We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible dining experience, but food needs improvement”

Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar
Ranked #9 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$75
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Incredible dining experience, but food needs improvement”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to dine at table 7, which offers the best views in the house. The view of the sun setting over the beach was truly unforgettable and for this reason, I would recommend the earlier sitting to take advantage of the views.

The service was superb, as per the rest of the resort.

Our main complaint as the food. It is beautifully presented, but it felt a little style over substance as none of the courses were a taste sensation, which was disappointing as it would have made the experience perfect. Another issue were the very small measures of wine when bought by glass - very overpriced for what felt like a thimbleful of wine.

All in all, this was a superb experience, but needs improving to make it truly worthy of the cost.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sianevans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear SCE,

I am sorry to hear that we haven’t been able to live up to our own high standards when it comes to flavors of food and would like to apologize for it.

I will also check on the wine pouring to ensure that we are consistent.

Your comments are appreciated and we hope being able welcoming you back one day for another try.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    230
    107
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing dining experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Definitely a must do dining experience when in koh samui. The views are beautiful. The staff are excellent & the food is delicious. The salt & knife guru was a big hit. This was a highlight of our holiday. Don't forget to book!!

Helpful?
Thank trenna1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for dining with us and leaving such a positive comment about your experience.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had our last night in samui dining at this restaurant. It was a lovely setting, felt quite private as other tables are spaced a nice distance away. Service was fantastic, the salt sommelier was a novelty touch, and some of the salts offered were really good! We had the tasting menu and was very tasty. Would definately return if we are in samui again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear laura w,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us and looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food was fantastic”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The food here was excellent and easily the best food we ate whilst in Samui. It is however expensive (£150 for 2 with wine and a cocktail each). The service was excellent and the staff were both friendly and attentive. They asked, when we booked, if it was a special occasion and presented us with a free dessert marked up with 'anniversary' on. It isn't the best value for money, but if it is a special occasion or if money is no object, then eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blok103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Blok103,

Thank you very much for dining with us and congratulations on your anniversary again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a lovely restaurant in a stunning setting, We found the offering of different salts and showing us which knife to use rather pretentious and a gimmick to justify the high prices. The service and food was good and I can see why clients would go there for a special occasion

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozza7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear lozza7,

Thank you for your visit and comments.

As you might see in other reviews, most of our guests appreciate the pretentious gimmicks of salt and knives (we are adding music now!!). The imported salt is in fact very expensive but is not the only reason why we are priced above the average.

Nevertheless, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing