We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but loud”
Review of Anong Guesthouse

Anong Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anong Guesthouse
Ranked #52 of 66 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap but loud”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We paid 500B for air con room. We found it quite clean and were happy to have a proper duvet for once. Also there is a fridge and freezer which was great to keep ice/drinks.

The pool was fine although Chaweng beach is beautiful too.

The guesthouse is bang in the middle of town which is great for eating out but it's also it's biggest downfall too as the music from near clubs vibrates the room until 3am every night.

Stay here if your in Ko Samui to party.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    9
    10
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
7
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Don't event know where to start with this place....Positives....its really cheap, has air conditioning, close to the nightlife and not too far from the beach.
However, our room was the pits. Our balcony door didn't close, the fridge didn't work, it was dirty, the sheets were all torn and ripped, the joke of a shower barely worked, the toilet constantly flushed, the music from the street behind is so loud even at 6am and there is no safe.
we had no running water on a few occasions, and the one time I tried to get it fixed I was ignored by the staff. The pool doesn't look particularly clean and didn't use it. I would say avoid this place, I am used to basic accommodation and loud music but this place takes the biscuit!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph9212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Reception staff were not helpful in the slightest, pool was disgusting, bedding has holes in it (looked like something had been nibbling away at it!), mirror missing from wall, lights did not work as well as shower, no wifi in room, rooms very dark and there is a club behind the hotel which meant you could hear very loud music until 5am! Also planes fly low over the hotel as it is near the airport which is also very loud and the hotel is down a very dodgy looking dark side street, will not be staying here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hol95W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I can't remember exactly how much we paid, but it was cheap even for Thailand standards !
The location is both the best and the worst thing - bang in the middle of everything, but noisy because of it. I'm not the type to moan about a bit of music but it was loud even for me. It's right behind all the clubs and the ladyboy show (moulin rouge - which is acctually good!) so you hear everything.
The room was ok, bog standard just a place to sleep, did have a weird square cut out of the bathroom wall though, which was a bit freaky ! The back door lead out onto a bridge kind of thing, which meant anyone could come up to our back door (which didn't shut properly!) so we were quite wary about that. I think there was a safe in the room though.
Free wifi in reception which is really good. Does have a pool but didn't quite trust it so just walked 5 minutes to the beach instead !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren_sarah_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I almost feel bad giving this place a bad review - it cost us 500 baht a night, the staff were friendly and the location, in relation to amenities, was great. However - we didn't realise that it was on the street adjacent to the al fresco super club Green Mango. Now this club stays open until about 4am, so if you're planning to be out until the early hours every night, it could be perfect. However, we weren't feeling great, so wanted to pack in early. We felt like we were in the club; the whole room, doorframe and bed was shaking from the vibrations of the music over the road. We ended up staying awake all night, waiting at reception until it opened and 7am to ask for our money back for the following night that we'd paid for. The staff were really understanding and refunded us without hesitation - even she looked knackered!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoIIy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Anong guesthouse for 2 weeks.

It's very local to all the nightlife and a 2 minute walk to the beach.

The staff are very friendly and attentive and would help with most things if needed. It is family run so you tend to see people walking around cleaning throughout the day.

As a solo traveller I found it hard to be in the area on my first day as the weather wasn't that great so I went for a walk on the Main Street meaning it was hard to meet people to socialize with.
Luckily I met people around the pool at Anong and made a nice group of friends there.

Most people in the area tend to know where Anong is as it's quite central to everything and it quite popular. It's around 500 baht a night for a room with a fan which is quite powerful alongside a tv, large fridge and towels. They also have a laundry service in the foyer area.
If you want a room with aircon and are there for longer than 4/5 days you can persuade them to give you an aircon room in the old block at the same price. If you have a bit more of a budget they have the modern building with aircon for around 800 baht a night which that side is a fair bit nicer but both do the trick.

The only thing bad about Anong is that it is right under the flight path so in the morning the plans are quite loud. Also if you are planning to sleep whilst you are here you might find it quite hard as Anong backs off onto one of the main outside clubs so it's quite loud from 11pm- 3 am but you tend to get used to it after a couple of nights, the higher up you are in the building the better it is for that.

One thing I would suggest bringing is mosquito spray, there's sooooo many and I've been bitten like mad in koh Samui, failing that just bring a good mosquito net!

Enjoy

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank xtashadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Room was basic but pretty clean, everything worked. Was the perfect location in Chaweng, just off the main street but nice and quiet, and a very short walk from the beach and Ark Bar resort. Staff were very helpful, especially the lady on reception. Good value for money, and always entertaining to see the ladyboys getting ready in their apartments on the way back to the room! Swimming pool looked rank so we didn't give it a go, but who needs a pool when you're right by the beach?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahandt0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.0 mi away
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anong Guesthouse

Property: Anong Guesthouse
Address: Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anong Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Anong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anong Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Anong Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing