We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, but really loud hotel”
Review of Sound Hotel Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sound Hotel Samui
Ranked #53 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed there in December 2013 for 3 days. The hotel is very clean and well kept, beds done nicely, nice pool, people. The place was at a good price, so we decided to stay here. Unfortunately the only thing, and quite a major thing, is the constant music and noise that goes all night long. We got some earplugs the 2nd night, so that helped out quite a lot. It's a bit strange that a hotel court/pool needs to pump heavy loud house music until 2 in the morning, when there is absolutely nobody there. Not recommended for anyone that wants to sleep before 6am. We'll definitely not stay there again and resort to a place, where you actually have an option of sleeping when you want.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the red light district, since that's quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dariusz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for the pool and party people.
It like the hard rock hotel in las vegas, awesome place to party and chill at the pool. Sleeping however wasnt possible before 6am when the disco and bars directly behind hotel closed.
I think if they added double sided windows and a single solid window in thr bathroom, sleeping might be an option.
If u want to party and stumble home then relax at the pool this hotel would be ideal. However since i was with my gf, it wasnt exactly what we were looking for. We wanted t enjoy the beautiful pool , but kinda oiintelss when we didnt wake up until 2pm due to all the noise.
The front desk manager , Note was awesome. Helped find good restaurants, nice salon for my girls nails and also helped us navigate the ridiculous taxi and tuk tuk rip offs that were everywhere, note was great and very helpful.
Hotel pool and room were good, just the noise was unbearable when we came home at 1 am to sleep. Not possible....

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikey_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Pros:
1) Rooms are modern and clean.
2) Staff is friendly.
3) Loved the location. Near to party area and main shopping place. Nightlife is best around this place.
4) Fair price.
Cons:
1) There is music till morning. It didnt bother me as I was partying all night and slept only in morning.

If you are in Samui to party and fun , this place is great because of its location. If you ware on a trip to relax this may not be the right place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunNbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Nice new place, cheap at just over 1,000 baht per night. AC, TV, Fridge etc close to night life and restaurants etc. There was a bit of building work outside but didn't really bother us. Good budget option for Chaweng.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Booked Xin City from Agoda whilst in Samui on the day of stay for two nights - because it was a late purchase, we only paid about $42 per night, so fair price. The hotel looks reasonably new and the rooms are modern and clean. There is supposed to be free wifi, however it wasn't working when we were there...not sure if that is always that case or not. There is a TV in the room, shampoo and conditioner as well - it was not pumping though, so just ended up buying our own. The pool is on the roof and it was clean.

This place is very loud from about 8pm with loud music from neighbouring bars. I have stayed at the other end and middle of Chawang before and this is by far the noisiest. It was frustrating! I am sure if you are coming here to party, it would be great, but it wasn't a great choice for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingcee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Very clean hotel but unless you are planning to party all night and come in at 6am to sleep then its ok, but other than that its loud all night long. You can hear 4-5 different bars playing music all night until 6 am. For the price you can stay some where else and get some sleep. Not recommended for families with children. Only adults that party all night and don't mind all the music playing. But very clean inside.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flygaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Hotel : New hotel in a complex with certain areas still under construction. The hotel is located right smack in Soi Mango, the entertainment district of Chaweng Beach with restaurants, bars, clubs, massage, money changers and shops at your doorstep. The reception is small with staff quite clueless about what is going on. There is a cafe restaurant and a Mediterranean / Middle Eastern restaurant in the complex. There is no free internet access and no gym. The swimming pool is small and looked poorly maintained. Beach towels are available at reception. While the hotel is located at Chaweng Beach, it is not a beach front hotel. Access to the beach is limited as resorts on the beach front do not allow non guest / public access to the beach through their properties. You may need to find your own path or ask reception to show you a short cut. I took about 15 minutes to walk to the Beach through a short cut.

Room: Clean but very, very small standard room. I would not recommend it if you are claustrophobic or have lots of luggage. There is no wardrobe, just hangers over a metal rail. The room has window, aircon, minibar, ensuite with hot/cold shower, TV and comfortable pillows and mattress.

Additional info: As the hotel is located at Soi Mango, I would not recommend it for light sleepers as music thumps until 5.00am. Also, the foyer area of this complex host a noisy night market/bazaar every Monday and Thursday until 11.00pm...again, not recommended if you are an early sleeper. A recent internet search revealed that the hotel has just increased its room rates. The new rates are not value for money considering the size of the room and the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabaiwanderer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,599 reviews
0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
1,362 reviews
0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,951 reviews
0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sound Hotel Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sound Hotel Samui

Address: 168 / 7 Moo. 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Xin City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Hotel Class:3 star — Sound Hotel Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sound Hotel Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sound Hotel Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing