We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel”
Review of Embassy Lakeview

Embassy Lakeview
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Lakeview
Ranked #28 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've been staying in embassy lakeview for 5 days and Luigi the owner was very helpful and welcoming
Being solo I had to pay for two to have my own room so the value for money was good but not great, if you travel in couple or with friends it's a great value for money though
The room had a fan and a large double bed, it was quite dark and had only the necessary
The showers and toilets were a bit crowded with Mosquitos but my room didn't have any (luckily)
The location was quite good, easy to go to the Main Street (around 5 minutes) and to the beach (around 10)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is one of the best budget hotels I've ever stayed in. The location is great, away from the noise of the main street but close enough to walk. The rooms are clean and decent sized. The facilities work, are clean and have hot water. The restaurant is undisputably the best Italian in Thailand. Seriously good Italian food, all cooked by the owner and at a very reasonable price. I would never stay anywhere else if I was back in Samui.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were looking for a budget room in chaweng, and from what we found online, embassy looked like a good bet.
We were greeted by the owner, Luigi, and shown to our room. For the price we were paying, we were pleasantly surprised at the room we got. It is basic but it's all u need in my opinion, comfy double bed, fan, tv and DVD player (which Luigi has a large selection of films u can borrow for free). The room was very clean, as were the shared toilets and showers. Location is great! Only 5 minute walk to the main strip, meaning your not bothered by the noise from the clubs but still in very easy walking distance.
Luigi is top guy! Very friendly and helpfull. Great cook! Had a pizza and a bolognese while there that were on par with my Nonno's cooking! Very ralaxed chilled out vibe in the bar, great taste in music, and happy for you to play your own.
Would definitely recommend if your looking for a cheap room, and will be heading straight here if I am in chaweng again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We searched around to find a nice place and found that Embassy was in a nice location and by far the cheapest around, There was a slight problem with an overbooking the first night but Luigi arranged for us to stay in another guesthouse and payed the difference for us.

The rooms were basic, bed, TV and fan. Both the door and window opened into the corridor which remained relatively cool, so if you opened both and positioned the fan in the right place, you had your own heat exchange system. There was also a DVD player and heaps of films you could borrow for free. The shared bathrooms were always clean and tidy.

Now, the food. Luigi is a decent cook, in fact as I'm writing this my girlfriend is asking if we can email him to get a recipe or 2. It, like the room, is also really cheap. Luigi is a top bloke, has a great taste in music which he'll have playing in the restaurant and then there's Lulu (I think) his little pup who was adorable.

We'll Definitely stay here again if we come back to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Came here after finding it on hostel world and was very glad we did, only booked 2 nights and stayed for 7. It was, from what we saw, the cheapest place around but was really good and easily close enough to the main strip and beaches. The pizzas are amazing! And lovely coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexm9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Upon first visit to Koh Samui it was difficult to find cheap and easily accessible accomodation. Hostel World lead us to 'Embassay Lakeview' which was only $14 per night split between myself and a friend. A relative bargain for Thailand. The initial visit was a tad surprising as the hostel was quite small and from the outside a little secluded. However once we met the owner, and were taken to our room, happiness increased. The Owner, named Luigi, is simply put a legend. The warm welcome and Italian accent made for a comfortable living arrangement. We enjoyed watching the Satellite TV with free reign over the channels while Luigi cooked the most amazing Italian food I've ever eaten. Pasta and pizza were incredible. One minor, very minor drawback from the hostel is it's location, which still only takes a 5-10 minute walk to the main strip. I would recommend anyone looking for cheap and friendly accommodation to stay with Luigi and his hostel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We turned up at the Emb@ssy guesthouse with no reservation, and they had no room for us at the guesthouse, but they had a room available at another of their guesthouses - Embassy Lakeview. (I couldn't find Embassy Lakeview on here so I'm including it under Embassy).

Nice cosy room with air conditioning and TV with DVD player including some DVD's.

Eventhough the guesthouse was not on the main road with all the pubs etc, there was a lot of noise through the air con with people outside talking ALL NIGHT. It was very annoying, and very hard to sleep with all the noise.

Also, there were lots of ants in the shower room and toilets - perhaps they could try and keep them away somehow. The showers and toilets were communal and therefore not in our room so the ants problem was not in the room.

I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to others, but would advise you to keep away from room number 1 where the problem with the noise through the air con. I'm sure that wouldn't be much of a problem if we were in another room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#158 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Smile Hostel
Baan Smile Hostel
#20 of 73 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Panupong Apartment
Panupong Apartment
#7 of 73 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
S.P. Chaweng Palace
S.P. Chaweng Palace
#19 of 65 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Park Place
Chaweng Park Place
#41 of 73 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Lakeview

Property: Embassy Lakeview
Address: 14/94, Moo 2, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Embassy Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Lakeview Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing