We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We just stayed a night here as we wanted to see Chaweng before moving on and we were not expecting such a beautiful hotel.

This hotel is really great. The design is fabulous and quite original and the room comfort is tops. The bed was the biggest bed either of us had slept in and I had a most fantastic night's rest owing to the comfort.

Splendid furniture in the room. It is kind of a light coloured wood that I have not encountered before. No carpets meaning no dust too!

The pool is lovely with a nice pool bar. It is small but there are always parts that are shaded and parts in the sun.

Good wifi. Only the tv could be improved as while the tv itself was sizeable, there were few channels and only a couple in English.

Staff were excellent as was the location, being near the nicer part of Chaweng beach. We spent the next morning on the beach and the white sand and shallow calm sea was just magical.

Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

All Staffs are good service good, Nice location .Room small but comfortable,clean ,Have Pool bar!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Enjoyed our stay in Mercure. hotel is clean and modern only it's not on the beach, breakfast was ok could have been nicer if it's buffet, coffee is cold but just ask the guys there to microwave it;)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Tana for 5 nights this month, June 2012. Well what can we say, AMAZING.
We unexpectedly arrived early, however the front desk could not have been more helpful, we where immediately taken to our room, incredibly fast check in. The front desk staff showing us around the room and explaining how everything worked etc.
The room itself was in the words of my wife wonderful. We had a corner room with two windows, sitting area complete with table and two chairs. The king size bed was extremely comfortable for us and the linens of excellent quality. The bathroom was of a very high standard and contemporary design. The cleanliness was impeccable, house keeping did a very good job indeed on a daily basis if required.
The hotel has a small but extremely well maintained pool. Just the thing to relax by with a drink, a ready supply of fresh clean towels was also on hand at all times. The pool also has a poolside bar.
Now on our first day we met Lek the restaurant and bar supervisor and Aod the barman. They have got to be the friendliest most hard working people we have ever met. Nothing was to much trouble for them, nothing at all. Lek especially has that knack of making everyone seem special, at night she was always suggesting food for us not on the menu, which the excellent chefs would then prepare for us. With such people skills Lek is surely destined for great things in the hotel world. I would say we now class them as friends.
Sitting by the pool one day we happened to be chatting to a great guy and passed pleasant evening with. This turned out to be Terry, the hotel manager, although he didn't let on at first. The man is a gem, who shares the same ethos as his staff that nothing is too much trouble. An extremely approachable and friendly guy, always seeking guest opinions.
Although not on the beach, it is only a two or three minutes walk to the sea. The hotel is at the bottom end of the strip for shopping, bars etc. so near enough to everything but without the noise. The hotel is a peaceful oasis almost the bars etc of the strip.
As we have mentioned before the facilities at this hotel are second to none, it just goes to prove the point that bigger isn't always better.
We would like to thank the staff at the Mercure Tana for a truly wonderful and memorable stay, especially, Lek and Oad and not forgetting Terry.
Thanks again and we will see you in two years time.
We will post pictures as soon as we get home.

Room Tip: Treat the staff with the respect they deserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandchris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Conveniently located on Chaweng Beach road - just 2-3 min walk from the beach , plenty of food/shopping options nearby. Takes about a 15-20 min walk to get to the busy part of central Chaweng. Spacious and tastefully furnished room - with extra large beds. They also have a small but neatly laid out swimming pool. Staff are pleasant & helpful - but do not speak much English.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is really a very nice hotel. It's new, clean and has a cool modern architectural feel. It's just back from Chaweng Beach on the other side of the road. I think it was less than half the price of the resorts that are built the beach front.

It has a great swimming pool and pool bar, court yard and choice of two restaurants where you can have your breakfast/lunch if your feeling less adventurous.

The fantastic staff were always willing to help and there's a really friendly (& western educated) bloke running the place. (I think of Japanese heritage). I did have a problem with the air conditioning in my first room but they "upgraded" me to another room with a view of the street and working air-con. The first room I had was on the 2nd floor facing an internal leafy courtyard and other rooms.

Room Tip: The two rooms I stayed in were equally in quality and size. There were no views in these rooms to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a great boutique hotel just off the main main road of Chaweng, the beach is literally across the street and a few minutes walk to the hub of the "city". The hotel is clean, comfortable and stylish. It has a beautiful swimming pool and pool bar, pretty court yard where you can have your breakfast/lunch. The rooms are airy and air conditioned with king size beds, clean cotton linen, sliding door to own balcony, spacious bathroom with shower, walk in closet with safe. bar fridge and flat screen TV. Bath robes and slippers were provided along with complimentary bottled water (x 2 daily).
Euro 2012 had just started and we had a room facing a nearby bar, the noise from the bar kept us awake one night and the hotel staff were very accommodating and moved us into rooms away from the noisy area with a smile. All the hotel staff were friendly, helpful and always greeted us with a smile.
We peeped at a decorated bed for a honey moon couple, quite exquisite.
A very special thanks to Lek and Oad who have become our friends and made us feel right at home. The vibe is easy and relaxed, comfortable and pretty. All in all an excellent stay! There was nothing we couldn't ask for. We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the bar across the street during Euro 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
627 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £44 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing