We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money, poor quality”
Review of The Avenue Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Avenue Samui
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor value for money, poor quality”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Ignore the other reviews, for the same price you can get a much cleaner, better place to stay in Samui.

We stayed here for over a week, the photos make it look better than it actually is. The pool area is really run down, the hallway carpets are covered in stained and weren't vacuumed once in our 7+ day stay and the hallways continually smelt like rubbish. We were also asked for a deposit when we asked for a second room key.

The hotel in general seems poorly managed and although the other reviews say its a new hotel its definitely not or has really been poorly maintained since built

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    54
    45
    30
    28
See reviews for
5
78
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great place to stay. Excellent staff. Very friendly. Decent food. Located in a good place. Laundry and mortorcycle rental just next door. One of the best budget places to stay in at Koh Samui... Only problem is that the room service staff are very poor in english.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesCalmwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel is good for its price. The room that I stayed in was clean and comfortable. The pool is not the best, as there are little shaded areas and it doesn't feel 100% clean. The location was fine for my partner and I, although it is a bit out of the main strip it is a good walk to get there as there are heaps of shops, bars, cafes ect. along the way (about a 10-15 min walk). I found the staff to be very nice and helpful. Overall it was a great choice for the price I paid on agoda (about $40 a night).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is not absolutely near the happening area in Chaweng but it is about 15 mins walk to it. We changed 2 rooms during check-in before finding a room without defects. Staff are very friendly and helpful. No free wifi.

Motorcycle rental is just next door with B200 per day. Do not need to deposit passport if you are a FX guest. However, the motorcycles were not being maintained at tip top condition.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2loveN2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The service at the reception was very bad, we waited for 40 mins from 2pm before getting our room. we reminded them thrice about our airport transfer (early 9am flight) and they kept nodding their head but we are sure that he didnt understand a word we say.

Room is very small and the balcony is facing another building's roof which is so close like a stone throw away. and there's stale smell from the room.

the area that the hotel is situated on is not very good (dirty and rowdy) but its definitely near to the shopping street like 15 mins walk.

we only paid USD80 for 2 nights stay hence definitely value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The room we stayed in was on the third floor, it was really modern, spacious and clean, with a balcony. Most of the staff were not very friendly, (or just couldn't speak very good English) apart from one man who was very helpful. The location is good, a short walk to the beach and main street and very quite. The included breakfast was OK but limited for a vegetarian. Great hotel for the price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

this hotel is brand new and also about 3 mins away from chaweng street, so still very quiet. The rooms are nice with aircon, great bathroom, cable tv, fridge and balcony. the wifi is not free which is a bit of a bummer. and sometimes very hard to get reception. the rooftop pool is nice but quite small. provides nice views though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibbsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.0 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#45 of 104 in Chaweng
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#72 of 104 in Chaweng
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#62 of 104 in Chaweng
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.3 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Samui

Property: The Avenue Samui
Address: 3/55 Moo 2 Soi Poonsawas, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly FX Resort Chaweng)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Avenue Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue Samui, Koh Samui is a well-established resort perfectly suited for a relaxing getaway. Set amidst lush tropical garden in Chaweng area, this stylishly-designed resort is near Koh Samui's hottest spot and entertainment belt. It is situated within 5 minutes' walking distance to the beach and is only 15 minutes drive to Koh Samui International Airport. The resort features 75 spacious guestrooms, fully equipped with all essential in-room amenities to provide most comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Avenue Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fx Resort Chaweng Hotel Bophut
The Avenue Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing