We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoils Samui”

Chaweng Boxing Stadium
Ranked #6 of 29 things to do in Chaweng
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spoils Samui”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The advertising of the stadium every day and night via loud speakers on boats and cars. Do we really have to be subjected to this every day on the beach? Tacky and one reason why I won't visit the stadium.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sev1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    290
    133
    35
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good fight worth watching!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Surprised that the fights are serious and very exciting. Though the environment was worn out but the atmosphere was good enough to compensate that. Besides, I think there is no need to buy the First Class as the venue was quite small and you can watch the fights clearly even sitting at the back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnoopyFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
316 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 718 helpful votes
“Action Packed & Predictable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

As soon as you arrive in Koh Samui you're senses will be assaulted by two different competing Muay Thai Boxing events held weekly - their vans with loudspeakers will trawl up and down Chaweng beach road and posters and handbills will appear everywhere. Having said that - go for a night and you'll either love it or hate it. We loved it.

Purely based on schedules we attended the Chaweng Boxing Stadium and were fortunate enough to have our hotel driver in tow when we arrived - he spoke with the big man at the counter and hey presto we got ringside seats without an additional fee. Nice.

No food as such but plenty of tray service - beer and watered down spirits and sodas. However the westerner who is the MC however provides plenty of 'cheese' in his announcements!

The boxing is not bad - seems to have a similar formula to other Muay Thai events we've attended - the opening few matches feature very young fellows boxing (the first fight ended with a brutal knockout that made pretty much everyone wince), followed by the standard journeymen and then the last two matches feature two strong locals and the close features at least one westerner who in our case was a Spainish fighter who delighted the locals when he was bloodied and surprised everyone when he put his opponent down very quickly with a flurry of kicks and punches.

It is what it is. If you like contact sports go. If you don't - seriously don't.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ThrillingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited one big fight on Saturday. It was super! lots of fun, and we really enjoyed it! It was 6 fights from 10 year boys to real champions from all over world. Thai people are so passionate about the fights, so sometimes it was interesting to watch their reaction.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissIssippi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Muay Thai Boxing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

It is fun to at least once come to the stadium to see the muay thai boxing. "Contact" is for real and the fights are quite exciting to watch. The only downside is that it is extremely hot and humid inside with no fans or air-conditioning although the stadium is covered.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kipmarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaweng Boxing Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Chaweng Boxing Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing