We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“I was pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Having read some of the reviews here I thought my friend had made a mistake by booking us into this hotel. I feared it would be WAY too noisy. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The food was good and as we were placed near the front of the complex not too noisy. The resort is much bigger than you would expect with several pools to use. Nice beach front resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HR Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    515
    271
    104
    114
See reviews for
48
401
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Fantastic time at Ark bar with my friends. rooms were really clean but I guess the best bit about the resort was how sociable it was. really easy to meet people and they make the atmosphere something so special.

Room Tip: suites are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights in the junior suite. Room was good for the price. Clean, quite big with a Big tv, but not really any good channel (compared with other hotels for less $). Great hotel if you want to be in the middle of the action, but if you want a nicer room for the same price head down the beach a few hundred meters.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becandcraigaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 days, came with 3 other friends. We all had our own individual rooms and it was the junior suite. The restaurant/bar is by the beach and constantly blasting music. So if you want some quiet time reading or just chilling, I suggest you walk a few metres down. Or hop over to Sober Bar next door where they play slow music/reggae. Our rooms were pretty OK, it's spacious, nice big flat screen TV on the wall, safe deposit box and clean bathroom. In case you are cold at night, get the comforter from the cupboard. (the comforter is not place on the bed). The Chang drinking water is free but not Evian water, other than that the coffee and tea are free as well. Ask for wi fi password from the reception and you can access the internet from your room. You can easily rent a bike or get airport transfer via the hotel. Chaweng Beach is basically the party central as oppose to Lamai, Bo Phut etc. You can have massage service by the beach which is really nice, the price starts from 250THB. Or rent a jet ski for 1000THB for 30 mins and they charge 100THB extra if you have another passenger.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I had to laugh at fiji nz saying it is bar girl friendly. i thought that this site was for normal people and not perverts. I have been to ark bar many times and have always enjoyed it. the staff are friendly and the service is good. As for fiji nz i wouldnt like to be taking any advice from him as he is a sex tourist and not after what most normal people that come to thailand are after. He shhould stick to places like pattaya where he will be right at home with cheap bars and cheap women

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

great location, good food, bar prices middle of the road, bar girl friendly, nice rooms (clean, well appointed). music becomes monotonous after a while but most enjoy it. didn't use fitness center or room service so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Recently stayed at the ark bar as a family of five. The hotel offers excellent value for money with the quality of accommodation and catering being first class. The location of the hotel is right in the middle of Chawengs party scene and that is another plus. Unfortunately for us travelling with three children under ten, I dare to say the place wasn't ideal. Day after day of constant partying till all hours is great if traveling with a group of adults but not with children.
Staff were extremely helpful and the level of cleanliness was high.
Perhaps it was the time of the year visited - August - as I've been told by others who have travelled there in May and June that it was fairly quiet.
Would I return - yes if with some adults / no if I was travelling there with my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#73 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing