We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is a must in Chaweng !!!”

Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Closed during April for renovation. Khaw Glong Too is open. Homestyle Thai food cooked only with fresh ingredients.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is a must in Chaweng !!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The food in this restaurant is just amazing !!!
It is a definite must if you are in Chaweng.
The owner is very nice and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Naftanaila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    208
    51
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Level Contributor
529 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great Thai restaurant, just outside of busy Chaweng.
Lovely staff serve delicious dishes and drinks.
Very good prices absolute value for money.
very well recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSilvainMooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

After 15mins finding around the area that map showed, i was about go back to my hotel (OP Bungalow) and surprised that the restaurant hide itself in the corner, next to "big green bank", in the side road leading to OP Bungalow. I ordered deep fried shrimp, mango salad and fried rice in pineapple. I was full to unbreathable cos 3 dishes for one person seems too much. Mango salad is my recomendation for very Thais salad.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kohji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top thai food at a great price!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The last review made me a bit sceptical about this place, but boy I'm glad I gave it a go. A small family run restaurant, serving local produce, we went for red curry with shrimp and sweat and sour chicken. We also ordered two rice dishes (one pineapple and rice, the other stir fry rice with chicken). Both rice dishes could have easily been main courses by themselves!! The chef, a little thai lady, came out to see if my red curry was too spicy, which it wasn't. It eas right on the money. The food was really tasty and great value. All out food and drinks came to 1400 bhat. Under £15!!! Can't go wrong with that. Give it a go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpdoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big disapintment”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Went there yesterday with my family. We were 5 people who had read all the good reviews on TA. We first waited 30 minutes for a table on a nearby bar. That is no problem. The problems just started when we ordered food. They were sold out from almost all kind of seafood except shrimps. They had no fruit shakes what so ever. I understand that seafood can sell out but no fruit??? I mean how hard can it be for them to buy some fruit if they sell out?

All 5 of us got the food at totally different times. My appetizer came after my main course. And to put the final anger on things my boyfriend did not get his food at all. They simply forgot... We were not impressed. They have like 7 table so it shouldn't be hard to give a little more service. The food we got was ok, but not worth coming back..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isareeyaporn Y, Proprietario at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Stinem,

I am sorry to read your comment about our restaurant and I have to apologize for not having given you a good service that night. I have to admit that you came in the most busy day for us during this season and that we had been overwhelmed with work on that day having been continuously full since opening in the morning. Our restaurant is small and we always buy only the amount of food that we expect to use for a single day, fresh ingredients make the difference, to conserve food is not a good thing in Thailand climate and with the size of our restaurant... including fruit... Given what was left and the time of the day (it was quite late) we should have politely asked you to come back the next day... we did not want to do that since you had waited long to get a table but having you and giving you a bad service was a worse choice. We are a family business, we try to do our best to give to our customer the best possible food and service ... we apologize again for having failed with you, we invite you to come back if you are still in Samui we are sure we will give you a better experience this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing