We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ugly 4 story buildings about 10 feet away from my front door.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ugly 4 story buildings about 10 feet away from my front door.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Not sure what the deal with that is. Perhaps the hotel doesn't want to spend the money to demolish them. It's really wierd, but if they were gone then the hotel would be a lot nicer......maybe even put in a parking lot because now there is no place to park a car or motorbike except on the road outside of the hotel, but then the ugly buildings are blocking any view so that I cannot keep an eye on them. This is a problem because in Ko Samui, because there is no insurance on motorbikes and not much on the cars, so if they are damaged or stolen then the renter is responsible (and the motorbike places & car places usually hold the passport while one rents).
The staff was nice, the beach is close by. They have a couple restaurants attached to the hotel that are good. Clubs & Bars about a 15 minute walk which is not long at all.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sun when you open your front door, then ask to stay in the first half of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr. James

Thank you for your feedback during your stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. we are delighted to read that you enjoy our hotel location and hotel service.

Please accept my apologies for not having satisfied your needs up to your expectations regarding to the 4 story building nearby the hotel, as it is not our hotel building so hotel has no authorize to paint their building,however, we opt to put plants at least the cover that building.

However, we always offer room to guest by concerning to their comfort and good night sleep. All of our hotel rooms view are not blocked by the mentioned building from your room view but view from the corridor. however, if you do not like view, you can also opt to change at your room at your convenience time. Moreover, if you wish to park the car, car parking is available at the back of the hotel under an eyes of security guard 24 hrs.

Thank you once again for your comment and looking forward to have a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    293
    74
    7
    5
See reviews for
76
272
60
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were really happy with this hotel. Built in 2011, the building is quite new and clean. Room had everything you need (tip: beers and Doritos at the 7-11 down the road are cheaper than the mini bar!). The pool area looked nice but we opted to spend our afternoons on the beach. Chaweng beach has soft white sand and is great for swimming. This hotel is a little away from the action, but just a quick walk to the beach. You have to walk a bit to most places in Chaweng but this means that the room is nice and quiet for sleeping. Big comfy bed! Great A/C. Recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor, back of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Liz

It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback from our guests. Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana.

We are glad to hear that overall you had a great stay. In terms of the hotel location, Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana is situated just on the Chaweng road with 10 minutes walk to meet with shopping street.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and recommend our hotel. Wishing you a lovely weekend and we truely hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel gave me the creeps. Reception area and pool area are not bad, but the rooms suck. They seem to be aiming for a minimalistic style, but the result is a cold, bare room where floor, walls and ceiling are all bare cement. The extremely low bed makes you feel you are lying on the floor. I felt in prison, not on holiday. I moved out after one night. Suggest you find somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Mr. Jorulf

Thank you for taking your time to write the review during your stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for some of your less satisfactory experience about the room design. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products to better meet the needs of our guests.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Mercure in January 2014. The hotel rooms are nice and well looked after, they have everything you need in them. The breakfast staff were wonderful! They made us feel very welcome and remembered us every morning! Good location, everything you would expect from an Accor Mercure property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Bertie748

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you like the hotel service and facilities, had comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel.It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Samui again

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have a suite on the second floor, very nicely decorated as the whole hotel is. It's a town hotel so no view and that cannot be changed so the view in on the main road. Nevertheless we haven't been bothered by outside noises and we could sleep very well. What makes the hotel a jewel is the staff: attentive, gentle and collaborative. Our thanks to Ms Noon, Ms Be, Mr Tum and to all the others who made our stay very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear TheLing

Thank you for taking the time to share with us the feedback about your recent stay.

we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel,especially the friendliness of our staff, Noon, Bee and Tum. Your comments have been shared with the team and made them very proud and encouraging to strive for it every day.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Thailand.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Samui again

Regards
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Located right in the centre of Chaweng, restaurants and bars are within walking distance. There's a walking street minute away. Nice and clean hotel. Rooms are very spacious. The staff are helpfull and friendly. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Property: Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing