We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to Koh Samui for our honeymoon and we stayed in Mercure Tana hotel for about a week.
It was very cosy, very tidy and clean.

We were worried about the noise at night because the hotel is situated in a busy street. But since all the shops are closed early in this part if Chaweng, we didnt face any noise problem.

The wifi is good in all parts of the hotel.

The pool area is nice... you should try the shower by the pool, it's so refreshing!

Chaweng beach is at 2 minutes walk. Many shops and restaurants are just next to the hotel. And there is a place to rent a motorbike right across the street.

Breakfast was not bad as well. You can chose from a variety of thai food like cooked rice and fish... or international breakfast like coffee, tea, juice, corn flakes, pancakes, toast, yogurt, jam and butter, cheese... you can also have eggs: boiled, fried or omelette.

Concerning the bug bites, it seems that once you are in Thailand you tend to get a lot of bug bites. Just be sure to take the right precautions... it happened to many of my friends who went to different islands there.

Finally, all the staff were extremely nice and helpfull. They were always smiling wich makes you feel welcomed and comfortable... and that's the most important thing!

If we go back to Koh Samui, we would definetly stay in this hotel again.
Keep up the good work !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sand2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Sand2216

Thank you for sharing your recent positive experience of Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana with the TripAdvisor community. It's always glad to hear that our service meet with your satisfaction. we always seek to satisfy our guests, and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again when you are back to Samui

Warm Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    286
    71
    7
    5
See reviews for
73
264
60
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first stop on Koh Samui as part of an island hopping trip. We arranged a transfer from the airport prior to our arrival via email, the correspondences were very quick, polite and helpful. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport, ready with the air conditioning on, which was much appreciated due to some confusion in the arrivals hall which is outside!

When we arrived at the hotel we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. The room (a twin) was lovely and clean with a nice bathroom. Despite being in a busy area there was very little noise at night which was reassuring as we were a little worried by this when we arrived.

The pool area was really nice, with comfy loungers and 'bed' areas. However be careful on the bed areas as they are surrounded with plants and we discovered a lot of bites on us after an afternoon in the shade here! Some reviewers mention the pool area being covered in shade all day - we did not find this to be the case, obviously the sun moves throughout the day creating shady spots but this didn't appear to be a problem. If you don't want to be kept in the shade, choose a lounger nearest the courtyard area. Sadly we did not see the swim up pool bar opened once during our stay, it appeared to be being used as a storage area! Clean, fluffy towels were provided for guests to use on poolside.

The breakfast included a selection of Thai and continental options, with fresh juice, tea and coffee. You were also able to have an omelette, scrambled or fried eggs, cooked to order. All of the staff in the restaurant area at breakfast were incredibly friendly and helpful with local information etc.

There was free wifi available, however we didn't find the signal to be very strong or receptive in our room on the 4th floor. It was very good in the restaurant/breakfast room and around the pool.

I would definitely return to the Mercure if I was in this area of Chaweng again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hats13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Hats13

It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback from our guests. Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana.

We are glad to hear that overall you had a great stay. In terms of the hotel location, Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana locates towards the south end of Chaweng beach and to walk in The walk to the centre of Chaweng where most of the night life takes about 20 mins and always just a few seconds away to get plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and recommend our hotel. Wishing you a lovely weekend and we truly hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

המלון היה זול יחסית לבתי מלון אחרים והדהים אותנו ברמת שרות גבוהה ונקיון . הצוות מקסים,החדר נוח והרהיטים והציוד חדישים. הנאה אחד גדולה.
very clean.very comfortable,everything is new,the staff polite and helps with everything we asked for, the kids loved the pool and the brekfast was very good
wifi was very good

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmarianailia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and efficient staff!! Many shops and restaurants around. The room was modern, clean. Great pool. The breakfast was really good and the woman at the bar was so nice. You should go to the samuilian's bar which is really close to the hotel. I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybone82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Jaybone82

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you like the hotel location and hotel facilities, had comfortable stay especially staff service. l.It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Warm Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice, safe, and clean overall.

The location is good for us. Not right in the middle of the action but not too far of a walk or taxi ride either. The hotel does NOT own their own beach access but their is access across the street through a hotel currently being built. Just take a right out of the hotel and cross the street. If you go through there, be sure to try the little restaurant/bar that you'll immediately see.

The hotel has Wi-Fi but we found it very,very slow. Other restaurants we went to in the immediate area were much quick so it wasn't a local thing.

Their restaurant should be avoided. It's overpriced bad food. We ordered the chicken pad thai and club sandwich. Pad thai was sticky and cold with a fishy taste. The french fries brought with my club sandwich were cold and stale.

I brought the pad thai back down to give them another chance with a chicken burger. 15 to 20 minutes later and the order had still not been delivered. At this point we gave up and I cancelled. They said it was because of a big order that came in but that's not going to work for me. A redo should take priority and microwaving a chicken breast doesn't take that long.

Pool does not get much sun due to the surrounding building covering it up. Also we NEVER saw a bartender at the swim up bar. Very disappointing.

Joey and Na at the front desk were very helpful. Thanks you two!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Shawn N

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana.

Please accept my apologies for not having satisfied your needs up to your expectations regarding hotel service and facilities. We will ensure that it will not occurrence again to the other guests.

Thank you for your important remarks which are very helpful for us to rectify our product and service in the near future.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We booked for 8 nights and stopped an extra 7, the staff were amazing and would do anything for us. Breakfast was awesome, no faults, room and bathroom awesome, location amazing, not in the centre, on the edge so nice and quiet with just a 10 minute walk to centre. We will go back!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark 'donny' R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
158 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel for 3 nights as we had stayed here before and really liked it. Well, it was great again.
Reception allowed us to check in at 11.50 am, which was really very kind of them. The room was in good condition with a big comfortable bed. Our room was very quiet and we were able to sleep well. The pool is still great, although it would be even better if they could put someone on the pool bar during opening hours and have it functioning all the time.
Access to the beach looks like it is going to change, as there is the beginning of a construction site on the access path, but once there you can see the reason why this hotel is so well located. In my opinion, this is the best stretch of beach in Chaweng.
Staff were always polite and smiled at guests when they walked by, particularly the lovely cleaning staff. The hotel has a good bar, which is quite relaxing after a day on the beach. Would certainly stay at this hotel again, although Chaweng is really changing and is getting too busy now.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear wanderingoff

Thank you for returning to stay with us again and sharing your comment during your stay with us.

We are delighted to read such positive words regarding your experience with us especially staff service as your comfortable and happiness are our main priority.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#49 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
7.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Property: Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing