We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Warned. Dated hotel and horrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be Warned. Dated hotel and horrible customer service”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was my third trip to Thailand in under a year and I made a massive mistake by choosing to stay at Ark Bar.

I had 8 nights booked and check in went smooth. They put me in a room next to the "See though" Pool. Once in my room I was unimpressed from what the photo's on the website looked like and what my room was like. The walls needed painting and the room smelt of the pool. The bathroom was very small and the shower sprayed in every direction, I pretty much had to run around under the shower to try and get wet. You are given 4 towels in your room, 2 big and 2 small. One of the big towel when I got there had stains on it, it looked like it had been washed by the stains had not come out, I didn't think to much of this as there was another towel so I just used that one. Now came night time, before choosing this hotel I knew it was a "Party Hotel" but my room was so close to the DJ's it shook from the bass till 2am.

The next morning I went to front desk so see if there was any other rooms further away that I could get and I was told, you guessed it NO...NO other rooms, even tho I would walk past empty ones back to my room every night.

The kicker for me was on check out. When I was checking out I was told to wait while the maid checks the room, understandable until the maid radios back and tells the counter lady that one of the towel is dirty (The stained one I said before) and I will have to pay for it. After arguments with the manager I was forced to pay a cleaning fee for the towel even tho it was in the room like that.

This hotel would have to be a lot cheaper if you wanted to stay there, think backpackers with a DJ.

I am not jaded by my whole experience I just want to warn others that it could happen to you and there are far nicer hotels on the beautiful island of Koh Samui

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alwaystravelingsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    534
    284
    110
    119
See reviews for
52
418
114
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Not the cheapest bar on the island but good music if your up for a night out and the staff are all friendly andhelpful.
Only criticism is the children coming up to you every 2 minutes trying to sell you stuff which doesn't stop from 8-closing time. The same thing happens with men with animals attempting to get you to buy photos with animals. If the staff moved them on it wouldn't matter but they're not bothered and it doesn't make for a relaxing/enjoyable atmosphere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely modern rooms with powerful showers and a good sized balcony. Hotel is right on the beach with two bars and pools. Amazing fire shows put on, as well as DJs playing over the main pool. Drinks and food from the hotel bars are a bit over priced but overall the stay was worth the money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryonyspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

21 + 20 year old on a partying holiday.

Don't make the same mistake we did. You do not need to stay here to go to their beach parties.

Good bits.
*The beach party on Wednesday and Friday is awesome, wasn't much going on the Thursday though.
*Ark bar is a 2 minute walk from the nightclubs. I recommend Green Mango, these didn't start going until the beach party finished at 2am though.
*Free BBQ on beach party days too if you buy a drink.

Bad bits.
*They will not clean your room unless you tell them to, they didn't clean ours once over the whole stay
*The Air con was really poor, the sun penetrated our curtain around 8am every day and we'd both wake up the room would get that hot.
*The drinks in the hotel were ridiculous prices, can definitely see why the owner drives a brand new Lamborghini and a Range rover. It was 700 baht for a Vodka (Absolut) bucket.
*The room is also very expensive for Thailand, it cost us 2000 baht per night for a twin superior room. We got much better value for money in the other places we stayed at.
*On the day of check out (11am), I went to sit at the pool whilst waiting for my friend to come back, I was told that I had to move to the beach because the pool was for hotel guests only, she didn't seem to care when I showed her my name on the list she had. So with 2 backpacks and a suitcase I had to go and sit on the beach and get woken up by the Icecream / sunglass merchants every 5 minutes...

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on an upgrade because it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyleladlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was in Koh Samui with my girlfriend and we went at Ark Bar every day drinking coctails in the beach listening great music and relaxing . If you are visiting Koh Samui i am sure that you will visit it .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdAward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we heard a lot about this hotel and after some romantic location we wanted to blow up some steam!
the room is very nice and had a little terrace .. we want to the pool to see what is everyone is talking about... in the end the music at the pool is very chill out and not realy crazy party style.. plus there big thing is the party at wednesday or saturday... they decorate the beach realy nice but if you will stay there more then 2 days you will see that the playlist is the same...
about the sleeping part it was a nice surprise that we slept like babies ! we didnt here a thing!
in the end you can stay in a different hotel and just come for the party if you realy realy want to be in one .. for my opinion the greenmango is nicer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I'd heard a lot about this place before arriving, mostly that it's a great party hotel and great atmosphere but I didn't find it to be that great. The Thai staff seem to have been tainted over the years by the class of people that attend the hotel, therefore they do not come across as kind, caring and warm welcoming as you'd imagine in other resorts.

There is a charge against everything in the room (for example; I dropped shower gel onto a hand towel and reception tried to charge me 50 baht for damage, which obviously it wasn't damage!).

The music was disappointing, I'd expected more mainstream dance, vocal funky house rather than the ongoing same beat all day and night.

Aircon in the room wasn't worthwhile and you cannot leave electricity on in the room once you leave and take your key as it runs off of a magnet in the key card. So no way of cooling the room when you're out.

Finally, the pool itself poses danger to it's guests as it isn't fully tiled. Instead, they have opted for a sharp stone surface on the pool seating area and around the edge. Unfortunately myself and my partner both came away with two separate injuries through entering and exiting the pool.

As a whole, the hotel is what you'd expect for a young persons cheap getaway resort. Very regimented and no thrills. I don't want to sound like a misery but I definitely wouldn't stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: Don't get an apartment with a sea view. Music doesn't stop until 2am, so if you're not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sexytonyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 186 in Bophut
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing