We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for Hangout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel for Hangout”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Good location with famous Ark Bar Pub at Chawaeng Beach. Nice Room very comfortable. but only some niosy from bar in night time not good for family with childrens.
The price is valuable. Cleanliness room with good service.Good trip with friends or the gang.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    534
    285
    110
    119
See reviews for
54
418
114
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

overall: If you are not spoiled - that`s the place for you. The location is great, maybe the best on Chaweng, food is also great at the beach restaurant of the hotel, the pool is nice, the evening scene is very relaxing and chilling, twice a week great parties on the beach - little noisy for the close rooms.
Rooms - basic minus unless been upgraded since then
Summary - if going with a spouse - pick a more romantic place. If going with friends - couldnt find better

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Great hotel and staff were great. Great place to party. Rooms were of a very high standard and if i found something to complain about I would be just be nit picking. Not the place if you are looking for peace and quiet, I knew that and I had no problems whatsoever with it. As i said, great party place with excellent rooms and friendly patient staff. Oh and the location is magic, central to everything.

Room Tip: If you have a little trouble sleeping, ask for a room further away from the pools and bars. The musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich665045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The location is great. The pool has a cool vibe, DJ, lots of people etc. The hotel is not worth it though, 90 USD a night for a 3 person room which looked more like a motel room. Also we found ants in our bed and the staff were very nonchalant abou it. Only when we demanded a discount did they move us to another room. You can pay to access the pool area even if you are not a guest so I would say stay somewhere else and pay for a daypass is you are interested in a party pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Really liked the hotels location, absolutely central. Number of choices to eat just outside the resorts gate. Really pleasant staff.

Amazing party vibe at the resort, it rained for 4 out of the 5 days at Samui, but the party didnt stop. Cool music and nice drinks, not watered down. Free wifi, which is decent over a big resort

Now for the cons.. thought I was looking for a party place, and had read most of the unfavourable reviews, here's my take.

1. Rooms are bright and modernly decorated, with good bathroom amenities. But found a huge cockroach on the wall one day. Upon calling the staff, they simply sprayed bug spray. I wonder how a roach gets into an ac room
2. Beachfront property but the beach in front of the hotel is not good for swimming. Ankle deep water, with slimy sand. This is due to a reef halfway down the bay
3. No seriously disturbing music at night, good blackout curtains. But construction going on the older side of Arkbar, so noise during the day.
4. And biggest gripe in my opinion, is that they treat the guests as hostel guests. Upon checkin, you're given a list of things in the room, with charges for being lost prominently told to you. Every staff is ingrained with the cost of a lost towel, for ex, we were at the reception, with beach towels, and a staff told us not to lose it, as they would cost 500 bahts each. My wife had a shirt whose colour ran, and somehow there were patches on the towel. We were told that we had "ruined" the towel and would have to pay 500 baht. We politely told them to laundry it, at our expense, but they kept the towel in our room and everyday reminded us that we would have to pay. On the last day, we simply soaked it in hot water, and the towel was fine. They immediately took it away and there was no mention of any fine thereafter

I feel that the hotel is more interested in their beach club and restaturant, and treat the hotel as a secondary business. They are not cheap, though we booked them in the first place, due to the fact that they were the cheapest beachfront property in Chaweng. At these cost, on a holiday, you do not like to be reminded about potential fines at every instance.

I wouldnt mind coming back, though only for their beach parties

Room Tip: Tip - take rooms with 4 digit numbers, they're on the newer wings, away fron the contruction noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jishnu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013
Location
It's the center of the Chaweng. So convinent for everything.
Room condition - price-worthy.
But it was slightly disspointing because we stayed premier delux room.
If you are seeking reasonable hotel, I recommend superior room.
Rooms are clean, but bathroom condition is not so good and water pressure was low
Breakfast
No buffet.
Guests can order 5 types of food every morgning.
We didn't eat breakfast at last day, cause it wasn't delicious
Atmosphere
Music was good. Everyday a lively party. You can feel the youth.
Kindness
Staffs of reception desk were very kind. But other staffs are not so kind and even loud by themselves.
Beach
Water was shallow and sand was very soft. No waves. Beautiful color.
Good for children also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh_H_Park_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in Jan 2013. Party & loud music every nights starting from 5pm until 2-3am.
Good location is right in the heart of Chaweng. Nice rooms with comfortable bed, bathroom is OK. Hotel is very near the beach. Also close to the nightlife. Affordable price. The food here was okay. The Wednesday Beach party is great, but the bar is busy every day, with lots of people.
"Good if you're looking for fun party, bad if you wanted to relax"

Room Tip: Don't choose room at ground floor. Noisy with a lot of people walk the walkway to party or beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#71 of 186 in Bophut
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing