We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay room but awful location”

Moby Dick Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moby Dick Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Koh Samui without checking out any accommodation and not read any reviews, so we were happy to find a clean triple room just off of the main road at a decent price. The aircon worked very well and it all seemed good. However when we returned to our room later we realised that we had failed to notice the nightclub next door which was now pounding with loud music. Till after 6am. So if you're going to stay here, either have amazing sleeping abilities, earplugs or sedatives.

I accidentally left my Kindle in the room and phoned later in the day from another resort in the island. The cleaning lady had handed it in so I was very happy and the people at this guesthouse had redeemed it but sadly the location was too big an issue to give this a recommendation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bangarara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with 5 other friends. It is in a perfect location if you are here to party. Unfortunately we had just come from none stop partying at the full moon party on Koh Phangan so we were actually looking for a chill out and the other reviews about the noise are right but if you are there and you choice not to go out stick some ear plugs in and it's fine.

The rooms are really big and spacious with a comfy king size bed, fridge and TV.

Downstairs has four really good pool tables in the bar.

Also has a nice rooftop balcony which is perfect for having a predrink and chill out for before you head out to the clubs.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Loud place. Manager pestering us to write a review while our breakfast was going cold. Toasty with chips, No sign of the chips and the side salad it was supposed to come with was a half an onion... On a plus could do the three S's at the same time the wet room which was so small. Either fall into the sink shutting the door or splits over the toilet pan. was really that small " sh##..shower...shave'' over priced dump in a poor area with Lady boys everywhere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Hi! Sorry to hear your stay in Moby Dick wasn't a good one. I am also sorry that I disturbed you while your where getting your food. You could have complained me in person if you were not satisfied with what you ordered. We could have fixed there and then instead of you writing about your bad memories of toasty with chips and half of onion?? We had reopened our kitchen recently to the date of 29.12.2013 when you stayed in the guesthouse, so we had some new staff. I have to personally say that our new cook is excellent & fast and I enjoy the delicious meals he is cooking. About the noise... I have always told people that we are situated in the middle of the night time entertainment area called Green Mango so we are located in the heart of Chaweng on a street full of bars and night clubs. Not suitable place for people who want to have early nights and don't want to party. And I am sorry that you felt that I was pressurising you for a review. I am extremely sorry now that I talked to you at all. Makes me think twice should I try to be nice and talk with my customers as I usually do or should I just ignore them.Hope you had nicer time at the rest of your holidays in Thailand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Wow.The loudest and dirtiest place we've stayed in Thailand for sure.Ringing in at 900 baht a night we guessed we'd get a decent guesthouse but boy were we mistaken.Dont get me wrong i wasn't expecting a five or hell even a 2 star pad but common.First of all we were given a key for a room someone else was staying in...weird.Manager quickly gave us another key for a "made up room" which smelled awful and looked like something out of a bad movie.Music literally pounded all night.Pretty sure we were bit by bed bugs all over our backs and legs from matress covered in sheets that resembled used civil war bandages.Do your self a favor and just sleep in a ditch or on the beech instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler636436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

I am sorry to hear that you had a nightmare stay in our guesthouse. You had a awful time the minute you put your foot into Moby Dick Guesthouse. Did you not read all the information about the location of our guesthouse. We are located in the middle of the busiest part of Chaweng in the Green Mango which is full of bars and have two nightclubs. You could have come back to downstairs as soon as you realised you didn't like your room and this location wasn't right one for you and I could have give your money back. Then you could have gone and sleep on the beach. Hopefully you had good time on the rest of your holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

3 girls travelling around Thailand, were used to hostels but this was the most expensive place we stayed and the worst.
Although it was only £24 for 3 of us per night it was still the most expensive place we stayed.
Read reviews before about the music and it didn't bother us because we were playing on going out and getting back early hours anyway, but on days when we were doing trips and had to be up at 7am was a nightmare.
The nightclub situated directly next to our room didn't stop til 6am and it was so loud our mirror and windows were shaking. We were greeted by dirty sheets and towels and hairs left in the bed from the previous person, so room clearly were not cleaned and bitten by bed bugs multiple times. Stale wee under the toilet seat and a used condom left on the balcony, so we were left with the happy memories of the person last in the room! Also, it didn't bother us as much as the cleanliness of the hotel but it was (unknowingly to us, until our friend showed us the 'seedy area') situated right in amongst the dodgy bars, but go in the next street and you've got Green Mango! Other than that room are basic, if they were clean and the club next door stopped paying their music at about 3 it would be fine, but worst experience we had in Thailand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xesiuol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

It's cheap and you get what you pay for. Staff was friendly enough when we asked to change to an air con room. Though the room we got changed to balcony door wouldn't shut which did make us (as 2 girls) feel rather unsafe. saying this we reported it to the night staff and it was fixed the next day.
Room was clean and that's all we wanted from a 3 night stay.
Yes it is loud both from the club next door and the airport traffic but this is not the hotels fault. And to be honest we were so tired when we got in we fell right asleep.
I would recommend this to backpackers on a budget who will be out partying until late. Anyone else this isn't for you.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Chrissi_loutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very good food and helpful staff would do anything that was needed sun cream money changed trips booked all in all best irish pub in the world including ireland And great food staff the best of fun Conor Peter Jason Larry peter

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conorcullinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Guesthouse

Address: 168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: £8 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moby Dick Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location in Chaweng Beach Road in the middle of night time entertainment area called Green Mango. Short walking distance to the beach, spas, shopping, restaurants and night clubs. Free Safety Box and WiFi. Restaurant and Bar. All rooms recently renovated in November 2012. Best place in Koh Samui if you want to party!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moby Dick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing