We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offer discount admission to the local expats please” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaweng Boxing Stadium

Chaweng Boxing Stadium
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Chaweng
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Offer discount admission to the local expats please”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Why they have not considered this, one can only guess. For those of us who live in Thailand most of the year, we appreciate resident discounts. In low season, these places are nearly deserted. So, why not fill up the seats at 50% of the normal pricing? Most of my friends, and I would attend often. But, not at the silly retail pricing. No way. Please consider this as a way of honoring those people who could, and would support you year round. It makes sense. It is a smart business model. We get discounts from a lot of the local restaurants, that are owned by the smarter owners. So, be smart.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    285
    130
    34
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Night at Thai Boxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very Enjoyable but a little Pricey. Many fights and it moves along fast. We recommend to go see if time permits.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thai Boxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Overpriced to see mostly amateur school boys and appears to be aimed at tourists. Very few locals attended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1Royb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Thai box”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Thai boxing or kick boxing is the most popular sport and attraction in the island for both tourists and locals..its like to training school represents two families that compete occasionally

Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to see the sport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

What to know: Chaweng "stadium" is more like a large, hot room with a boxing ring in the middle. But that just makes the whole thing feel more intimidate and intense. There isn't a bad seat in the house (though there's no reason to pay for the more expensive 2,000b seats with backs; the 1,500b seats are stools at tables basically right next to the ring). The event starts at 9 but the action doesn't really get going until 9:30.

And the fights are awesome! Very intense. Traditional music plays during them, and there's a crowd of locals yelling and placing bets throughout each round. It was one of the more local and authentic-feeling things we did in Thailand. Highly recommend.

One downside: the trucks that drive through Chaweng and elsewhere blasting constant SUPER LOUD advertisements for the fights. That's awful. I hope the promoter stops that. I almost didn't go to this, because I was so turned off by them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaweng Boxing Stadium also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Chaweng Boxing Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing