We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great restaurant, fantastic destination”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Went to the Amari Palm Reef for our anniversary this year and what a difference from last year's disaster (Lindos Memories). The staff were exceptionally helpful and nothing was too arduous - they always kept smiling. The hotel's location on the beach is great for those evening strolls for a beach based restaurant but don't miss out on the hotel's Italian restaurant also - its great. My only gripe - we upgraded to a delux room (which was a very nice room - 5 star) but these rooms are in an annex across the road and a long distance from the reception, the main pool (there is a pool on this side but the main one is better) and more importantly - the breakfast area. We would warmly recommend this hotel and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 2,574 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

Amari is a beautiful resort with a great and friendly staff! I can't say enough about how kind and helpful everyone at the front desk was! They gave us great suggestions for local and delicious eating as well as different activities to do around the island. We enjoyed our time so much at Amari that my sister and I decided to stay an extra night! Everyone at the front desk was extremely helpful with finding us another great room because the room we were in was not available anymore. They even took care of calling the airline and changing our flight for us! If you are in Koh Samui I highly recommend staying at Amari if you are looking for a relaxing and carefree time. You will not regret it!

Special shout out to Sukanya for being such a great host and making my sister and I feel at home!

Room Tip: Be friendly and don't be a complainer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

location; good,walkable distance to place to eat and drink, 7 eleven, ect..
room: we book a delux family duplex ,first floor has 1 quueen bed ,2nd floor 2 singlle beds, we found the romm is a litlle bit dark and some wear and tear, bathromm ok, small
beach; too shallow and some algae, we like patong beach better ( Holiday inn section) then this section of Chaweng beach
pool; very good
breakfast: very good, large buffet
staff; nice ,they are supposed to charge us for the 4 person ( stay and breakfast ) cause we book only for 3 persons thinking our daughter of 14 yo can stay in the same room free of charge ,we will pay for the additional BF but at the end, they did not charge us
no free wifi in room but there is in lobby and bar area

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

At first appearance we didn't like the idea of the rooms being over the road from the remainder of the resort on the beach but we did get used to it and the resort have pedestrian crossing patrol on duty to stop the traffic for the guests.
Check in was fine as was bag delivery to the rooms. The rooms were noticeably smaller than the Horizon at Karon Beach but adequate all the same. Clean & tidy with a balcony facing the landscaped courtyard. The beds were just right, soft with resonable support. A few days in, there was a wedding in the courtyard which made for a bit of a show for the guests.
Staff were very polite & assisted with directions etc. Breakfast was great with a wide selection of hot & cold everything. The resort has two outdoor pools one in the accomodation part of the resort & the other adjacent to the beach, we selected the pool depending on how much activity we required after a few big nights, the accomodation side pool in much quieter !
The resort suffered from a few mains power outages & problems with the back up generator. Looking around at the general state of the mains power on Samui it's a wonder anything stays on but we didn't go there for power conference.
It was good to have the choice of sunbaking on the sandy beach or around the main pool with the attendants happy to assist you to move spots & order food and drinks. The Beach Burger was a favourite for a poolside snack.
Location is a few minutes walk from the main shops, bars, restaurants and numerious massage shops and not to mention the 'Gooday mate, would you like a suit' shops.

Room Tip: all the rooms on the over the road side appear to be the same, the suites are on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Movingalong50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

All the tripadvisor reviews were accurate. This resort was among the best we have stayed at - gorgeous room, superb restaurant and service- stunning location.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjh116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

booked a holiday here as the reviews looked good on tripadvisor.We booked through thompsons and holiday was with PREMIER.On arrival we were met by a premier rep and taken to our private taxi and given a nice cold flannel to as we climbed in .5 minute drive to the hotel from the airport. When we got there our ref checked us in and we had about a 30 minute wait for a room(not bad as we got there at 6am and check in time was 2pm.)our room was upgraded to a delux room and was at the back of the resort(no pool view though just palm trees) the room was modern and clean and the aircon worked great.every night they would come around and spray the rooms with mossi spray and leave a orchid for the misses.lol
The breakfast there is very good and loads of choice too and in an open resaurant upstairs near the beachside pool .we did not use the pools as we prefered to be on the beach and look out to sea.there are plenty of chairs to sit on and the pool boys give you a hand if you can find them with towels or to move chairs.It was very hot there and we drank loads of water off of the vendors on the beach 20 baht a bottle comparred to 120 in the hotel.All of the staff at the amari were amazing and so friendly cleaners done a great job cleaning the rooms,always a smile from them all.we looked at loads of hotels along the beach and can honestly sa the amari is by far the cleanest for your money.
we did not eat or drink at the hotel as other reviews suggested you dont actually get 20% off as stated when booking but when we checked out what we had was reduced by 20% so dont worry about this. as it was a lot cheaper to eat out we did but other people said the food was good there.The beds were a bit hard but it was quiet where we were so got to sleep easy.We hired a moped through the hotel too which cost 300 baht a day and had great fun on it ,but do remember there is no insurance on bikes in koh samui so be careful..................AMARI STAFF....THANKYOU FOR A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARPHIL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

From beginning to end, we loved our time at Amari! It is perfectly located, just 2min walk to the busy Chaweng but equally far enough away that is was quiet.

Food was amazing and the staff attentive and friendly.

Our room was located across the road from the main beach, I thought this would bother me but really it didn't - it was just a minute walk!

The rooms were amazing! So clean and decorated modernly.

All in all a fantasitc holiday & a fantastic hotel. I can't not wait to go back here one day!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,497 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: £98 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing