We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, does what it says on the tin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moby Dick Guesthouse

Moby Dick Guesthouse
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Moby Dick Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No frills, does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Ok rooms at decent rates which cater for the backpacker on a budget. However, the noise at night is loud! We both had ear plugs and could still hear the bass thumping through our ears!

Would also add that we went for a air con room (600 baht), as these rooms were on the floor above the pub and had access to the WiFi router (positioned in the bar), I would not recommend doing this - the WiFi is the worst I have ever used - off more times than it's on and when it did work it was slow!

In summary, good place to stay if you want no frills place, perfect if you plan on going out at night and sleep in the day! Hotel is located nearby all local bars and clubs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    9
    9
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My freind had stayed at this hotel for five times previous years and always adviced it. It is not the ritz but it has everything you want from in thailand, aircondiditoing and chang when ever you want it plus food. The staff are amazing the bar girls are amazing. If you want to sleep at night dont stay here as there a night club next door and music gets played untill early hours of the morning. But I had a blast there. I had my 21st Birthday there and they threw me a party and it was superb, everybody had a great time! definitely stay here if you want a party thai exsperience!!

Room Tip: There is rooms on top floor which i advice to take they are a bit more exspensive but worht it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Room itself was ok, had air conditioning and tv. However staff were very unhelpful, and we had hardly any sleep as there was loud music until about 6am. Don't stay there unless you would be out partying all night!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the road - it might be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Helsinki
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The guesthouse is in central of chaweng where the best nightclubs and pubs are. Good location. Short distance to the beach and Chaweng mainroad shops.
Room was airconned and had bathroom, balcony, TV, fridge. It was cheap (600baths) and clean.
Downstairs is restaurant and pub. Good breakfast, good food and good beer. Not expensive at all. There is also 3 excelent pool tables. I watched also lots of football from the big screen there is.
Very nice, happy and helpful staff. I had a good time there and i'm definetly going back. there!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed here for a night in June 2006. It was one of the worst night's sleep I've ever had. In fact I don't think I even slept. I ended up getting up again and going back out.

The "hotel" - it's actually more of a hostel, I don't recall a reception even - is right smack bang in the middle of all the bars at 'Green Mango', so music blasts right through the night. The rooms were very basic. Bedding was crap, tele was crap, I don't recall having a bathroom, it must have been pokey if we did, and I recall there being spiders climbing the walls as well.

If you're just looking for somewhere to stash your bags for the day and go out, this is a decent bet, as I think it was about £5/£10 a night to stay there.

There are no facilities that I remember, such as swimming pool or restaurants. I'm pretty sure it's just rooms. Can't even remember there being lifts.

This is getting worse. I'll leave it there!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterSob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Good Points - Cheap rates, Free wifi (but only in the bar downstairs), Cable TV and DVD player, Very central location (right in the middle of the bar circuit)

Bad Points - Rooms weren't very clean, Bathroom was grotty, Music from the bar downstairs was so loud, no sleep till 5am when it was eventually turned off :(

+ Only stayed for one night then moved to another hotel 5mins walk from the bars and clubs, which was the same price and a lot better value for money. Unless you really want to be right in the middle of it all, and plan to be drunk a lot, don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenvizz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Terrific. I actually went here a while ago but could never find it on Tripadvisor. Now I notice it is under B and B, instead of hotel.
Firstly I'm not a big clubber these days but I seriously did not really notice much noise from the clubs in the immediate vacinity. I was usually exhausted from the heat, swimming and walking and eating. The eating started off each day with a big breakfast at the English/Irish bar attached to the bottom of the hotel. Usually kept me going until the evening meal.
The owners are terrific; amazingly friendly and helpful. And as for the air in the rooms I have seriously never experienced such terrific AC! 110 outside; igloo inside. Bed was great, we had a fridge and saw no bugs.
The one thing I will say is that the vent in the bathroom had no grid on it, so potentially large creatures could have got in. I just hung up a map of samui over the hole! Great to have a balcony too. Will say, although I didn't hear the clubs, the hotel is right on the flightpath to the airport and there can be some aircraft noise. Centrally located; just ask the cabbie for Burger King in central Chaweng and it is right behind it. Great food and bargains on the main street both north and south of the guest house. The place is not on the beach so maybe combine a stay here with a stay elsewhere on the beach. We did that. But this place had no bugs and that could not be said of those on the beach. Solid 4. Almost a 5. Very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.0 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#70 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan Rom Mai
Baan Rom Mai
#17 of 65 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.0 mi away
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Guesthouse

Property: Moby Dick Guesthouse
Address: 168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location in Chaweng Beach Road in the middle of night time entertainment area called Green Mango. Short walking distance to the beach, spas, shopping, restaurants and night clubs. Free Safety Box and WiFi. Restaurant and Bar. All rooms recently renovated in November 2012. Best place in Koh Samui if you want to party!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Moby Dick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing