We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 night stay”
Review of The Avenue Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Avenue Samui
Ranked #92 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 16 October 2012

we moved to hear late one night as we had a pretty awful experience in another place and ended up staying for another five nights. the staff where very helpful, rooms clean, nice layout, bed is comfy, great selection of tv channels, prices where resonable. FX is close to the main streets and party places but not too close.. pool was nice..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and I can only give it 1/5 as we had something stolen out of our room while away for lunch. When I noticed the theft I immediately went to reception and reported it, where I was greeted by constant laughter from one member of staff and a shoulder shrug from another. They just said it could not have been their staff as they would not be able to use the item as it was part of a computer console (although I know it sells for a high price on the streets there).

They said we could speak to the manager the next day and look at security cameras. The manager was not there the next day so after a bit of a fuss a supervisor was called in. He said there's nothing to be done about it and we were shown no security cameras. He said we could go to the police but they also would do nothing (he was right there!). He at least apologised for the laughter at reception and the theft unlike the other staff who kept claiming we had lost the item.

Other than that, the hotel is pretty OK, most of it is made with pretty poor quality materials and looks a bit shabby in places. Walls are scratched and marked. The rooms are not cleaned well. Under the bed, while double checking for my stolen item, all I found was old condom wrappers and dirty ear plugs.

The rooms have a pretty cool layout as well as a nice TV with good channel options. The pool area is nice but only has 4 sun loungers. It's not far from shops/restaurants and beach. Wifi is not free and is quite expensive but a lot of local bars have it. I would obviously not recommend it to anyone but if you do go keep your stuff safe and hidden.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vonbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Chaweng is by far the best location on Samui. Surrounded by shops, food markets, restaurants and a walking distance from the beach you cannot ask for much more. We went to the local food market every evening where you can buy anything from local dishes, pizza, sandwiches, cocktails and steak for a reasonable price. Sadly they are only open in the evening therefore you are forced to eat in the restaurants during the day which are slightly more expensive if you are on a budget like we were. Although the location is within a busy area, we were surprised at how well we slept each night. The rooms are great for what you pay, nice marble flooring, cleaned on a daily basis and you have a fridge! (a luxury in our eyes) You have to pay for WIFI however sites such as facebook and twitter work fine. WIFI costs around £2 for an hour. Staff are helpful and welcoming. No complaints. Very little bugs, odd mosquito but have insect repellent on and your fine. The top floor of the hotel has an infinity pool which is great for tanning! Not many sun loungers however there is stairs to a top level where you can lie down if you wish.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahWilliam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Arrived and staff we very slow (30mins) to check me in, Room was not ready at 3pm in the day. Brought me to a Smoking Room and i had booked a NON Smoking room, had to leave bags with them for 35min while to room was been cleaned. Sourrounding Area really dodgey! Price was good, glad it was only a 1night'er

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed at FX for 12 nights in july. It is a lovely, modern hotel few minutes walking from the beach. If you dont mind to talk 5 minutes to the main street, or 5 min to the beach you should absolutely book FX on your Samui stay. Its a lot cheaper than the beach resorts, and its a very clean hotel with a friendly, and helpful staff. The staff will help you with anything, and without them we wouldnt reached the ferry to Donsak. I would stay here again, no doubts. Although, me and my GF didnt get new towels each day, and once it went 4 days before we got new. We even tipped the maids every day. Our freinds got new every day, so guess we was just unlucky..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andysb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed for 4 days in FX Resort whilst travelling around Thailand!! The facilities in the hotel were fantastic and I think we paid a reasonable price for a twin room with breakfast, everything in the bedroom was near enough brand new, the rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily! The staff were so helpful, helped us organise tours and were always giving us suggestions on where to go on a night out! This hotel is a tad far from the clubs on the main strip and is near a kinda sleazy strip, but in low season this wasn't a problem for us! And the rooftop pool was amazing, nice way to rest at the end of a busy day exploring!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

While visting Koh samui in November 2011, we stayed in a different resort but my friends who were on a low budget preffered this resort but actually I would call it a hotel... We spent a good time in our friends room as well. The property is average, people who are willing to get a comfortable bed to sleep can only opt for it as there are no such luxury with this hotel. The buffet breakfast has limited options, the swimming pool is on the top floor of 4-5 floors. The hotel is a little far from Chaweng Market as a two wheeler is a must for Koh samui, if you are living near Chaweng two wheeler is preferable. As the receptionist knew Hindi it was easy to communicate to her our concerns. But I would suggest to opt for some other hotel because it is quiet expensive... pls stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#69 of 104 in Chaweng
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#67 of 104 in Chaweng
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
136 reviews
1.0 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Kao Hua Jook Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Samui

Address: 3/55 Moo 2 Soi Poonsawas, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly FX Resort Chaweng)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: £17 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Avenue Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue Samui, Koh Samui is a well-established resort perfectly suited for a relaxing getaway. Set amidst lush tropical garden in Chaweng area, this stylishly-designed resort is near Koh Samui's hottest spot and entertainment belt. It is situated within 5 minutes' walking distance to the beach and is only 15 minutes drive to Koh Samui International Airport. The resort features 75 spacious guestrooms, fully equipped with all essential in-room amenities to provide most comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Avenue Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fx Resort Chaweng Hotel Bophut
The Avenue Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing