We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to party!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to party!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

If you like a lively hotel then this is definitely the place to stay in Koh Sumai, Chaweng Beach. Every Wednesday and Friday they have beach parties which are absolutely amazing and they are also free to attend. The DJ is fantastic and they have two amazing guys who play the Saxaphone and Bongo's. The atmosphere of these parties are spot on :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    515
    271
    104
    114
See reviews for
48
401
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was personally not a fan of Koh Samui, more a Patong/Bangkok sort of guy, but this hotel was good to stay at. It had 3 pools, on the beach, great restaurant, close to the nightlife of the area and very close to the Airport, unfortuantly you could here the airplanes taking off very well...

Room Tip: Close to nightlife and airport (airport noises)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyThailandHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food ,great staff ,party nights most nights music the best I have found on Samui !!!

Free wifi and sunbeds really chilled vibe no heavy sales people on this part of the beach

Clean toilets and beach is regular cleaned and maintained by staff at ARK and has a party pool

Love it!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Medicmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Its quite a big resort. Has a big restaurant, nice pool but we didnt end up going in the pool cause the beach is literally next to it. Definitely recommend for a first timer to ko samui. Rooms got cleaned everyday i.e. bed linen towels. Friendly reception staff. Wish i stayed here longer

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a group of friends for 3 nights. Great location lots to do at night. Lovely pool areas and beach. Local sellers, mainly children became a bit annoying as the constantly hassled us when we were sat on the hotel beach front. Rooms were nice, clean and well presented. I would recommend this hotel. In comparison to other places we stayed the value for money was OK... But breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseJ2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

If your in your early 20's maybe its the place - ill be honest didnt really like it ! The rooms are basic - no windows other than the doors which open to a pathway full of kids throwing up. The pool had 'white stuff' floating around. The music is 'ok' but pumps out all day long without any respite ....ill be honest i didnt like the clientele, most thought they were in Ibiza no idea what nationality they were but they but several people were just walking around thinking they were cool when they were nnot ....its not san tropez or a classy place in ibiza ...its ark bar on a not nice beach on koh samui ...the beach is horrible .... and the drinks are so expensive its a joke.

Expect to get harressed by horrible little kids ...several i had to swear at because i was getting so wound up by them ....its sad to see the girls are on the beach trying to play noughts and crosses ...whilst there mothers are playing connect four in the bars ....its a sad part of Thailand that you dont really want to see. The worst of it is the young idiots encouraging the kids to arm wrestles ...usually aussies who are trying to impress the young girls - not realizing that there encouraging the horrible destitution of these children more ...

If your young and want to party with other idiots go for it ...else dont bother get outta there and get to an island with cool people .... !

If you do go take some sensibility with the young children !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londondave91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Seriously, Ark Bar Beach and Resort is everything it says it is... plus more! My partner and I stayed at Ark for 5 nights in November and the Standard room was fantastic value and even a comfortable bed! The housekeeping were extremely friendly and the front of house staff were always willing to answer any questions. We LOVED the food and drinks at Ark! It was great value and the swim up bar was a bonus. I will definitely stay at Ark again! I wouldn't recommend staying here if you don't like to have a couple (or ten) drinks as it is quite loud from 2-3pm daily until late. Great place - great people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#73 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing