We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charged for everything! Rude service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The only thing abt the hotel is good location, other than that rude service. If you spill coffee or tea on the bath towel, they will charge you 500baht. Moreover, room is not clean every day. You have to request for it and wait for someone available to clean your room. The $ that u pay for the room is not worth it. Stay else where!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Heard so much about Ark Bar before I went to Thailand. Did not disappoint at all!! Myself and 7 other friends spent 4 nights here (one of them being my 20th birthday) and wish we could stay for longer although the beds were a bit small for me, I loved every minute of my stay in Koh Samui. It is so close to the main night club Green Mango and also where the Muay Thai is held. The staff were friendly and offered to keep our room key and the front desk while we went out. The only problem I had was the amount of 'snobby' Europeans who came from other hotels and took all the lounge chairs during the day. We didnt eat too many main meals at ark bar we walked acorss the road to either the Coffee Club or The Islander but still ordered wedges and other snacks which were nice.

Room Tip: Walk over the road to The Islander they do fantastic meals and great place to have pre drinks before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Ark Bar resort for 2 nights (Fri, Sat) on my way to Koh Phangan - for a solo traveller it has a social atmosphere!
Fri night beach party was very entertaining, & on Sat night even though it wasn't technically a 'beach party night' there was still more happening at the beach front of the resort than anywhere we found in town!
Friendly helpful staff, decent clean rooms.
No complaints :-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kym H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We didn't stay at Ark (the party scene for a week would be tough to chill and sleep through). In saying that, we went to the bar and pool area almost every day during our stay in Samui! The atmosphere was the best we had on the entire trip, reminiscent to that of other party islands - think Mykonos and Cancun. We loved the bar, the ease of beach access, the pool area, the music and above all the central location.

Most reviewers are correct - the place is like an upmarket hostel/backpackers hotel. We were lured in and almost booked our stay here given the low price, however decided last minute we'd like to stay somewhere a little quieter where we could 'escape' if we needed a break.

I'd recommend this place for singles and young travelers who are ok with loud music all night, and who enjoy a good party vibe. But for others, the place is pretty open and you can still enjoy the vibe.

Room Tip: The road side probably gets plenty of noise from taxi's and general street manic - while the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarcMenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at this resort in March for 2 nights, the hotel is definitely in the best location! Walking distance to everything and right on the beach. Pools are great. Rooms are simple but have everything you need. It was a younger party crowd staying at this hotel which if thats what your looking for and to meet new friends its great. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in the deluxe room. Nice clean room, recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked this hotel on a whim without knowing anything about the location or hotel itself, and we were blown away when we first saw it! Receptionists were by far the easiest to deal with and most helpful that we had during out stay in the islands, and the rooms were spectacular compared to other hotels that were the same price. We had a premier deluxe twin room, which was enormous in size and great value for money. AC was great and the bathrooms were clean.

There are three pools at the Ark Bar, and the location is right on the beach, so great for swimming and lounging around with cocktails in hand. Bar service is excellent - even if you are not staying at the hotel you can sit on one of their beach loungers and someone will be down in a flash to take your food & drink order. Unfortunately for us the main pool was closed for renovations, so we did not get to go to any of their famous pool parties, but there is so much nightlife around that area anyway that we didn't feel like we missed out too much.

I would recommend this hotel to any younger travellers who are keen to party, because it is constantly cranking and they have plenty of fire shows down on the beach every night. This hotel is probably not best for honeymooners or families, but if you are into the nightlife this hotel would suit you down to the ground!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less disturbance from passers-by, as the rooms are right next to the walkway that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great location by the beach and 3 pools to choose from which are quiet as external guests are prohibited from 2 of them. Wifi was down for a few days which was annoying. Staff are friendly and always someone around to help. Slightly more expensive than others around but worth it for the creature comforts we're used to back home.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#55 of 103 in Chaweng
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.4 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#25 of 103 in Chaweng
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £36 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing