideal. Day after day of constant partying till all hours is great if traveling with a group of adults but not with children.
Staff were extremely helpful and the level of cleanliness was high.
Perhaps it was the time of the year visited - August - as I've been told by others who have travelled there in May and June that it was fairly quiet.
Would I return - yes if with some adults / no if I was travelling there with my family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed in Ark Bar 3 in a junior suite and the rooms were spacious and quiet. The pool was clean and breakfast was a good choice. The music most days is constant and very house style and loud so we didn't stay there for drinks often as we are an older couple and don't like house music. The cleaning lady was very good and leave a tip for an extra bonus. The bathroom was large but the shower goes all over the floor so leave the bath mat outside the door. Laundry service was good and reasonable price. We had some young singles with us and they stayed in Ark Bar 2 and enjoyed themselves on party nights. If you are not into partying then I wouldn't suggest you stay here. If your with a group, it was close to everything - beach, bars, restaurants, shops etc. The accommodation was good, food ok and bar crowded and noisy. It was perfect for our younger friends. We organised a driver from the desk to take us around the island and he was entertaining and took us where we wanted to go and not just to spend money.

Room Tip: If you can, book the Ark Bar 3 which has it's own entry and is much quieter and larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plustips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The resort is located in the central of Chaweng Beach, perfect for all the party goers. Great pool (3 pools) areas with spa, sunken bar area and DJ booth in main pool is outstanding. The beds are very hard and resort gets very busy and felt a little insecured and public and walk through the resort anytime and people don't stay in the resort can also use the pools so didn't feel very private. Restaurant has extensive menu, suitable for everyone!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from restaurant as it can get noisy all day and night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie_Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Arriving in Chaweng it seemed like the main place to be was Ark bar so after being told the wrong extortionate price when asking at the reception we booked it online. Although we booked a superior room they shoved us in a standard room with very basic facilities, 'cable tv' of very poor quality, quite pokey and broken air conditioning!!! And for over 20 GBP a night!! Although the pool facilities are really good with live music it definiately wasn't worth staying at the ark as you can use their facilities regardless!! Service was very poor with cleaners entering our room when do not disturb was on the door and receptionists too busy watching youtube to listen to you! Worst of all they are theives as 315 GBP was taken from our account when we had already paid for the resort through agoda. It was stolen just to line someones pocket. When trying to get the money back staff were very unhelpful, hung up the phone on us and did not allow us to talk to the manager. Luckily the bank were able to redeem the stolen money!! All in all do not stay here!! Its very poor and there are numerous hotels right by it that are just as nice and a quarter of the price and you can still use their facilities during the day!!! ALL THEY WANT IS MONEY AND DO NOT CARE ABOUT THE CUSTOMERS!! if you do stay and pay by card check your bank account after check in!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollie1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryAB2103, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

VIA TRIPADVISOR MANAGEMENT HELP CENTER

October 25, 2012


To Whom It May Concern,

I write this letter on behalf of my Company, Ark Bar Beach Resort, which owns Ark Bar Beach Resort & Club in Koh Samui, (the “Resort”), and in reference to the subject stated above.

I would like to bring to your attention that Francesca Anne Carvill, a previous guest of the Resort has posted their comments on your website dated September 6, 2012 about their stay which contains false allegations regarding the Resort with the post title “Stealing, money grabbing and very poor resort.” The content of the post falsely accuses my Resort of committing a crime of theft of property (money) which has no evidence to support such claim. Furthermore, as far as I am aware, no official complaint was lodged with the authorities and the property was returned by the bank.

The allegations that were made are defamatory to me and my business and results in a criminal offence of defamation in Thailand.

For this reason, I would like to request for your assistance to resolve such matter by completely removing the post and any other comments related thereof within three (3) days of receiving this letter. I hope that this matter can be resolved expeditiously in order to avoid any further proceedings.

This Notice is written without prejudice to any rights and remedies I may have pursuant to or arising under the laws of the Kingdom of Thailand all of which are expressly reserved.

Yours Sincerely,

Ark Bar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Most amazing place I have ever stayed in. Fabulous atmosphere, welcoming staff, great management team. Location was fantastic, We could literally leave our room and be sitting on the beach within two minutes. Our room was clean and catered to all our needs, and would be made up daily on request. The menu at the hotel was extensive and had something for everyone, the portions were huge. Drinks were reasonably priced around 150 Baht, and they served up every cocktail imaginable. What made our stay was the brilliant music played daily, which I have to say didn't disturb us at all when in the room, and we stayed pretty close to where the action was. We enjoyed it so much we are booking up for January today just can't wait to get back. Only been back a day and missing it already.

Room Tip: The hotel will give you another room option if you don;t find your room location suitable. Upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debramh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
630 reviews
1.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £30 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing