We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and so cheap!!!”
Review of Green Bird

Green Bird
Ranked #18 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious and so cheap!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great place to grab a bite to eat just off the main road in the markets. The staff were so friendly, and the food was great!

We tried chicken pad thai, spring rolls and glass noodles in egg (can't remember the thai name).

Would highly suggest for a great bite to eat, that is also quick too!

We had dinner twice at Green Bird!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VanBorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    416
    128
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not worth the value”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It is at best a street food joint experiment, but even thai street food is better than food here. The only reason this place figures in trip advisor list is because of the faulty rating system.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadkyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing !!!! ”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I have no idea what are people talking about....the food was average. I had much better food in other places in Samui. We paid 710 bat for a meal we would have paid 400 in other places. The waiter recommend a dish for 180 bat that we didn't like at all and he said he can't replace it. There is no AC ...it's an ok place, I wouldn't run to look for it especially.....

Helpful?
Thank yarongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too spicy to eat for non-spice lover but authentic Thai food.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It simply was my own tolerance stopping me eating the food here. You know a restaurant's good when the locals are eating here, which added to the dining experience. Very casual - shorts, singlets & sandals would be acceptable attire. There was a mixture of both local thai and tourists. We got the last table and people were waiting to be seated. They seemed quite keen for us to order and get the ball rolling (totally fair enough).
The walls are covered with A4 pieces of paper that their local/international customers have written how awesome the place/food is. Quite cool.
I ordered a massaman curry and asked for no spice and it looked and smelt delicious. However I'm pretty sure it was pre-made and they add dried chili in at your request (pretty standard). So the pre-made curry was too spicy for me to eat, especially in the beginning of low season and no air-con (after arriving from winter in New Zealand).
Simon and I had a main each, 2 Tiger beers, 1 coke light, 2 waters and 1 coconut which was 480 baht. It doesn't get much better than that!!!
During our trip we've eaten at quite a few 5star restaurants around Koh Samui and this was a fantastic contrast to immerse yourself in a local setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central coast australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best yet”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We ate her last night and I can definitely say this has been the best Thai food we have had thus far on our Thailand trip. Having eaten at some beautiful restaurants in khao lak and Samui this has been the highlight. We will be back before heading home. Very well priced too. Don't miss this place.

Helpful?
Thank ausiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Bird also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Green Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing