We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We Were There On The 26th Of September For The Pool Party It Was One Of the Best Days Ever.If You Want to Party Then This Is The Place To Be,If Your Old Or You like Quiet Time I Suggest Else Were! i Made A Video Of That Special Day Check It OUT,Love The ark Bar:)Heres The Link Ehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=6c9XyFkEVlAnjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldmemberTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
There are newer reviews for Ark Bar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel was the worse thing that happened to me at Thailand.
When I read party in the beach I would read: the hotel is crap discoteque.
I could be the all day talking about how bad it was but in summary:
- Unsafe. The "resort" is open, so anybody can walk inside.
- Bad rooms. Dark with the window looking at no garden at all, just people walking around. Terrible bathroom.
- Terrible attention. Girl in the reception dishonest. When I finally left she cheated on me with the refund, instead of 5.200 bath she change one on 1.000 for one of 100 (both are very similar).
- Terribly noisy. The music playing all the day plus an annoying construction.
- Bad beach, dirty water.
Fortunately I found other place, cheaper, with great attention that did not ruin my image of Samui and Thailand's people.

Room Tip: Do not go, it is impossible to describe how bad was the experience
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Basic rooms, basic services etc. For the price though and the location not a bad option if youre looking for an Ibiza style holiday (really reminded me of Bora Bora Beach beside Space in Playa Den Bossa - planes included). Friends and I booked for 4 nights but checked out after 2 because of the noise. This is more a reflection of my age thought than the place (36). If I had booked in here 5 or 10 years ago I probably would have rated this 5. For me though 2 days of music etc was enough, wanted to spend the remaining 2 relaxing so went to Bo Put. Hotel were allright about this and refunded for one night which I thought was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot and i have never seen such a noisy hotel! Loud trans-dance music in the pool,beach,restaurant all day from 10am to 2am!!! Airplanes landing and taking off right on top of the hotel. Soem machine engine behing the room building makes noises 24/7. In the room you have to choose between noise(loud aircondition) or over heated room. Beach parties every night with noise all the way to the rooms and loud people leaving the party at 2am. Bad service at reception for any question. If you wish your room to be cleaned you need to hang the note to ask for it. Otherwise they don't clean,but they don't tell you these rules when yiu check in so when we came back at the end of the day the room wasn't cleane. When i dared ask why, i was told off for not putting the sign.
Eventually we ran away to another hotel's beach to relax.
Will never go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oritii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Having read some of the reviews here I thought my friend had made a mistake by booking us into this hotel. I feared it would be WAY too noisy. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The food was good and as we were placed near the front of the complex not too noisy. The resort is much bigger than you would expect with several pools to use. Nice beach front resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HR Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Fantastic time at Ark bar with my friends. rooms were really clean but I guess the best bit about the resort was how sociable it was. really easy to meet people and they make the atmosphere something so special.

Room Tip: suites are beautiful!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights in the junior suite. Room was good for the price. Clean, quite big with a Big tv, but not really any good channel (compared with other hotels for less $). Great hotel if you want to be in the middle of the action, but if you want a nicer room for the same price head down the beach a few hundred meters.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becandcraigaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#68 of 184 in Bophut
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £36 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing