We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place, charged extra for everything ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and weren't overly pleased. The staff wasn't so helpful, you have to pay for wifi in the room and the breakfast was gross. Location wasn't too great either. Rooms were nice and clean and the maid service was good. All around an average stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ricki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel! We moved here from a hotel that air con didn't work, and had small cramped rooms, and we're glad we did because the avenue was perfect. the rooms were big, modern, clean with a big bathroom and good shower, the air con was also very good. the room had a nice balcony and a TV with English channels. (the bed was also really comfy). the hotel is in a perfect location, less than a 10 minute walk away to the main area of koh samui, but with bars and shops around it. it also has a lovely rooftop pool, that was very quiet so we practically had it to ourselves. wifi is available in the lobby which was fine because who wants to sit in their bedroom on wifi all day anyway? I would 100% stay here again, it was perfect considering we were travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurynjade2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nice hotel, big balcony, very good breakfast. Problem was that the room was smelling slightly mould. There was gym also, but same smelling problem was over there. Over all nice hotel... Location was ok, walking distance to night market, shopping and to the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 days - the staff are nice, the room is basic but cleaned very well each day and we wer eout having fun so all we did was sleep here mostly.

Ok so good and bad:

GOOD:
Price is ok
Rooms are clean
staff are nice and helpful
location is decent
roof top pool is small but quite nice and gives you a good view

BAD
Floor 4 is covered with stains, looks like there's been a boodbath up there
room service food is average and overpriced
breakfast is terrible
they were building new apartments opposite so were woke up with banging each morning
Wifi goes off and on, not so great
Also here's a COCKEREL that wakes you up at 4 / 5 / 6 am every day, I wanted to strangle it

All in all I wouldn't go back but it's ok, nothing special, but I've stayed in worse

Room Tip: Try not to get one facing the building work. Serious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Spours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was expecting the hotel to be at least a little bit decent, considering it was more than twice the price of the plush 5* hotel we stayed in while in Bangkok. I could not have been more wrong.
There was mould on the bedsheets, mould on the shower curtain, mould on the curtains. Stains on the bedsheets and pillows. The tv didn't work either, not that I was there to watch tv but they shouldn't be advertising 'flat screen tvs' when in actual fact we going a small CRT television that didn't even work!
The key cards for entering the room were useless. Ours broke at least once a day, and the lady at the desk told me that we couldn't keep it near other credit cards or our phones. Great, where am I supposed to put the card other than my handbag, near my phone and credit cards?
The wifi was terrible. If I remember rightly it was about £4 a day which was pretty steep. It didn't work in my room and I had to sit on the floor of the corridor to get it working, and when it did work out there it was so slow that you couldn't really keep in contact with anyone back home.
Reception staff are also incredibly unhelpful and disinterested. Breakfast was okay, but it was just melon and bread that you had to toast yourself so it wasn't that hard to get wrong. You had a little sheet that you had to fill in each morning to pick what hot food you wanted. The food was pretty average but nothing to complain about.
We were here for 4 nights (during which time our bedsheets and towels were not changed once) before giving up on this hotel and relocating to a jungle chalet in a resort, which was a third of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nettle122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The FX Resort has been rebranded as 'The Avenue Hotel', which is a much more suitable name given that it's a hotel, not a resort. It's not far from the main road and only a 6-minute walk to the beach, but it's in an awkward area of Chaweng that feels like the type of place gentlemen come to relieve themselves in Thai company. The rooms and lobby are clean and renovated and the lady who works at the front desk is lovely; she let us have our pick of three rooms when we were unhappy with the first. One thing we loved about our room was the curtain-less glass shower, though that's because we're a young couple and not a family of four. The rest of the hotel is a little less refined - stains all over the hallway carpets and ants inside the cappuccino machine. The biggest no-no of all, however, is that The Avenue charges 100 baht per hour to use hotel WiFi.

Bottom line: there are a bazillion other hotels and resorts that are equally as nice and in much better locations for the same price as Avenue or less, with WiFi included.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mindythelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you want to spend no time at all at your hotel than this place is completely adequate, learn some Thai before you come as the English is very limited, requests like "extra pillows" come with a reply of "maybe later" and never arrive-not a huge problem but defiantly on the budget side of hotels, a bit run down and internet is 40 baht an hour or 400 for three days, air con in the rooms is limited to 25degrees so sleeping is a bit hard on hotter nights especially on the rock hard bed so daily massage needed! Not by the ocean and even though the hotel was practically empty we still got a room with a view of the side of a building. Don't rely on the hotels photographs they are VERY generous, lots of nicer places to stay for the same price on the beach- nice and quiet tho.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.4 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#27 of 104 in Chaweng
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#67 of 104 in Chaweng
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Diva Avenue Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Diva Avenue Samui

Address: 3/55 Moo-2 Soi Poonsawas, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly D Varee Diva Avenue Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: £17 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D Varee Diva Avenue Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui is a well-established resort perfectly suited for a relaxing getaway. Set amidst lush tropical garden in Chaweng area, this stylishly-designed resort is near Koh Samui's hottest spot and entertainment belt. It is situated within 5 minutes' walking distance to the beach and is only 15 minutes drive to Koh Samui International Airport. The resort features 110 spacious guestrooms, fully equipped with all essential in-room amenities to provide most comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your D Varee Diva Avenue Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fx Resort Chaweng Hotel Bophut
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing