We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt very welcome and comfortable”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We felt very welcome and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We (a friend and I) stayed at the Amari in Koh Samui's Chaweng Beach for a few nights and really liked the hotel. Unfortunately we were there during the bad floods in March 2011 so we could not enjoy the beauty of Koh Samui but this made us appreciate the comfort of the hotel even more. We were basically stuck there and the superfriendly staff did everything to make us feel comfortable. Reception was very helpful in trying to find out about the situation at the airport, rebooking rooms was a piece of cake and we were constantly provided with complimentary little perks such as happy hours at the hotel bar and snacks during lunch time to keep us happy despite our misfortune. Management (German/Australian) was also very present during those rough times. The generator of the hotel came in quite handy when electricity went down on the entire island..Overall it was a very satisfactory and pleasant experience to stay at this hotel.

In detail: Clean, nice large rooms with balcony or terrace that are modern and comfortable. Two pools, two restaurants (Italian and Thai), a hotel lounge / bar - that we made quite a bit of use of... - all of it friendly and nice. We only tried the Thai restaurant and it wsa delicious. Expansive buffet breakfast with everything East meets West as you may desire.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    704
    173
    66
    38
See reviews for
585
1,136
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Amari is in the perfect location, everything is in walking distance. The service is great, from greeting on arrival, house keeping and from all staff. The pools are nice with comfortable sun beds for lying in the sun.. The atmosphere is peaceful and friendly. We travelled with couples and families with 2 year old children and the Amai catered for all our different needs. Very child friendly. There are 2 parts to the resort and we stayed on the beach side. The rooms are ok, the bathroom is not that big and the shower is small. The bed was not as comfy as other resorts we've stayed in but did the job. Buffet breakfast had a good variety, the restaurant had a good selection and everything we tried was delicious. Prego restaurant was amazing, the menu is great, the prices are reasonable and the food is so good !!! definitely recommend this resort for your stay in Koh Samui. We will always be going back to Amari.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 255100Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This hotel is a must for all visitors to Sumui. It is perfectly situated, nice and peaceful, within a 10 minute walk to the centre of Chaweng. The pool A, bar, restaurant and gardens are situated on the beach area and across a very narrow road which always has day and night security guards to assist you across to most of the accommodation, spa, pool B, dining area and a gymnasium and the most beautiful gardens, so the walk is one of great pleasure. The breakfast is superb and the dining in the Meranti Restaurant and Bar on the beach side is also delicious. Of course there is also another restaurant, Prego which is the best Italian food I have had.

The staff are all so caring and attentive, it is genuinely their pleasure to make sure you have a holiday to remember. The Management team are so accessible and go out of their way to assist you during your stay. I have visited this hotel on many occasions and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else, it is my home in Sumui where I am most comfortable. This staff truly are the smiles of Thailand. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants quality, value, beautiful beach, good food, smiles and a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the gardens for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Amari Palm Reef Resort in Ko Samui: Fantastic vacation, fantastic hotel and extraordinary hotel staff

This was our 3rd time in Thailand.
We booked Amari Hotels in Ko Samui, Phuket and Bangkok.
In Kanchanaburi we booked the Felix resort hotel.
Weather in Mar. 2011 was just perfect as well.

All Hotels were first class and excellent hotels, but Amari Ko Samui was the most welcoming, most beautiful and a perfect location hotel, very romantic and very spoiling!

We would like to thanks Tania (front desk/customer relationship) for her extraordinary attention and help. Tania's personal attitude and personal care turned our staying there to something very special and we are sure we will get back to Amari Ko Samui.
Thanks,
Hanna & Doron , Israel

Room Tip: Ask Tania / customer relationship
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This hotel is very very old school, obviously German efficiency is used to making money out of the guests ("This is a business, Sir!") if you judge by the 1940s design of most of the fixtures. You will pay for everything, the Internet is more expensive than in a business hotel in Hong Kong ("starts at only THB 200 per hour"), there is no shuttle but a limo service (a shuttle) that costs the price it would in Hong Kong, the rooms are very 1960's motel quality (US, not Thai fortunately), and the staff is not as well trained as in said motel.
I was fortunate enough, or unfortunate, to stay there during the floods. The big difference is that when there is no sunshine to make you feel great and keep you in the water, you spend time in the hotel and in the room, and get to notice the dysfunctions. Beyond the old style furniture, the ants (yes, tiny, fierce, black ants... In the desk. Interestingly, they were free, I could not find them anywhere on the mini-bar list), the cheap amenities, the 1960s style bathroom, the disappearance of the management during the day was probably the most telling thing. Imagine a flood disrupting everything (cell phone networks, power, roads, etc.) and about 60 mostly Russian customers trying to get an answer as to whether they would be able to make it to the airport or if there were flights... I would have fled too. Especially if my staff would speak only pidgin English and would have to process every word for a few seconds before understanding it. It makes sentences of 4 or more words improper for communication. Just like the management of this hotel, I would not want to have to deal with the customers, as long as they pay for, well, everything.
I understand that this is Thailand and the friendliness of the staff should make you "let it slide", but there is just so much that you can let slide for a smile, when you pay USD 150 a night for a crummy room, plus USD 15 of Internet, plus USD 25 of "limo", and so on and so forth. It is amazing that people like this place, whereas there is a decent number of very nice boutique hotels at very comparable prices just up the road.
There are no redeeming features, the buildings are poorly thought and constructed, you have to cross a busy road to go to your room if you want one with a view on something else than a wall, the gym is dreadful (two treadmills and an elliptical, the two treadmills have been broken for 4 months according to one of the customers I talked with this morning, and this is the smallest gym I have seen in a hotel, with some really worn out equipment), the pools are quite shallow. A Sauna? No. A steam bath? THB 600 per hour... Seriously...
I am not the only person to think so, though, as several couples (yeah, bring someone, you would regret being there by yourself) vowed not to ever come back to the Amari this very morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Evil_Froggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed in the new part of the hotel across the road from the original hotel, the rooms were very comfortable the gardens were stunning. The pool in this part of the hotel was much quieter than the beach pool plenty of sunbeds.The buffet breakfast had everything you could wish from sushi, chinese, pancakes and of course good old fry up, the staff were really friendly and very efficient. We received a fresh flower each night and complimentary water. Plenty of places to eat freshly cooked thai food on the beach at reasonable prices. This hotel is a short walk from the main part of Koh Samui which in our point of view was a blessing as it was a bit smelly in the main area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbysnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed in this Resort early this month, while we enjoyed every minute of it, we didnt like the fact that the hotel is divided in two, we were on the far side of the road away from the beach pools and dining area. The rooms were Staff were lovely, and place was spotless. Breakfast every morning was Fab, and had meal in Restruant few times which was lovely and well priced. Overall really enjoyed stay in Koh Samui and would recommend this hotel but do make sure you are happy where your room is situated

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadetoblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing