We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of paradise!”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Amari Hotel was not only an amazing price but was a great experience. Situated right on the beach so amazing views. We each had a little hut room which was very well themed with flowers on the beds. There is a large breakfast buffet over looking the large pool and water. The cocktails at the poolside bar were delicious, I reccommend the Oriental Beauty! There were aslo under cover day beds to lie down on. The staff were very nice and welcoming! I would love to go again!
There were 2 large pools.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tianaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our second time staying at this hotel,this hotel is fantastic,we were there june this year 2011, it is still as lovely now as it was three years ago,staff are brilliant!,food is great,location of hotel is spot on.. would go back again and again .. i felt the most chilled out ive felt in a long time during my stay.
The resort is great too ... with plenty of places to eat cheap! ..on the beach and in town,evening everything comes to life! ..theres plenty of shopping to be done,plenty of trips,we done a snorkling trip across to one of the islands which was superb! tour guid was very good and organised.
my one bit of advice is ...just "book it" i promise you wont be dissapointed! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelley186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My fiance and I have just returned from a wonderful 9-night stay at the Amari resort. The hotel location is perfect, at the quiet north end of Chaweng beach. However its only a ten minute walk along the beach to get to the Ark Bar and the buzz of central Chaweng. At night the beach is beautiful...perfectly safe and clean. Every night we took a moonlit stroll along the shore after dinner.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The food at the resort is fabulous. The Thai beach buffet was amazing and great value also (around £15 for an all-you-can-eat feast on the beach!). Prego is an excellent Italian restaurant, although a bit pricier than other restaurants on the island. Also, the breakfast was fantastic...a huge buffet which caters for everyone. We ate 6 out of 9 nights at the hotel.

Our room was spotlessly clean although it was quite small (Superior room close to reception). The other rooms across the road seem a lot bigger. The swimming pools are very clean. We mainly used the one across the road as it was much quieter.

There are cheaper places to eat, drink or get a massage on the island (massage on the beach for TB250!) However, the quality of service is so good at the Amari that its hard to resist.

I couldn't recommend the Amari highly enough. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here in July 2011 as part of an adult family trip... 6 of us in total... Not sure we can fault Amari for anything during our stay. We were "across the road" but this was not an issue at all... In fact, we were in rooms that were very close to the less-crowded pool that exists across the road, and I would actually recommend them ahead of any that were on the beach side... Ask for rooms starting with 41XX or 42XX.. We were literally 30 metres from the pool! Nothing beats a swim at 8am or 12pm - both of which we enjoyed!

If you are coming to this resort, you are coming to relax, and this is the perfect place for such relaxation... Breakfast is divine and the staff are always accommodating... It's close enough to the main part of town that you don't feel isolated, yet far enough away that you don't feel overwhelmed... Beers can be found on the beach for 50baht ($1.50 AU) and you can even enjoy the comfort of the Amari lounges while sipping on the Big Wang beer (Big Wang being the name of the seller, as advertised on the stubby holders - when it comes to beer, I recommend Chang, if only for the 6.4% alcohol content!!)

I am guessing that prices for a place such as Amari fluctuate depending on when/how/why you book, but I can't imagine you getting much better value elsewhere on Koh Samui... Their "theme nights" may seem expensive by Australian (and other) standards, but what you get is fantastic value in relation to Aussie prices... I think that sometimes people forget that - where in Australia can you get a super beachside buffet for $20?

I am happy to answer questions about Amari for prospective travellers (and no, I don;t work there!)... Just shoot me an email at stephenarthurson@gmail.com

Not sure if that email will get through bot filters, but it's worth a try... We really loved our time there *grin* :)

Room Tip: In spite of what others say, go for a room over the road.. 41XX or 42XX... Quiet, less crowded pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarthurson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Have just returned from spending 7 days at the Amari and can highly recommend it to couples and or families. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, staff always smiling and very, very helpful with any request. It is excellently located being only a short walking distance to shopping and eateries. The inhouse wellness and spa centre is a must and worth every cent ( I mean Baht ) and the morning breakfast buffet is something I am still thinking about. Thank you Amari

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255093Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Second time we stayed at the Amari.Got to be one of the best hotels in Samui. Superb service, friendly staff, very nice breakfast. 2 nice pools, one quiet and one a bit noisier down by the beach. The whole area lies in very nice surrounding, quiet, yet not far from the Chaweng main street. I would definive recommend this hotel, if you are planning to go to the Chaweng area. The only thing i can think of on the downside is the posibillity to take a swim down by the beach, the bottom is not so nice, but we hired kayaks (100 baths per hour,easy to rent) and paddled about 250 meters out the sandbank to the left(theres a flag standing on it) where there is a wery nice sandbottom. Thank you Amari we will definitive be back soon :) Fam Sjöstrand Täby Stockholm Sweden

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Took the kids to Koh Samui this summer and booked the Amari because of its aggressive internet advertising and reviews from some friends. I got a better rate from Hotels.com so I booked thru them instead of booking directly with the hotel. For some reason the hotel.com site wouldn't take my booking when I included my kids so I just went ahead and booked without them. When I landed up at the Hotel they gave me a room which was a good 10 minute walk from the reception. Whats more, with ups and downs for landscaping purposes, we couldn't use our strollers to push the kids to the room. Finally, after a lot of pleading they alloted me a room closer to the reception and pool on the next day. The property is divided into two parts by a busy road, but they have two attendants at all times to stop traffic and help you cross the road.

Room Tip: If with kids ask for a deluxe room which is lot more spacious and pls specify close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maniish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.6 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £96 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing