We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where comfort meets convenience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

If you want to be at the heart of party central, then this is one of the best resorts to stay at.

This resort is where the party is at, so you'd expect the noise levels to be off the chart. Surprisingly though, my boyfriend and I could hardly hear the thumping beats in our deluxe room. Plus most of the partying dies down by 2am.

The rooms were comfortable and cosy. If you want to laze about in the sun and get a tan, I'd suggest getting an early start on it as the pool chairs get occupied really quickly since the pools are open for use to everyone (hotel and non hotel guests).

The pizza burger is a must try, off the Ark Bar menu. However our favourite food joint was Khaosan Restaurant and Bakery. It's just down the road from Ark Bar and their Paad Thai is divine! (About 60THB a plate).

The best thing about the Ark Bar is that the party is where you are staying, especially on Wednesdays which is usually their BBQ party. Once you've chilled out enough at their pool bar, you can walk down main Chaweng Beach road and you'll come across a host of bars, pubs and of course the infamous club Green Mango.

A word of caution: if you're relaxing by the beach you will get harassed by multiple trinket sellers so just smile and politely refuse, their persistence dies out soon enough!

We stayed in Samui for a total of 2 nights and had a great experience here. And I would recommend this place to everyone who is looking for comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Originally I'd asked for a room far away from the pool as I'd read a previous review saying how loud it got and that you wouldn't get any sleep from the music, however the people there obviously hadn't read or seen my request and we had a room literally next door to the pool. I was a bit worried at first but after that night and being able to get to sleep easily I wasn't bothered. It really wasn't that loud and we both slept fine for every night we were there. It may have been because we weren't there for a full moon party night but there was a party on the Friday and we still slept fine.
The room was clean and well equipped, and the hostel is in a great location, central to everything.
I would definitely go back here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

my girlfriend and me stayed for two nights. clean but terrible.- you look to the neighbours balcony. if you want to party in chaweng stay in a cheaper hotel and go to the clubs or the beach. the music of the pool dj was horrible and it stopped around 5 am (i use to go to ibiza and i know what i am talking about) at checkout the staff wantet to sell us taxi and boat tickets for around 100 bhat higher than normal. avoid this hotel! at least the rooms were clean and the aircon worked well. avoid it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppedro1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryAB, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your personal experience at Ark Bar Beach Resort.

You are correct, our guest rooms, like the majority in Chaweng do face each other.
This is because the plots of land are long and narrow, allowing beach access to more properties. The rooms are separated by a balcony and pathway that have a combined width of between 5 and 12 metres.

There are 9 DJ's in our team and I am not sure which DJ you did not like. We have a policy of playing various styles of House Music and this never varies. We are sorry if this genre of music does not appeal to you. What style of music would you prefer?

I have to correct your statement about the music finishing at 5am.
The music stops promptly at 2am, never later. I know this for a fact as our license finishes at 2 and I am responsible for making this happen.

As for the taxi prices, we do not own any taxis and our staff simply quote the price that is told to them by the taxi driver. There is no compulsion to accept this price, in fact to save money, we encourage you or anyone else to get multiple quotes for the purchase of any goods in Koh Samui.

We will pass on your compliments of the clean rooms at Ark Bar to our house-keeping department.

Regards,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for Australia day and over the Full moon party in January 2013

This place is amazing ! Make sure you spend a little extra and get yourself a junior suit... Breakfast on the beach every morning was amazing... Great party beats pumping out from the DJ's while you swim/tan/drink

The food was also great !

I was very impressed and felt right at home when they played the tripple J hottest 100 and had and special Australia day party :)

Only bad points... When drunk people come home from the clubs between 2-4am it can get a bit noisy

Can't book up food and drinks to your room.. Have to carry cash.

I'll be back !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobyB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Good looking rooms and efficient staff make your Arkbar experience a ready time. They have a huge restaurant / bar and a very nice pool which has a awesome sunken bar in it ! we hear about the noise factor and desired to book only of the room closer to the back . and had no problem what so ever with noise. Over all a very satisfying stay, at a well organised resort, which will be even better once they finish the building.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamJohnstonSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

nice location and food.

beach partys is very noisy , cant sleep and be careful for your belongings in there.

all customer is young people 17-25 years and all night they are drunk , disturb and hassle to others. if you pay 3000 - 4000 bahts is 100 dollar - 100 euros you want stay peaceful place but here is not. pool is very small and 100s people around pool. not clean

rooms is expensive and very closer to eachother , when you sit balcony face to face with others


restaurant and bar is nice , but too many alternatives around there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bodrumtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Great location, great pool, great food and great beach partys but unfortunately no sleep until 3-4am becuase of the Djs and 18-25 party people.

So, if you want a party vacation and to sleep until 1pm everyday, then you will have a great time It is expensive at 3500-5000baht the rooms are nice.

Otherwise, if you need your sleep, then come for the party and stay elswehere.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfcat1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.4 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
635 reviews
1.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £36 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing