We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Budget Place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saver Guesthouse

Saver Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saver Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Decent Budget Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This was a fairly average budget option. For 400B per night, you won't find anywhere cheaper in the high season in Samui and this is nicely located next to the popular (and probably the nicest beach on the island) Hat Chaweng. The room was okay, mostly wooden, quite clean but extremely hot almost 24/7 (exclusive of the coldest hours around 3-7am). The bathroom was shared and wasn't even hot water. No worries, the water was always lukewarm and hot showers aren't a necessity here, especially when you've come out of your boiling hot fan room. The bathrooms were, at best, averagely clean. I think they were cleaned every two days. The room itself, however, could be requested to be cleaned daily which was surprising.

Samui is perhaps the most built up Thai island (unless you count Phuket). It is certainly not the most picturesque but it still has a good amount going for it. Chaweng Beach is pure white and the sea is wonderfully clear. In fact, the whiteness of the sand and clarity of the sea is probably unmatched on any other beach I have visited. That said, the area is busy, the main tourist hotspot on the island, and it lacks the charm of other beaches on Phangan, Phi Phi, Krabi province. An advantage of Saver Guesthouse is that it is located at the southern end of the beach, which is the quietest and prettiest part. You can sea some of the sunset from the other end of the island from here.

For the money, if you're travelling on a budget, this is certainly worthwhile. If you have enough money, however, you're likely to find something nicer elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Me And my friend had a great time here!
The room was clean and big. Nice television, but only Thai channels. The bathroom is Nice. Our hot shower was a little too hot, so we turned it off.
The staff was friendly! The price (700 b) for a double airco room could be less expensive. Its a Nice place just a little off from the road, so its quiet.

It can be hard to Find, but tell the motorbike/taxi driver bring you to taalay/baan tay(?) resort. You will see the sign from Saver on the plastic board next to the family Mart.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a great place for my budget - only 400 baht a night for a shared bathroom. The room was extremely clean - and you could get it cleaned as often as you wanted which was excellent. The bathroom was a bit of a hit and miss for cleanliness - some days it was great, other days not so much. Not sure how often they cleaned it, possibly every 2 days. But in general it was good.

If you get hot easily I would recommend an air con bungalow for a bit more as the rooms did get really really hot, so we left the door open quite a lot. But if you don't visit during the hot season (March - May) then you should be ok.

The location was great - to get to the beach you only have to cross the road and walk through one of the resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This guesthouse is well kept compared to a lot i've seen... the rooms are very clean and well maintain. The shared toilets were always very clean and looked after too... great for backpackers on a budget wanting to visit this island.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elysia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

All good- location, price, service and cleanness. Only annoying thing is shared bathroom so I had to get dressed every time I wanted to pee, but bathrooms aren't busy.
Room is pretty big, tv in here.
Worth recommendation for budget travelers :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank technodeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
MM House
MM House
#54 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#62 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Noi Resort
Chaweng Noi Resort
#30 of 65 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
DD Guest House & Backpacker
0.0 mi away
Lotus Friendly Hotel
Lotus Friendly Hotel
#16 of 65 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saver Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saver Guesthouse

Property: Saver Guesthouse
Address: 30/4 Moo 3Chaweng Beach, Bouphut, Koh Samui, Suratthanni 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saver Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saver Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing