We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They charge for WiFi.. better hotels out there” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avenue Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Avenue Samui
Ranked #85 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“They charge for WiFi.. better hotels out there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The FX Resort has been rebranded as 'The Avenue Hotel', which is a much more suitable name given that it's a hotel, not a resort. It's not far from the main road and only a 6-minute walk to the beach, but it's in an awkward area of Chaweng that feels like the type of place gentlemen come to relieve themselves in Thai company. The rooms and lobby are clean and renovated and the lady who works at the front desk is lovely; she let us have our pick of three rooms when we were unhappy with the first. One thing we loved about our room was the curtain-less glass shower, though that's because we're a young couple and not a family of four. The rest of the hotel is a little less refined - stains all over the hallway carpets and ants inside the cappuccino machine. The biggest no-no of all, however, is that The Avenue charges 100 baht per hour to use hotel WiFi.

Bottom line: there are a bazillion other hotels and resorts that are equally as nice and in much better locations for the same price as Avenue or less, with WiFi included.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindythelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    49
    42
    28
    23
See reviews for
4
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you want to spend no time at all at your hotel than this place is completely adequate, learn some Thai before you come as the English is very limited, requests like "extra pillows" come with a reply of "maybe later" and never arrive-not a huge problem but defiantly on the budget side of hotels, a bit run down and internet is 40 baht an hour or 400 for three days, air con in the rooms is limited to 25degrees so sleeping is a bit hard on hotter nights especially on the rock hard bed so daily massage needed! Not by the ocean and even though the hotel was practically empty we still got a room with a view of the side of a building. Don't rely on the hotels photographs they are VERY generous, lots of nicer places to stay for the same price on the beach- nice and quiet tho.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in the hotel unfortunately!

The rooms were so nice that I really wanted to stay a few more days!

Rooms were big! With big cupboards and loads of storage space for luggage!
And a mid size refrigerator!

Lighting was adequate and all of it + the air conditioner was controlled by a single remote unit by the bed! It was awesome!

Unfortunately, I never got to use the room service or went to their restaurant or swimming pool! :(

Staff is good and they understand English well!
Just outside the hotel is a detailed map of the island and points of interest.

Only gripe was that probably the airconditioning unit needed servicing, as it wasnt cooling the room enough!

If I come back yo koh samui, I'll definitely consider staying at FX and would recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling through Thailand. Hotel was lovely, really nice clean and fresh rooms and also found reception staff very good. The hotel is in agood location, just a short walk (about 10 mins) to the main area with all the bars, shops and restaurants. Would definitely use this hotel chain again when travelling.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in a group of 8 at this hotel as part of a round trip. So far the hotel was the best on the trip and I can't really complain. Our room was clean and the washroom also.

The location is ok, 5-10 minutes walk to the main food, shopping and party area.

If you would like to stay longer or spend even time for longer in th room, I can't recommend. But if you just want to sleep, there is nothing wrong.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Room
The FX is offering two types of room - the Superior and the Deluxe. There arent much different between this two.

The Superior is slightly smaller then the Deluxe. According to their website, the Superior (24sqm) is 3sqm smaller then the Deluxe (27sqm). Nothing too much to compare other than size of these rooms. Personally, I would not advise you guys to choose the Deluxe room even though it is just RM30/per night extra than the Superior room. 

Both rooms come with private balcony which is not private at all as it is a 'open' balcony where one can climb-over/see/touch/talk to your neighbor.

 All the rooms we stayed did not offer any sea view. Im doubting that FX does not have any room with sea view. 

The bathroom... As mine, the rain shower wasnt working so well. The water heater was kinda not in good condition as well. It was either too warm or too cold. It could not be adjust to be just right. This was happening not only on me but also my friends' room. 

The cleanliness of this hotel was just so-so. The floor was dusty, the balcony's floor was even dustier like no one was maintaining it at all. Other then the dusty floor, every other thing was fine. 

One of the most satisfying thing in the room was the bedding. The pillows and the bedding was fantastic. In fact, the bedding was most satisfying point for me. Every sleep was very peaceful. 


Breakfast
My friends and I did not take the package that comes together with the breakfast but I did peek through what they were offering for the buffet breakfast. It was nothing more then some bread and butter, cereal and milk, coffee and tea.

Breakfast at the 7-11 or Family Mart nearby was rather satisfying.


Location
FX was located probably 10mins motorbike ride from the beach and it is surrounded by other shops and buildings. Thus, that explains the rooms do not come with sea view. When I look out from the balcony, I will only see the buildings or shops next to it. 

There is also quite a number of convient store (eg: 7-11, Family Mart, Tesco Express) within the walking distance. Actually, you will easily find a lot of these stores in Chaweng. 

Other attractions including the Night Market, Stadium (for Muay Thai, I assume), the happening and busy streets of Chaweng can be easily reached. 


Getting around
The friendly staff at the reception may help you with renting a motorbike. It costed me 200baht/day for an almost-emptied-tank bike. Gasoline is easily available almost everywhere at 40baht per bottle. 

Other options than the motorbike is taking tuk-tuk. You may flag one down anytime, anywhere. There are plenty of tuk-tuk passing by the FX particularly during the evening till late at night.

Room Tip: Paying extra RM30/night(in my case) for the Deluxe room doesnt worth it. My recommendation is the Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel was quite good. I loved the room and the friendly staff. The only low point I would say it is that is 10 minutes away from the beach (20 if you are looking for the more populated areas) and 20 minutes away from the centre (Green Mango Club on Beach Road) so I'd say it is quite a long walk especially at night. But there are plenty of taxis and scooters that will be more than happy to take you back to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#69 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Samui

Property: The Avenue Samui
Address: 3/55 Moo 2 Soi Poonsawas, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly FX Resort Chaweng)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Avenue Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue Samui, Koh Samui is a well-established resort perfectly suited for a relaxing getaway. Set amidst lush tropical garden in Chaweng area, this stylishly-designed resort is near Koh Samui's hottest spot and entertainment belt. It is situated within 5 minutes' walking distance to the beach and is only 15 minutes drive to Koh Samui International Airport. The resort features 75 spacious guestrooms, fully equipped with all essential in-room amenities to provide most comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Avenue Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fx Resort Chaweng Hotel Bophut
The Avenue Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing