We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If your in your early 20's maybe its the place - ill be honest didnt really like it ! The rooms are basic - no windows other than the doors which open to a pathway full of kids throwing up. The pool had 'white stuff' floating around. The music is 'ok' but pumps out all day long without any respite ....ill be honest i didnt like the clientele, most thought they were in Ibiza no idea what nationality they were but they but several people were just walking around thinking they were cool when they were nnot ....its not san tropez or a classy place in ibiza ...its ark bar on a not nice beach on koh samui ...the beach is horrible .... and the drinks are so expensive its a joke.

Expect to get harressed by horrible little kids ...several i had to swear at because i was getting so wound up by them ....its sad to see the girls are on the beach trying to play noughts and crosses ...whilst there mothers are playing connect four in the bars ....its a sad part of Thailand that you dont really want to see. The worst of it is the young idiots encouraging the kids to arm wrestles ...usually aussies who are trying to impress the young girls - not realizing that there encouraging the horrible destitution of these children more ...

If your young and want to party with other idiots go for it ...else dont bother get outta there and get to an island with cool people .... !

If you do go take some sensibility with the young children !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londondave91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Seriously, Ark Bar Beach and Resort is everything it says it is... plus more! My partner and I stayed at Ark for 5 nights in November and the Standard room was fantastic value and even a comfortable bed! The housekeeping were extremely friendly and the front of house staff were always willing to answer any questions. We LOVED the food and drinks at Ark! It was great value and the swim up bar was a bonus. I will definitely stay at Ark again! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you don't like to have a couple (or ten) drinks as it is quite loud from 2-3pm daily until late. Great place - great people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed in Ark Bar for 2 nights and as a party-goer I would say this hotel is perfect for me. The location is also good and central, near to a number of bars and restaurants. If you are looking for something quieter, this is not the place for you as the music from the bar is pretty loud and will be ongoing till late as this is a party hotel. I would however recommend guests to take the premier rooms, as they are rather affordable and much prettier than the deluxe that I stayed in. I wasn't very satisfied with the cleanliness of my room, especially the toilet. Also, I had problems with the wifi. Nonetheless, I still found this hotel great because of its location, the type of guests that stay there and the fun it offers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This place was right next door to our resort in Chaweng.. This place was nothing like I have seen till date.. It has absolutely everything going for it..
- Music (awesome DJs)
- Seating (literally on the waves)
- Super fast & friendly service
- Delicious food
- Ample entertainment like fire throwers, jugglers etc
- Though there would be 1000 people it is very well laid out
- The lighting is very chic and the interiors themed around the pub
Do not miss this place on Sat nights, it rocks !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank indrajitkalidasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife spent 2 nights here, believe it or not as part of our honeymoon! We knew before we arrived it was a party resort but this is why we picked it so it broke up our 3 week stay in Thailand.
Easy to find from taxi, and greated by sum nippers on reception, however this is where we thought we had made a bad decision..... We were given almost a 15 minute induction on hotel rules and policy's, do and donts and what we will be charged for potential damage and soiling of towels. We did find this a little bit over the top as mentioned we were on honeymoon aged 27/28 do like to party but do know how to behave ourselves, we were then required to pay 1000 bht cash deposit in case of any of the above!!
We were then taken to our room which was a premier deluxe and as soon as we walked in we thought wow! It was new, spacious and light the bathroom was one of best we had used and the ac was powerful enough to freeze yourself!
After un packing we headed down to the party pool and was greated by another lad who showed us to sun beds and gave us menus. The music was loud and people of all ages were having fun in and around pool and bars! We thought this was fab! Food is good and the coctails especially banana baileys milkshake was amazing although a bit more over priced but didn't bother us. In evenin went for dinner on beach front which was good then the real party started it was like a mini full moon party!! Music pumping people dancing and chilling on sun beds on beach which we did as just worked through coctails menu! The whole bar beach etc was packed with people getting smashed and although this was the case we did not see one bit of trouble which in turn was in the uk at sum point a mass brawl would have erupted. This place is loud and full of party goers but it made our stay in chewang. 10/10

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saintsfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ark Bar in October 2013 and had the best time!! The rooms were nice and hotel staff were very accommodating. We had a great time lounging at the pool and hanging out at the swim up bar in the pool. Every hotel needs one of these. At night the real entertainment begins. We experienced the most amazing fire dancing show I have ever seen (and I have seen a lot). We enjoyed smoking a hookah on the beach and got to take pictures with cute exotic animals that vendors walked around with. I highly recommend staying there if you want to be in the mix of relaxing and the fun party! Check out On The Go Travel Show on vimeo to see some of our adventures at the Ark Bar.

Thanks Ark Bar for being wonderful. We hope to come back to see you again one day!!

Janica P

Room Tip: There is the New side with newer rooms and there are the older rooms. I didn't get to see the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Best beach party in Samui. Full of young generations who are looking for fun! Easy access... opens till very late. Fire show is available. Very crowded and I liked that. Avoid going there if you are a lazy serious person.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ReviewerEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.4 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
635 reviews
1.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £37 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing