We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Avenue Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Avenue Samui
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed at FX for 12 nights in july. It is a lovely, modern hotel few minutes walking from the beach. If you dont mind to talk 5 minutes to the main street, or 5 min to the beach you should absolutely book FX on your Samui stay. Its a lot cheaper than the beach resorts, and its a very clean hotel with a friendly, and helpful staff. The staff will help you with anything, and without them we wouldnt reached the ferry to Donsak. I would stay here again, no doubts. Although, me and my GF didnt get new towels each day, and once it went 4 days before we got new. We even tipped the maids every day. Our freinds got new every day, so guess we was just unlucky..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andysb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    50
    42
    29
    26
See reviews for
4
74
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed for 4 days in FX Resort whilst travelling around Thailand!! The facilities in the hotel were fantastic and I think we paid a reasonable price for a twin room with breakfast, everything in the bedroom was near enough brand new, the rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily! The staff were so helpful, helped us organise tours and were always giving us suggestions on where to go on a night out! This hotel is a tad far from the clubs on the main strip and is near a kinda sleazy strip, but in low season this wasn't a problem for us! And the rooftop pool was amazing, nice way to rest at the end of a busy day exploring!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indian
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

While visting Koh samui in November 2011, we stayed in a different resort but my friends who were on a low budget preffered this resort but actually I would call it a hotel... We spent a good time in our friends room as well. The property is average, people who are willing to get a comfortable bed to sleep can only opt for it as there are no such luxury with this hotel. The buffet breakfast has limited options, the swimming pool is on the top floor of 4-5 floors. The hotel is a little far from Chaweng Market as a two wheeler is a must for Koh samui, if you are living near Chaweng two wheeler is preferable. As the receptionist knew Hindi it was easy to communicate to her our concerns. But I would suggest to opt for some other hotel because it is quiet expensive... pls stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Ignore the other reviews, for the same price you can get a much cleaner, better place to stay in Samui.

We stayed here for over a week, the photos make it look better than it actually is. The pool area is really run down, the hallway carpets are covered in stained and weren't vacuumed once in our 7+ day stay and the hallways continually smelt like rubbish. We were also asked for a deposit when we asked for a second room key.

The hotel in general seems poorly managed and although the other reviews say its a new hotel its definitely not or has really been poorly maintained since built

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great place to stay. Excellent staff. Very friendly. Decent food. Located in a good place. Laundry and mortorcycle rental just next door. One of the best budget places to stay in at Koh Samui... Only problem is that the room service staff are very poor in english.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesCalmwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel is good for its price. The room that I stayed in was clean and comfortable. The pool is not the best, as there are little shaded areas and it doesn't feel 100% clean. The location was fine for my partner and I, although it is a bit out of the main strip it is a good walk to get there as there are heaps of shops, bars, cafes ect. along the way (about a 10-15 min walk). I found the staff to be very nice and helpful. Overall it was a great choice for the price I paid on agoda (about $40 a night).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is not absolutely near the happening area in Chaweng but it is about 15 mins walk to it. We changed 2 rooms during check-in before finding a room without defects. Staff are very friendly and helpful. No free wifi.

Motorcycle rental is just next door with B200 per day. Do not need to deposit passport if you are a FX guest. However, the motorcycles were not being maintained at tip top condition.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2loveN2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.0 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#64 of 104 in Chaweng
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#72 of 104 in Chaweng
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#74 of 104 in Chaweng
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.7 mi away
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
NovaSamui Resort Koh Samui
#136 of 187 in Bophut
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Samui

Property: The Avenue Samui
Address: 3/55 Moo 2 Soi Poonsawas, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly FX Resort Chaweng)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Avenue Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue Samui, Koh Samui is a well-established resort perfectly suited for a relaxing getaway. Set amidst lush tropical garden in Chaweng area, this stylishly-designed resort is near Koh Samui's hottest spot and entertainment belt. It is situated within 5 minutes' walking distance to the beach and is only 15 minutes drive to Koh Samui International Airport. The resort features 75 spacious guestrooms, fully equipped with all essential in-room amenities to provide most comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Avenue Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fx Resort Chaweng Hotel Bophut
The Avenue Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing